College of Medicine & Veterinary Medicine

Our organisational structure

Our schools, deaneries, institutes and centres explained.

Edinburgh is one of the most prestigious centres for medical and veterinary medical teaching and research. It is also one of the most progressive, hosting state-of-the-art facilities for dynamic teaching and learning. 

Royal (Dick) School of Veterinary Studies

Vet student with turtle_900x400

The Royal (Dick) School of Veterinary Studies is a world leader in veterinary education, research and practice.

Its provides outstanding veterinary education using an award-winning curriculum, innovative teaching methods and an interdisciplinary environment.

 Our clinical services - Hospital for Small Animals and Large Animal Practice - are among the most influential centres for clinical care in the UK.

Royal (Dick) School of Veterinary Studies website


Edinburgh Medical School

Medical students on a ward.

Formally established in 1726, Edinburgh Medical School is a large medical school by UK standards,  spread across several campuses at the BioQuarter, Western General Hospital, the University central area and Royal Edinburgh Hospital.

Edinburgh Medical School hosts three deaneries: Biomedical Sciences, Clinical Sciences, and Molecular, Genetic and Population Health Sciences.

Teaching for the Medicine (MBChB) degree and other biomedical undergraduate and postgraduate programmess takes place across the three deaneries.  

Edinburgh Medical School website

Deanery of Biomedical Sciences

Conducting groundbreaking research, Biomedical Sciences hosts:

  • the Centre for Discovery Brain Sciences
  • the Division of Infection and Pathway Medicine.

Researcher and mentor

We also contribute to interdisciplinary research with these affiliated centres:

  • Edinburgh Infectious Diseases
  • Edinburgh Neuroscience
  • the Muir Maxwell Epilepsy Centre
  • the Patrick Wild Centre
  • Pharmacology, Toxicology and Therapeutics.

The Biomedical Teaching Organisation (BMTO) is also part of the deanery. It plays a vital role in the administration, coordination and implementation of undergraduate teaching.

Biomedical Sciences website

Biomedical Teaching Organisation (BMTO) website


Deanery of Clinical Sciences

Clinical Sciences with Sim Man

With a long-held international research profile, Clinical Sciences hosts:

  • the Centre for Cardiovascular Sciences
  • the Centre for Clinical Brain Sciences
  • the Centre for Inflammation Research
  • the Centre for Regenerative Medicine
  •  the Centre for Reproductive Health
  • Edinburgh Postgraduate Dental Institute
  • the Division of Health Sciences.

The deanery is based mainly at the BioQuarter.

State of the art teaching and research facilities can be found at the Chancellor's Building, The Queen's Medical Research Institute and the Centre for Regenerative Medicine,  while the Edinburgh Royal Infirmary hospital is also located on the campus. 

Other deanery sites are located at the Western General Hospital, Royal Edinburgh Hospital and Lauriston Place.

Clinical Sciences website


Deanery of Molecular, Genetic and Population Health Sciences

A researcher wears laboratory protective gear

Molecular, Genetic and Population Health Sciences comprises: 

  • the Institute of Genetics and Cancer (IGC)
  • the Usher Institute
  • the Edinburgh Clinical Trials Unit
  • Edinburgh Pathology.

IGC is home to:

  •  the MRC Human Genetics Unit
  • the Edinburgh Cancer Research Centre
  •  the Centre for Genomics and Experimental Medicine.

The Usher Institute comprises the Centre for Population Health Sciences, Centre for Medical Informatics and Centre for Global Health Research.

Molecular, Genetic and Population Health Sciences website


Institutes and centres

The College has multiple research Institutes, which are home to inter-related centres, led by internationally renowned scientists.

Institutes and centres website