Literatures, Languages & Cultures

School roles and posts

Key business is undertaken through the appointment of academic staff who coordinate and represent a wide range of roles and remits, both within and beyond the School.

Head of School

Title Name Phone Email
Head of School Dr Alex Thomson +44 (0)131 651 3776

Heads of department

Title Name Email
Head of Asian Studies Dr Daniel Hammond
Head of Celtic and Scottish Studies Dr Neill Martin
Head of the Department of European Languages and Cultures

Dr Guy Puzey
Head of English Literature

Dr Suzanne Trill
Head of Islamic and Middle Eastern Studies

Dr Ines Aščerić-Todd

Academic officers

Title Name Email
Director of Learning and Teaching (Undergraduate and Postgraduate) Dr Ben Bateman
Postgraduate Research Director Dr Frauke Matthes
Director of Students Dr Iona Macintyre
Director of Research Professor Greg Walker

Deputy Director of Research and Director of Impact and Knowledge Exchange Dr Hephzibah Israel
Academic Misconduct Officer Dr Séverine Genieys-Kirk
Dr Elena Sanz Ortega
Ethics Officer Dr Mark McLeister
Director of People & Equalities Dr Emanuela Patti
Deputy Director of Learning and Teaching (Quality Assurance and Enhancement) Dr Hannah Simpson
Outreach and Widening Participation Officers

Patricia Rueda Díez
Dr Sergi Mainer
Senior Disability Coordinator Dr Neill Martin
Library Committee Representative Dr Christopher Rosenmeier