College of Medicine & Veterinary Medicine

Communications, Marketing and Engagement

The team provides an integrated service to support and deliver the key aims of the College in new and creative ways.

Word cloud image

We can advise and support you with:

  • Staff communications
  • Student communications
  • Digital communications and web
  • External marketing and publicity
  • Media and PR (handled by the central Communications and Marketing team)
  • Student recruitment
  • Student experience
  • Branding, copywriting and design
  • Alumni relations
  • Fundraising

  • Public and community engagement

Resources and guidance

We are currently developing a suite of online guides to help you with key communications activities. You can find some of them below. In the meantime, if you have an enquiry, please get in touch with a member of our team. 

We also host a quarterly Communications Forum, open to anyone in the College with an interest in communications. If you would like to attend, please contact cmvm.communications@ed.ac.uk

Team members

Name Position Phone Email
Jen Middleton Head of External Engagement and Communications  +44 (0) 131 650 9241

Jen.Middleton@ed.ac.uk

Jenny Durkin External Engagement and Communications Officer +44 (0) 131 650 2243 Jenny.Durkin@ed.ac.uk
Nick Kelly Web and Communications Officer +44 (0) 131 242 9307 Nick.Kelly@ed.ac.uk
Julie Contreras Fellow in Engagement and Communications +44 (0) 131 465 9663

Julie.Contreras@ed.ac.uk

Hazel Lambert Public Engagement with Research Manager +44 (0) 131 242 6871 Hazel.Lambert@ed.ac.uk
Africa Reboto-Lopez

Postgraduate Marketing and Communications Manager

+44 (0) 131 242 6373

Africa.Reboto-Lopez@ed.ac.uk

Rachel Ashcroft

Digital Engagement Officer

+44 (0) 131 242 9311

rashcro2@ed.ac.uk

Shereen Carmichael Postgraduate Marketing and Communications Assistant +44 (0) 131 242 9311

Shereen.Carmichael@ed.ac.uk

 

Affiliated team members

Name Position Phone Email
Sandra Chilton Development Officer, Royal (Dick) School of Veterinary Studies +44 (0) 131 651 4403 Sandra.Chilton@ed.ac.uk
Leisa Thomas

Senior Philanthropy Officer,  Health, Medicine and Veterinary Medicine 

+44 (0) 131 651 4403

Leisa.Thomas@ed.ac.uk

Kate McAllister PR and Media Manager  +44 (0) 131 650 6357 Kate.Mcallister@ed.ac.uk
Shane Canning PR and Media Manager ​​​​​​ +44 (0) 131 650 2238

Shane.Canning@ed.ac.uk

Downloads