French and Francophone Studies

Staff

Get to know the team in French and Francophone Studies.

As a response to COVID-19, many of us are working on a hybrid basis - a mixture of on-campus and digitally.

Our working hours are Monday to Friday between 9am and 5pm BST.

Please email us in the first instance, and we’ll get back to you as soon as we can.

Undergraduate enquiries

Email us about undergraduate study in French and Francophone Studies

Postgraduate enquiries

Email us about postgraduate research in French and Francophone Studies

Head of French and Francophone Studies

Name (sorted in ascending order) Role Email Phone number
Sarah Tribout-Joseph Lecturer, Head of French and Francophone Studies Sarah.Tribout-Joseph@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 650 3205

Administrative staff

Name (sorted in ascending order) Role Email Phone number
Alan Binnie Postgraduate (Research) Senior Administrator alan.binnie@ed.ac.uk +44(0)131 651 1822
Gillian Paterson Senior Administrator (DELC) Gillian.Paterson@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 650 3646

Academic staff

Name (sorted in ascending order) Role Email Phone number
Dr Fabien Arribert-Narce Lecturer in French and Francophone Studies F.Arribert-Narce@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 650 8414
Susan Bainbrigge Senior Lecturer Susan.Bainbrigge@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 650 8417
Philip E. Bennett Professor Emeritus and Honorary Fellow Philip.Bennett@ed.ac.uk
Sylvain Blanche Tutor Sylvain.Blanche@ed.ac.uk
Claire Boyle Lecturer in French claire.boyle@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 650 4024
Mary Breatnach Honorary Fellow M.Breatnach@ed.ac.uk
Sam Coombes Senior Lecturer Sam.Coombes@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 650 8412
Peter Dayan Honorary Professorial Fellow in Word and Music Studies Peter.Dayan@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 650 8424
Audrey Debard Teaching Fellow audrey.debard@ed.ac.uk 01316508937
Véronique Desnain Senior Lecturer, Head of European Languages and Cultures Veronique.Desnain@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 650 3054
Jean Duffy Honorary Fellow Jean.Duffy@ed.ac.uk
Peter France Honorary Fellow P.France@ed.ac.uk
Nicola Frith Senior Lecturer Nicola.Frith@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 650 8967
Séverine Genieys-Kirk Lecturer S.G.Kirk@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 651 1734
François Giraud Teaching Fellow f.giraud@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 650 3745
Brigitte Guenier Teaching Fellow Brigitte.Guenier@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 650 8411
Pauline Hamelot Foreign language assistant in French pauline.hamelot@ed.ac.uk
Emmanuelle Lacore-Martin Senior Lecturer E.Martin@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 651 1148
James Laidlaw Honorary Fellow James.Laidlaw@ed.ac.uk
Edouard Notte Teaching Fellow / Codirector of Le Centre de Recherches Francophones Belges E.Notte@ed.ac.uk 0131 651 1747
Katie Pleming Early Career Teaching and Research Fellow katie.pleming@ed.ac.uk 01316 508411
John Renwick Emeritus Professor and Honorary Fellow John.Renwick@ed.ac.uk
Vaughan Rogers Honorary Fellow V.Rogers@ed.ac.uk
Sophie SAMALENS Teaching Assistant Sophie.Samalens@ed.ac.uk
Marion Schmid Professor of French Literature and Film Marion.Schmid@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 650 8409
Fionnuala Sinclair Lecturer Finn.Sinclair@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 650 8423
Sarah Tribout-Joseph Lecturer, Head of French and Francophone Studies Sarah.Tribout-Joseph@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 650 3205
Julien Virlogeux Tutor Julien.Virlogeux@ed.ac.uk
Jane Yeoman Teaching Fellow Jane.Yeoman@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 651 3774

Part-time tutors

Please note that links take you to tutors' PhD student profiles