Nordic Research

Northern Scholars

The long-standing Northern Scholars Scheme promotes international mobility and co-operation.

Northern Scholars banner

Northern Scholars was established at the University of Edinburgh in 1956.

The Scheme's role is to foster co-operation between scholars of the Nordic countries (Denmark, Finland, the Faroes, Greenland, Iceland, Norway and Sweden), the Baltic countries (Estonia, Latvia and Lithuania) and colleagues in the University of Edinburgh.

Mutual areas of interest include aspects of linguistics, and historical and other cultural studies which are common to these countries and to Scotland. 

Each year, the Northern Scholars Scheme Committee sponsors visits by scholars of the member countries to Edinburgh, during which time they give departmental seminars and public lectures.

Recent Northern Scholars

  • Professor Terry Gunnell (University of Iceland)
  • Dr Eric Cullhed (Uppsala University)
  • Dr Maria Esipova (University of Oslo)
  • Anders Mortensen (Lund University)
  • Emily Lethbridge (Árni Magnússon Institute for Icelandic Research)
  • Hallgrímur Helgason (Icelandic author)
  • Professor Anders Nordahl-Hansen (Østfold University College, Norway)
  • Dr Peder Gammeltoft (University of Bergen)
  • Dr Andrew Newby (Tampere Institute for Advanced Social Research, Finland)
  • Professor Felix Riede (Aarhus University)
  • Professor Jens Peter Schjødt (Aarhus University)
  • Professor Moritz Schramm (University of Southern Denmark)
  • Professor Anne Ring Petersen (University of Copenhagen)
  • Dr Cristine Sarrimo (Lund University)
  • Professor Jens Peter Schjødt (Aarhus University)
  • Dr Svetlana Pogodina (University of Latvia)
  • Professor Klemens Kappel (University of Copenhagen)
  • Dr Danita Burke (University of Southern Denmark)
  • Dr Gitte Buch-Hansen (University of Copenhagen)
  • Dr Matthew David Larsen (University of Copenhagen)
  • Professor Heike Omerzu (University of Copenhagen)

Browse the full archive of Northern Scholars Lectures since 2007

Find out how to nominate candidates for the Northern Scholars Scheme