Athena SWAN
Athena SWAN

Protected Characteristics

The Equality Act 2010 lists nine protected characteristics where discrimination is unlawful.

The nine protected characteristics are:

  • Age
  • Disability
  • Gender reassignment
  • Marriage and civil partnership
  • Pregnancy and maternity
  • Race
  • Religion or belief
  • Sex
  • Sexual Orientation

For more information on these characteristics, visit the Equality and Diversity website.