English and Scottish Literature

Writing prizes

We invite you to submit entries for the University’s three writing prizes, the Grierson Verse Prize, Sloan Prize, and Lewis Edwards Memorial Prize. These prizes have been established to recognise and encourage our students’ remarkable talent in prose and verse.

About the prizes

The competitions are open to original and previously unpublished pieces and give our students a chance to explore and showcase their creativeness.

Each prize has its own eligibility and form requirements detailed below. Please read these and the submission guidelines carefully before submitting your entry.

This year's prizes will be judged by Michael Pedersen, our Writer in Residence.

Good luck!

Past winning and shortlisted entries

Browse winners from recent years on our Writing Prizes blog. Immerse yourself in their stories, and learn more about the people behind the words and what inspires them.

Read author bios and past entries on the Writing Prizes blog 

How do I enter a prize?

Take me to the submission guidelines