Edinburgh Medical School

Contact Edinburgh Medical School

Please direct your enquiry to the most relevant person, so we can help you quicker.


Undergraduate Admissions

  • Undergraduate Admissions

Contact details



Room SU219, 2nd Floor
The Chancellor’s Building
Edinburgh BioQuarter
49 Little France Crescent

Post Code
EH16 4SB


Graduate School: College Hub

  • College of Medicine and Veterinary Medicine

Contact details



The Chancellor’s Building
49 Little France Crescent

Post Code
EH16 4SB


  • Graduate School: College Hub is open Monday to Friday 9am - 5pm


Key academic and staff contacts

Role Name Tel Email

Head of School

Professor Moira Whyte +44 (0) 131 242 6656 Moira.Whyte@ed.ac.uk
Director of Undergraduate Teaching Dr David Kluth  +44 (0) 131 242 6533 david.kluth@ed.ac.uk

Director of Teaching,

Biomedical Teaching Organisation

Dr Philip Larkman  +44 (0) 131 650 3517  P.Larkman@ed.ac.uk
Dean of Clinical Sciences

Professor Hilary Critchley

+44(0)131 242 6858 head.scs@ed.ac.uk

(Acting) Dean of Molecular, Genetic 

and Population Health Sciences

Professor Harry Campbell +44 (0)131 650 3218 harry.campbell@ed.ac.uk
Dean of Biomedical Sciences Mike Shipston +44 (0)131 650 3253




Director of Postgraduate Research  Professor Phillipa Saunders   P.Saunders@ed.ac.uk
Director of Postgraduate Taught Professor David Weller

+44 (0) 131 650 2807

School Administrator  Jim Nisbet +44 (0) 131 242 6711 Jim.Nisbet@ed.ac.uk



MBChB administration

Role Name Tel Email
Head of Medical Teaching Organisation Nicola Crowley +44 (0) 131 242 6546 Nicola.Crowley@ed.ac.uk
MBChB Manager Shereen Arabshahi   shereen.arabshahi@ed.ac.uk
Student Experience Officer (MBChB) Neale Summers +44 (0) 131 242 6509 N.Summers@ed.ac.uk 
Dean of Pastoral Care Dr F Kristmundsdottir +44 (0) 131 242 6391 Fanney.Kristmundsdottir@ed.ac.uk
Year 1 Director Prof Jamie Davies   jamie.davies@ed.ac.uk 
Year 3 Director Prof Jeremy Hughes   jeremy.hughes@ed.ac.uk 
Year 4 Director Dr Karen Fairhurst  


Year 5 Director Prof Colin Duncan   w.c.Duncan@ed.ac.uk 
Year 6 Director Dr Alan Jaap   alan.jaap@ed.ac.uk 
Year 1 Coordinator Sarah Golightly   sarah.golightly@ed.ac.uk
Year 2 Coordinator Olga Paterson   olga.paterson@ed.ac.uk
Year 4 Coordinator Gemma MacLellan   gemma.MacLellan@ed.ac.uk
Year 5 Coordinator Judi Bryce   judith.bryce@ed.ac.uk
Year 6 Coordinator Abbi Jenkins   abbi.jenkins@ed.ac.uk
Student Support Administrator Elaine Fairchild   Elaine.Fairchild@ed.ac.uk
Assessment Officer Jennifer Hill   jennifer.hill@ed.ac.uk
Foundation Programme and Assessment Administrator Carole Tomlinson   carole.tomlinson@ed.ac.uk
Student Records Administrator Julie Prentice   julie.prentice@ed.ac.uk
Medical Electives Co-ordinator Catherine Talbot + 44 (0) 131 242 665 electives@ed.ac.uk
Collaborations Administrator Adean Lutton   Adean.Lutton@ed.ac.uk


Directors of institutes


Director Institute Host Deanery Tel: Email
Professor C Haslett Queen's Medical Research Institute Clinical Sciences  



Professor M Frame MRC Institute of Genetics and Molecular Medicine Molecular, Genetic and Population Health Sciences  



Professor Aziz Sheikh  
Usher Institute of Population Health Sciences and Informatics Molecular, Genetic and Population Health Sciences  
Professor S Chandran Edinburgh Neuroscience Biomedical Sciences  



Professor Angus Walls
Edinburgh Dental Institute


Institutes and centres

For further information on staff who work at the many research institutes and centres associated with Edinburgh Medical School, please consult the "Contact Us" pages on the websites below:

Deanery of Biomedical Sciences

Deanery of Clinical Sciences

Deanery of Molecular, Genetic and Population Health Sciences

List of research institutes and centres (across the entire College of Medicine and Veterinary Medicine)