Scandinavian Studies

Staff

Get to know the team in Scandinavian Studies.

As a response to COVID-19, many of us are working on a hybrid basis - a mixture of on-campus and digitally.

Our working hours are Monday to Friday between 9am and 5pm GMT.

Please email us in the first instance, and we’ll get back to you as soon as we can.

Undergraduate enquiries

Email us about undergraduate study in Scandinavian Studies

Postgraduate enquiries

Email us about postgraduate research in Scandinavian Studies

Head of Scandinavian Studies

Name (sorted in ascending order) Role Email Phone number
Alan Macniven Senior Lecturer Alan.Macniven@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 650 3279

Administrative staff

Name (sorted in ascending order) Role Email Phone number
Alan Binnie Postgraduate (Research) Senior Administrator alan.binnie@ed.ac.uk +44(0)131 651 1822
Gillian Paterson Senior Administrator (DELC) Gillian.Paterson@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 650 3646

Academic staff

Name (sorted in ascending order) Role Email Phone number
Gunilla Blom Thomsen Tutor G.Blom.Thomsen@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 651 1363
John Gilmour Honorary Fellow John.Gilmour@ed.ac.uk
Peter Graves Honorary Fellow Peter.Graves@ed.ac.uk
Arne Kruse Honorary Fellow Arne.Kruse@ed.ac.uk
Julie Larsen (FHEA) Teaching Fellow Julie.Larsen@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 650 8971
Alan Macniven Senior Lecturer Alan.Macniven@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 650 3279
Guy Puzey Lecturer in Scandinavian Studies, Head of the Department of European Languages and Cultures G.Puzey@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 650 3639
Sanna Sjögren Teaching Fellow in Swedish, Course Organiser s.sjogren@ed.ac.uk
Ruairidh Tarvet Early Career Research & Teaching Fellow rtarvet@ed.ac.uk
Barbara Tesio-Ryan Teaching Fellow in Comparative Literature btesio@ed.ac.uk
Bjarne Thorup Thomsen Honorary Fellow Bjarne.Thomsen@ed.ac.uk
Anja Tröger Teaching Fellow in Norwegian Anja.Troeger@ed.ac.uk