English Literature

Staff

Get to know the team in English Literature.

Many of us work on a hybrid basis - a mixture of on-campus and digitally.

Our working hours are Monday to Friday between 9am and 5pm (UK time).

Please email us in the first instance, and we’ll get back to you as soon as we can.

Undergraduate enquiries

Email us about undergraduate study in English and Scottish Literature

Postgraduate enquiries

Email us about taught postgraduate programmes in English Literature

Email us about postgraduate research in English Literature

Head of English Literature

Name (sorted in ascending order) Role Email Phone number
Penny Fielding Grierson Professor of English Literature Penny.Fielding@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 650 3609

Teaching office staff

Name (sorted in ascending order) Role Email
Michael Butler Senior Administrator michael.butler@ed.ac.uk
June Cahongo Undergraduate Administrator J.Cahongo@ed.ac.uk
Kara Mccormack Postgraduate Administrator Kara.McCormack@ed.ac.uk
Sheila Strathdee Undergraduate Administrator S.Strathdee@ed.ac.uk

Academic staff

Name (sorted in ascending order) Role Email Phone number
Peter Adkins Early Career Teaching and Research Fellow peter.adkins@ed.ac.uk
Dr. Beatrice Alex Chancellor's Fellow and Turing Fellow balex@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 6508988
Dr Jane Alexander Lecturer in Creative Writing jane.alexander@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 651 7112
Dr Marie Allitt Early Career Teaching and Research Fellow in Twentieth Century Literature marie.allitt@ed.ac.uk
Kate Ash-Irisarri Lecturer in Late Medieval Scottish & English Literature k.ash-irisarri@ed.ac.uk
Benjamin Bateman Senior Lecturer in Post-1900 British Literature benjamin.bateman@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 650 4288
Celeste-Marie Bernier Personal Chair in United States and Atlantic Studies Celeste-Marie.Bernier@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 650 3521
Dr Sourit Bhattacharya Lecturer in Global Anglophone Literatures sourit.bhattacharya@ed.ac.uk
Ian Campbell Honorary Fellow Ian.Campbell@ed.ac.uk
Sarah Carpenter Reader Sarah.Carpenter@ed.ac.uk
Sarah Case Early Career Teaching and Research Fellow in Early Modern Literature scase@ed.ac.uk
Dermot Cavanagh Senior Lecturer Dermot.Cavanagh@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 650 3606
Dr Lynda Clark Lecturer in Creative Writing (Interdisciplinary Futures) lynda.clark@ed.ac.uk
Simon Cooke Senior Lecturer Simon.Cooke@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 651 3996
Paul Crosthwaite Professor of Modern and Contemporary Literature Paul.Crosthwaite@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 650 3614
Sarah Dunnigan Senior Lecturer S.M.Dunnigan@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 650 8304
Dr Patrick Errington Lecturer p.errington@ed.ac.uk
David Farrier Professor of Literature and the Environment David.Farrier@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 650 3607
Natalie Ferris Leverhulme Trust Early Career Fellow natalie.ferris@ed.ac.uk
Penny Fielding Grierson Professor of English Literature Penny.Fielding@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 650 3609
Miriam Gamble Senior Lecturer in Creative Writing mgamble@staffmail.ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 650 4285
Peter Garside Honorary Fellow Peter.Garside@ed.ac.uk
Alan Gillis Professor of Modern Poetry Alan.Gillis@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 650 3050
Dr Megan Girdwood Early Career Teaching and Research Fellow megan.girdwood@ed.ac.uk
Owen Holland Lecturer in Nineteenth-Century Literature owen.holland@ed.ac.uk
Keith Hughes Lecturer Keith.Hughes@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 650 3048
Katherine Inglis Chancellor's Fellow - Senior Lecturer; SLLC Director of Quality Assurance & Enhancement K.Inglis@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 650 3617
Robert Irvine Reader in Scottish Literature R.P.Irvine@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 650 3605
Dr Hannah Jeffery Postdoctoral Fellow hjeffer2@ed.ac.uk
Carole Jones Senior Lecturer Carole.Jones@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 650 3068
Aaron Kelly Senior Lecturer Aaron.Kelly@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 650 3071
Michelle Keown Professor of Pacific and Postcolonial Literature Michelle.Keown@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 650 6856
Dr Sadek Kessous Early Career Teaching and Research Fellow sadek.kessous@ed.ac.uk
Anouk Lang Senior Lecturer anouk.lang@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 650 8936
Alexandra Lawrie Senior Lecturer Alex.Lawrie@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 650 8968
James Loxley Professor of Early Modern Literature James.Loxley@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 650 3610
Simon Malpas Senior Lecturer Simon.Malpas@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 650 3596
Nicola McCartney Nicola.McCartney@ed.ac.uk
Gerard McKeever Lecturer in Scottish Literature gerard.mckeever@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 651 1236
Jane McKie Senior Lecturer Jane.McKie@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 650 3899
Timothy Milnes Professor of Romantic Literature and Philosophy Tim.Milnes@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 650 3615
Hannah-Rose Murray Early Career Leverhulme Research Fellow hmurray4@ed.ac.uk
Francis O'Gorman Saintsbury Professor of English Literature francis.o'gorman@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 650 4166
Dr David Overend Lecturer in Interdisciplinary Studies david.overend@ed.ac.uk
Roxana Preda Leverhulme Fellow roxana.preda@ed.ac.uk
Faith Pullin Honorary Fellow
Honor Rieley Early Career Teaching and Research Fellow honor.rieley@ed.ac.uk
David Salter Lecturer David.Salter@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 650 3055
Roger Savage Honorary Fellow Roger.Savage@ed.ac.uk
Martin Schauss Early Career Teaching and Research Fellow mschauss@ed.ac.uk
Kim Sherwood Lecturer in Creative Writing Kim.Sherwood@ed.ac.uk
Dr Hannah Simpson Lecturer in Drama and Performance h.e.a.simpson@ed.ac.uk
Lee Spinks Senior Lecturer Lee.Spinks@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 650 3616
Allyson Stack Senior Lecturer Allyson.Stack@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 650 4290
Randall Stevenson Emeritus Professor of Twentieth-Century Literature Randall.Stevenson@ed.ac.uk
Olga Taxidou Professor Emerita of Drama and Performance Studies Olga.Taxidou@ed.ac.uk
Andrew Taylor Senior Lecturer Andrew.Taylor@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 650 4584
Professor Melissa Terras Professor of Digital Cultural Heritage m.terras@ed.ac.uk 0131 650 9910 
Alice Thompson Lecturer Alice.Thompson@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 650 4535
Alex Thomson Professor of Modern Literature and Critical Theory Alex.Thomson@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 650 3058
Rebecca Tierney-Hynes Senior Lecturer r.tierneyhynes@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 650 8410
Suzanne Trill Senior Lecturer S.Trill@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 650 4291
Ryan Van Winkle Writer in Residence ryan.vanwinkle@ed.ac.uk
Anna Vaninskaya Senior Lecturer Anna.Vaninskaya@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 650 4284
Greg Walker Regius Professor of Rhetoric and English Literature Greg.Walker@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 650 3049
Dr Alice Wickenden Early Career Teaching and Research Fellow in Early Modern Literature alice.wickenden@ed.ac.uk
Jonathan Wild Senior Lecturer JWild@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 651 3191
Karina Williamson McIntosh Honorary Fellow Karina.Williamson@ed.ac.uk

Tutors