English and Scottish Literature


Get to know the team in English Literature.

Many of us work on a hybrid basis - a mixture of on-campus and digitally.

Our working hours are Monday to Friday between 9am and 5pm (UK time).

Please email us in the first instance, and we’ll get back to you as soon as we can.

Undergraduate enquiries

Email us about undergraduate study in English and Scottish Literature

Postgraduate enquiries

Email us about taught postgraduate programmes in English Literature

Email us about postgraduate research in English Literature

Head of English Literature

Name (sorted in ascending order) Role Email Phone number
Suzanne Trill Head of English and Scottish Literature S.Trill@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 650 4291

Teaching office staff

Name (sorted in ascending order) Role Email
Michael Butler Senior Administrator michael.butler@ed.ac.uk
June Cahongo Undergraduate Administrator J.Cahongo@ed.ac.uk
Sheila Strathdee Undergraduate Administrator S.Strathdee@ed.ac.uk

Academic staff

Name (sorted in ascending order) Role Email Phone number
Peter Adkins Early Career Teaching and Research Fellow peter.adkins@ed.ac.uk
Dr Beatrice Alex Senior Lecturer and Chancellor's Fellow in Text Mining balex@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 6508988
Dr Jane Alexander Senior Lecturer in Creative Writing jane.alexander@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 651 7112
Dr Marie Allitt Early Career Teaching and Research Fellow in Twentieth Century Literature marie.allitt@ed.ac.uk
Kate Ash-Irisarri Lecturer in Late Medieval Scottish & English Literature k.ash-irisarri@ed.ac.uk
Benjamin Bateman Senior Lecturer in Post-1900 British Literature benjamin.bateman@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 650 4288
Dr Sourit Bhattacharya Lecturer in Global Anglophone Literatures sourit.bhattacharya@ed.ac.uk
Hannah Boast Chancellor's Fellow hannah.boast@ed.ac.uk
Dermot Cavanagh Senior Lecturer Dermot.Cavanagh@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 650 3606
Dr Lynda Clark Lecturer in Creative Writing (Interdisciplinary Futures) lynda.clark@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 650 4166
Simon Cooke Senior Lecturer Simon.Cooke@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 651 3996
Paul Crosthwaite Professor of Modern and Contemporary Literature Paul.Crosthwaite@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 650 3614
Sarah Dunnigan Senior Lecturer S.M.Dunnigan@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 650 8304
Dr Patrick Errington Lecturer p.errington@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)1316504025
David Farrier Professor of Literature and the Environment David.Farrier@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 650 3607
Penny Fielding Grierson Professor of English Literature Penny.Fielding@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 650 3609
Alexander Freer Lecturer in Romanticism alex.freer@ed.ac.uk
Miriam Gamble Senior Lecturer in Creative Writing mgamble@staffmail.ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 650 4285
Alan Gillis Professor of Modern Poetry Alan.Gillis@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 650 3050
Anna Girling Early Career Teaching and Research Fellow in Twentieth-Century Literature Anna.Girling@ed.ac.uk
Dr Kiefer Holland Scottish Graduate School for Arts and Humanities Postdoctoral Fellow k.holland@ed.ac.uk
Owen Holland Lecturer in Nineteenth-Century Literature owen.holland@ed.ac.uk
Keith Hughes Lecturer Keith.Hughes@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 650 3048
Katherine Inglis Chancellor's Fellow - Senior Lecturer K.Inglis@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 650 3617
Robert Irvine Reader in Scottish Literature R.P.Irvine@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 650 3605
Dr Carole Jones Senior Lecturer Carole.Jones@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 650 3068
Aaron Kelly Senior Lecturer Aaron.Kelly@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 650 3071
Michelle Keown Professor of Pacific and Postcolonial Literature Michelle.Keown@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 650 6856
Anouk Lang Senior Lecturer anouk.lang@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 650 8936
Alexandra Lawrie Senior Lecturer Alex.Lawrie@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 650 8968
James Loxley Professor of Early Modern Literature James.Loxley@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 650 3610
Simon Malpas Senior Lecturer Simon.Malpas@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 650 3596
Nicola McCartney Nicola.McCartney@ed.ac.uk
Gerard McKeever Lecturer in Scottish Literature gerard.mckeever@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 651 1236
Jane McKie Senior Lecturer Jane.McKie@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 650 3899
Timothy Milnes Professor of Romantic Literature and Philosophy Tim.Milnes@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 650 3615
Dr Terri Ochiagha Lecturer in Global Anglophone Literatures t.ochiagha@ed.ac.uk
Désha A Osborne Chancellor's Fellow Desha.Osborne@ed.ac.uk
Maddy Potter Early Career Teaching and Research Fellow in the Long Nineteenth Century (Romanticism/Victorianism) madeline.potter@ed.ac.uk
David Salter Lecturer David.Salter@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 650 3055
Martin Schauss Early Career Teaching and Research Fellow mschauss@ed.ac.uk
Kim Sherwood Lecturer in Creative Writing Kim.Sherwood@ed.ac.uk
Dr Hannah Simpson Lecturer in Drama and Performance h.e.a.simpson@ed.ac.uk
Lee Spinks Senior Lecturer Lee.Spinks@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 650 3616
Allyson Stack Senior Lecturer Allyson.Stack@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 650 4290
Andrew Taylor Senior Lecturer Andrew.Taylor@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 650 4584
Alice Thompson Lecturer Alice.Thompson@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 650 4535
Alex Thomson Professor of Modern Literature and Critical Theory Alex.Thomson@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 650 3058
Rebecca Tierney-Hynes Senior Lecturer r.tierneyhynes@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 650 8410
Suzanne Trill Head of English and Scottish Literature S.Trill@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 650 4291
Anna Vaninskaya Senior Lecturer Anna.Vaninskaya@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 650 4284
Greg Walker Regius Professor of Rhetoric and English Literature Greg.Walker@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 650 3049
Dr Annie Webster Leverhulme Early Career Fellow annie.webster@ed.ac.uk
Dr Alice Wickenden Early Career Teaching and Research Fellow in Early Modern Literature alice.wickenden@ed.ac.uk
Jonathan Wild Senior Lecturer JWild@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 651 3191

Emeritus Professors and Honorary Fellows

Name (sorted in ascending order) Role Email
Ian Campbell Honorary Fellow Ian.Campbell@ed.ac.uk
Sarah Carpenter Honorary Fellow Sarah.Carpenter@ed.ac.uk
Peter Garside Honorary Fellow Peter.Garside@ed.ac.uk
Roger Savage Honorary Fellow Roger.Savage@ed.ac.uk
Randall Stevenson Emeritus Professor of Twentieth-Century Literature Randall.Stevenson@ed.ac.uk
Olga Taxidou Professor Emerita of Drama and Performance Studies Olga.Taxidou@ed.ac.uk
Karina Williamson McIntosh Honorary Fellow Karina.Williamson@ed.ac.uk