Spanish, Portuguese and Latin American Studies

Staff

Get to know the team in Spanish, Portuguese and Latin American Studies (SPLAS).

Many of us work on a hybrid basis - a mixture of on-campus and digitally.

Our working hours are Monday to Friday between 9am and 5pm (UK time).

Please email us in the first instance, and we’ll get back to you as soon as we can.

Undergraduate enquiries

Email us about undergraduate study in SPLAS

Postgraduate enquiries

Email us about postgraduate research in SPLAS

 

Head of Spanish, Portuguese and Latin American Studies

This information is correct for Semester 2 of the Academic Year 2022 to 23.

Email the Head of SPLAS

Name (sorted in ascending order) Role Email Phone number
Fiona J. Mackintosh Senior Lecturer and Co-Head of Section for SPLAS (Spanish, Portguese and Latin American Studies) F.J.Mackintosh@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 650 8303

Administrative staff

Name (sorted in ascending order) Role Email Phone number
Alan Binnie Postgraduate (Research) Senior Administrator alan.binnie@ed.ac.uk +44(0)131 651 1822

Academic staff

Name (sorted in ascending order) Role Email Phone number
Marian Aldaz Arechaga Lecturer in Spanish m.a.arechaga@ed.ac.uk----marian.esff@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 650 8305
Lourdes Barquín Sanmartín Tutor in Spanish lbarquin@ed.ac.uk
Beth Blakemore Tutor in Spanish elizabeth.blakemore@ed.ac.uk
Barbara Castillo Büttinghausen Early Career Teaching and Research Fellow in Hispanic Studies Barbara.Castillo.Buttinghausen@ed.ac.uk
Annabel Del Valle Language Assistant (on leave 2022 to 2023) A.Del-Valle@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 650 3272
Liliana Gaitan-Wilson Language Assistant L.Gaitan.Wilson@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 650 3272
Charlotte Gleghorn Senior Lecturer in Latin American Film Studies Charlotte.Gleghorn@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 651 3237
Helena González Ruiz Teaching Fellow in Spanish Helena.Gonzalez@ed.ac.uk +44 (0) 131 651 7112
Jessica Gordon-Burroughs Lecturer in Latin American Studies and Visual Culture j.gordonburroughs@ed.ac.uk
Alexis Grohmann Professor of Contemporary Spanish Literature A.Grohmann@ed.ac.uk For media enquiries: +44 (0) 131 650 3678/ +44 (0)131 650 3635/a.grohmann@ed.ac.uk
Gustavo Herrera Taboada Spanish Tutor Gustavo.Herrera@ed.ac.uk
Hugo Lázaro Ruiz Language Assistant in Spanish hlazaro@ed.ac.uk
Inês Lima Lecturer in Lusophone Studies ines.lima@ed.ac.uk
Helena MacDonald Teaching Fellow htmacdon@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 651 3089
Iona Macintyre Senior Lecturer Iona.Macintyre@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 650 3641
Fiona J. Mackintosh Senior Lecturer and Co-Head of Section for SPLAS (Spanish, Portguese and Latin American Studies) F.J.Mackintosh@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 650 8303
Sergi Mainer Teaching Fellow in Spanish Sergi.Mainer@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 650
Elaine Newton-Bruzza Language Assistant enewton@ed.ac.uk
Dr Raquel Rivas-Rojas Spanish Tutor raquel.rivas-rojas@ed.ac.uk
Jeremy Robbins Forbes Chair of Hispanic Studies Jeremy.Robbins@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 651 3776
Patricia Rueda Diez Teaching Fellow and LLC Outreach and Widening Participation Officer Patricia.Rueda@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 650 3746
Mario Saborido Beltrán Tutor in Spanish Mario.Saborido@ed.ac.uk
Elena Sanz Ortega Teaching Fellow in Spanish Elena.Sanz@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 651 5492
Jose Saval Reader Jose.Saval@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 650 3677
Isabel Seguí Leverhulme Early Career Fellow isabel.segui@ed.ac.uk
Carlos Soler Montes Senior Lecturer in Spanish Linguistics carlos.soler@ed.ac.uk +44 (0) 131 650 8969
Natalia Stengel Peña Tutor in Spanish nstengel@ed.ac.uk
Roser Vich-Gallego Teaching Fellow in Spanish and Catalan Roser.Vich@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 650 8302
Anna Vives Teaching Fellow in Spanish Anna.Vives@ed.ac.uk