Literatures, Languages & Cultures

School roles and posts

Key business is undertaken through the appointment of academic staff who coordinate and represent a wide range of roles and remits, both within and beyond the School.

Head of School

Title Name Phone Email
Head of School Professor Jeremy Robbins +44 (0)131 651 3776 Jeremy.Robbins@ed.ac.uk

Heads of department

Title Name Phone Email
Head of Asian Studies Prof Aaron Moore +44 (0)131 650 4225 aaron.moore@ed.ac.uk
Head of Celtic and Scottish Studies Dr Neill Martin +44 (0)131 651 1981 neill.martin@ed.ac.uk
Head of the Department of European Languages and Cultures Dr Véronique Desnain +44 (0)131 650 3054 veronique.desnain@ed.ac.uk
Head of English Literature Dr Alex Thomson +44 (0)131 650 3058 alex.thomson@ed.ac.uk
Head of Islamic and Middle Eastern Studies Dr Nacim Pak-Shiraz +44 (0)131 650 8432 nacim.pak-shiraz@ed.ac.uk

Academic officers

Title Name Phone Email
Director of Learning and Teaching (Undergraduate and Postgraduate) Dr Chris Perkins +44 (0)131 650 4174 chris.perkins@ed.ac.uk
Postgraduate Research Director Dr David Sorfa +44 (0)131 650 3637 david.sorfa@ed.ac.uk
Senior Tutor Dr Daniel Hammond +44 (0)131 650 6941 daniel.hammond@ed.ac.uk
Director of Research Professor Greg Walker +44 (0)131 650 3049

greg.walker@ed.ac.uk

Academic Misconduct Officer Dr Séverine Genieys-Kirk +44 (0)131 651 1734 s.g.kirk@ed.ac.uk
Ethics Officer Dr Mark McLeister +44 (0)131 650 4232 mark.mcleister@ed.ac.uk
Director of People & Equalities Professor Celeste-Marie Bernier +44 (0)131 650 3521 celeste-marie.bernier@ed.ac.uk
Director of Quality and Convenor of School QAE Committee  Dr Katherine Inglis +44 (0)131 650 3617 k.inglis@ed.ac.uk
Director of Outreach and Widening Participation Annette Götzkes +44 (0)131 650 3604 a.gotzkes@ed.ac.uk
Senior Disability Coordinator Dr Neill Martin +44 (0)131 651 1981 neill.martin@ed.ac.uk
Convenor of UG Board of Studies Dr Iona Macintyre +44 (0)131 650 3641 iona.macintyre@ed.ac.uk
Library Committee Representative Dr Alan MacNiven +44 (0)131 650 3279 alan.macniven@ed.ac.uk
Knowledge Exchange & Impact Director Dr David Farrier +44 (0)131 651 7112 david.farrier@ed.ac.uk