Islamic and Middle Eastern Studies

Staff

Contact details for academic and administrative staff in the department of Islamic and Middle Eastern Studies.

Head of department

Name (sorted in ascending order) Role Email Phone number
Nacim Pak Shiraz Head of Department, Senior Lecturer Nacim.Pak-Shiraz@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 650 8432

Administrative staff

Name (sorted in ascending order) Role Email Phone number
Anne Budo-Dodeur Undergraduate Administrator A.Budo@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 650 4161
Hannah Foster Senior Undergraduate Administrator hannah.foster@ed.ac.uk 0131 650 4182
Alisa Wilkinson Postgraduate (Taught) Senior Administrator Alisa.Wilkinson@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 650 4465

Academic staff

Name (sorted in ascending order) Role Email Phone number
Farah Aboubakr Teaching Fellow Farah.Aboubakr@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 650 3625
Alaa Alshaikh Sulaiman Teaching Fellow Alaa.Sulaiman@ed.ac.uk
Ines Aščerić-Todd Lecturer in Arabic and Middle Eastern Cultures Ines.Asceric-Todd@ed.ac.uk +44(0)131 650 6814
Mériam Cheikh Marie Skłodowska-Curie Research Fellow mcheikh@ed.ac.uk
Elvire Corboz Lecturer in Contemporary Islam and Middle East elvire.corboz@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 651 7112
Mourad Diouri Teaching Fellow (Arabic), eLearning Officer M.Diouri@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 650 6615
Dr Ayah Durkawi Teaching Fellow Ayah.Durkawi@ed.ac.uk
Jonathan Featherstone Senior Teaching Fellow Jonathan.Featherstone@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 651 1531
Jona Fras The Prince Alwaleed Bin Talal Teaching Fellow in Arabic jona.fras@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 650 4062
Hugh Goddard Honorary Professorial Fellow in the Prince Alwaleed Bin Talal Centre for the Study of Islam in the Contemporary World thealwaleedcentre@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 650 4165
Andreas Goerke Senior Lecturer A.Goerke@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 650 4177
Anthony Gorman Senior Lecturer Anthony.Gorman@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 650 4183
Jaakko Hameen-Anttila Professor of Arabic and Islamic Studies J.Hameen-Anttila@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 650 4181
Phil Hermina Teaching Fellow, Lead Arabic Tutor phil.hermina@ed.ac.uk
Carole Hillenbrand Honorary Fellow C.Hillenbrand@ed.ac.uk
Robert Hillenbrand Honorary Fellow R.Hillenbrand@ed.ac.uk
Hilal Kaya Teaching Fellow hilal.kaya@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 650 35 29
Marie Legendre Lecturer in Islamic History marie.legendre@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 650
Giulia Liberatore Leverhulme Early Career Fellow giulia.liberatore@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 650 4463
Ebtihal Mahadeen Lecturer Ebtihal.Mahadeen@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 651 3202
Azin Mostajer Haghighi Teaching Fellow in Persian Azin.Haghighi@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 650 8433
Marwa Mouazen Teaching Fellow Marwa.Mouazen@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 650 4176
Andrew J. Newman Personal Chair of Islamic Studies and Persian A.Newman@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 650 4178
Nacim Pak Shiraz Head of Department, Senior Lecturer Nacim.Pak-Shiraz@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 650 8432
Majied Robinson Leverhulme Early Career Research Fellow Majied.Robinson@ed.ac.uk
Şebnem Susam-Saraeva Senior Lecturer S.Susam-Saraeva@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 651 1373
Frédéric Volpi Professor frederic.volpi@ed.ac.uk