Islamic and Middle Eastern Studies

Staff

Get to know the team in Islamic and Middle Eastern Studies (IMES).

As a response to COVID-19, many of us are working on a hybrid basis - a mixture of on-campus and digitally.

Our working hours are Monday to Friday between 9am and 5pm GMT.

Please email us in the first instance, and we’ll get back to you as soon as we can.

Undergraduate enquiries

Email us about undergraduate study in IMES

Postgraduate enquiries

Email us about taught postgraduate programmes in IMES

Email us about postgraduate research in IMES

Head of Islamic and Middle Eastern Studies (IMES)

Name (sorted in ascending order) Role Email Phone number
Jaakko Hameen-Anttila Professor of Arabic and Islamic Studies J.Hameen-Anttila@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 650 4181

Administrative staff

Name (sorted in ascending order) Role Email Phone number
Monique Brough Senior Administrator (Islamic and Middle Eastern Studies - Undergraduate and Postgraduate) monique.brough@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 650 4182
Anne Budo-Dodeur Undergraduate Administrator A.Budo@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 650 4161

Academic staff

Name (sorted in ascending order) Role Email Phone number
Farah Aboubakr Senior Teaching Fellow Farah.Aboubakr@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 650 3625
Idil Akinci Early Career Teaching and Research Fellow idil.akinci@ed.ac.uk (0)131 650 4305
Alaa Alshaikh Sulaiman Teaching Fellow in Arabic Alaa.Sulaiman@ed.ac.uk
Thallein Antun Teaching Fellow thallein.antun@ed.ac.uk
Ines Aščerić-Todd Lecturer in Arabic and Middle Eastern Cultures Ines.Asceric-Todd@ed.ac.uk +44(0)131 650 6814
Mériam Cheikh Marie Skłodowska-Curie Research Fellow mcheikh@ed.ac.uk
Elvire Corboz Lecturer in Contemporary Islam and Middle East elvire.corboz@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 6504148
Mourad Diouri (SFHEA) Teaching Fellow (Arabic), eLearning Officer M.Diouri@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 650 6615
Jonathan Featherstone Honorary Fellow Jonathan.Featherstone@ed.ac.uk
Jona Fras Teaching Fellow in Arabic jona.fras@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 650 4062
Hugh Goddard Honorary Professorial Fellow in the Prince Alwaleed Bin Talal Centre for the Study of Islam in the Contemporary World thealwaleedcentre@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 650 4165
Andreas Görke Senior Lecturer in Islamic Studies A.Goerke@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 650 4177
Anthony Gorman Senior Lecturer Anthony.Gorman@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 650 4183
Jaakko Hameen-Anttila Professor of Arabic and Islamic Studies J.Hameen-Anttila@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 650 4181
Phil Hermina Language Assistant in Arabic, Lead Arabic Tutor phil.hermina@ed.ac.uk
Carole Hillenbrand Honorary Fellow C.Hillenbrand@ed.ac.uk
Robert Hillenbrand Honorary Fellow R.Hillenbrand@ed.ac.uk
Hilal Kaya Ataturk Teaching Fellow in Turkish hilal.kaya@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 650 35 29
Marie Legendre Lecturer in Islamic History marie.legendre@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 6509872
Giulia Liberatore Lecturer in Muslims in Europe giulia.liberatore@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 650 4463
Ebtihal Mahadeen Lecturer Ebtihal.Mahadeen@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 651 3202
Dr Songül Mecit Teaching Fellow Islamic and Middle Eastern Studies S.Mecit@ed.ac.uk
Dr Azin Mostajer Haghighi Teaching Fellow in Persian Azin.Haghighi@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 650 8433
Marwa Mouazen Lecturer of Arabic Marwa.Mouazen@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 650 4176
Andrew J. Newman Personal Chair of Islamic Studies and Persian A.Newman@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 650 4178
Nacim Pak Shiraz Personal Chair of Cinema and Iran, Head of Department Nacim.Pak-Shiraz@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 650 8432
Şebnem Susam-Saraeva Senior Lecturer in Translation Studies S.Susam-Saraeva@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 651 1373
Frédéric Volpi Professor frederic.volpi@ed.ac.uk