Edinburgh Medical School

About us

Find out about how Edinburgh Medical School is structured and our vision for the future.

Clinical skills for the MBChB

Edinburgh Medical School is one of two schools at the College of Medicine and Veterinary Medicine at the University of Edinburgh, the other being the Royal (Dick) School of Veterinary Studies.

Edinburgh Medical School is a large medical school by UK standards, and  is spread across several campuses at Little France, Western General Hospital, the University Central Area and Royal Edinburgh Hospital.  We deliver a first-class education in first-class facilities by dedicated people who are at the cutting edge.

We offer an excellent experience in an environment where research is cherished and prosecuted. We believe research is an important component of the life of every student as a means of understanding a way of thinking that will equip them to deliver positive change for humanity.


Our vision

Anatomy students examine chart

One medicine, One biology, One health

At Edinburgh Medical School, we form a unique grouping in the UK where vets, medics and biomedical scientists work together and study the common causes of disease that affect our populations.

Our campuses, our structure, and the organisation of our degrees ensures that we have people from the Royal (Dick) School of Veterinary Studies and Edinburgh Medical School breathing the same air, designing projects together, and teaching in their specialist areas.


Every student a researcher, every researcher a teacher

We believe firmly that understanding research and delivering research as part of your undergraduate or postgraduate degree will equip you with a way of thinking that will allow you to effect real change in the world in whatever context you end up working.


Teaching organisations


Medical Teaching Organisation

The Medical Teaching Organisation (MTO) provides general administrative support for MBChB medicine degree programme, with a particular remit for matters which span the student lifecycle. This involves managing a strategic overview and responsibility for the implementation of key curriculum developments, quality management, IT developments, and communications strategy alongside the day to day running of the programme.

The MTO is based at the Chancellor's Building, Little France.


The Biomedical Teaching Organisation

The Biomedical Teaching Organisation (BMTO) is responsible for all aspects of management, administration and delivery of undergraduate and postgraduate teaching within Biomedical Sciences.

Biomedical Teaching Organisation (BMTO)



The school is divided into three deaneries:

  • the Deanery of Clinical Sciences, which is largely based on the Little France site
  • the Deanery of Biomedical Sciences, which is mainly based around the George Square campus in the centre of Edinburgh
  • the Deanery of Molecular, Genetic and Population Health Sciences.

These deaneries are associated with the three campuses on which we conduct most of our research and teaching. Each deanery hosts interdisciplinary centres of research excellence.

Edinburgh Medical School: Biomedical Sciences 

Edinburgh Medical School: Clinical Sciences 

Edinburgh Medical School: Molecular, Genetic and Population Health Sciences 



Edinburgh Medical School has facilities which support the work of deaneries, institutes and centres to facilitate learning, teaching and research.


Medical Education

Medical Education provides advice and services that support the University and NHS in enhancing the learning and teaching experience for our students, whilst progressing quality improvement in medical education, with robust planning and decision making.


Edinburgh Clinical Research Facility

The Edinburgh CRF provides state-of-the-art facilities for clinical research, including clinical, laboratory and specialised technical support. The facility is based at the Western General Hospital, with facilities at the Royal Infirmary of Edinburgh and the Royal Hospital for Sick Children.

Edinburgh Clinical Research Facility


Related links

Where to find us: maps and directions

History of the Medical School