Literatures, Languages & Cultures

Admin and support contacts

Professional Services staff in the School of Literatures, Languages and Cultures.

Many of us work on a hybrid basis - a mixture of on-campus and digitally.

Our working hours are Monday to Friday between 9am and 5pm (UK time).

Please email us in the first instance, and we’ll get back to you as soon as we can.

School Office

Title Name Email
Head of School Professor Alex Thomson llc@ed.ac.uk
Director of Professional Services Jacqui Brook jacqui.brook@ed.ac.uk
Head of Operations Anna McGauley anna.mcgauley@ed.ac.uk
HR Coordinator Calum Anderson llc.hr@ed.ac.uk
HR Administrator  Taylor Kinney

llc.hr@ed.ac.uk

HR Administrator  James Hanton llc.hr@ed.ac.uk
Finance Coordinator Sam Brudell llc.finance@ed.ac.uk
Finance Administrator Kieran Nolan llc.finance@ed.ac.uk
Finance Resources Assistant  Claire Haley llc.finance@ed.ac.uk
School Resources & Research Finance Assistant Emma Caulfield llc@ed.ac.uk
Research Manager Janet Black j.black@ed.ac.uk
Senior Research and Impact Administrator Laura Tomlinson laura.tomlinson@ed.ac.uk
Research Administrator Anja Pogačnik anja.pogacnik@ed.ac.uk
Marketing and Communications Manager Máire Cox m.cox@ed.ac.uk 
Marketing and Communications Officer Nathalia Bogdanov nathalia.bogdanov@ed.ac.uk
Marketing and Communications Assistant Hannah Ruddy hannah.ruddy@ed.ac.uk
Head of Digital and Facilities Services Alexander McBroom alexander.mcbroom@ed.ac.uk
Estates and Facilities Assistant Calum Barrie calum.barrie@ed.ac.uk
School Receptionist Justyna Hajduczek llc.reception@ed.ac.uk

Student and Academic Services

Student and Academic Services Manager

Jackie Barnhart

Jackie.Barnhart@ed.ac.uk
Director of Learning and Teaching Dr Ben Bateman Benjamin.Bateman@ed.ac.uk
Postgraduate Research Director Dr Frauke Matthes Frauke.Matthes@ed.ac.uk

Student Support

Book an online appointment with a Student Adviser

Title Name Email
Head of Student Support / Coordinator of Adjustments Christine Lennie Christine.lennie@ed.ac.uk
Student Support Development Officer Melanie Smith Melanie.Smith@ed.ac.uk
Student Adviser Clare Chadd llcstudentsupport@ed.ac.uk
Student Adviser Claire Dickson llcstudentsupport@ed.ac.uk
Student Adviser Heather Duff llcstudentsupport@ed.ac.uk
Student Adviser Sharon Gascoigne llcstudentsupport@ed.ac.uk
Student Adviser Claire Lightfoot llcstudentsupport@ed.ac.uk
Student Adviser Fiona McMurray llcstudentsupport@ed.ac.uk
Student Adviser Fiona Scanlon llcstudentsupport@ed.ac.uk
Student Adviser Fraser King llcstudentsupport@ed.ac.uk
Student Adviser Joe Burrell llcstudentsupport@ed.ac.uk
Student Adviser Angie Jones llcstudentsupport@ed.ac.uk
Student Support Administrator Daniel Berger llcstudentsupport@ed.ac.uk
Student Support Administrator Bronwen Jones llcstudentsupport@ed.ac.uk

Teaching Office

Book an online appointment with the Teaching Office (for students on undergraduate and postgraduate taught programmes)

Title Name Email
Taught Programmes Operations Manager Iain Sutherland iain.sutherland@ed.ac.uk
Taught Programmes Officer Jess Murray jessica.murray@ed.ac.uk
Undergraduate Administrator  Vivien MacNish Porter

llc.taughtenquiries@ed.ac.uk

Undergraduate and Postgraduate Administrator  Callum Lennie llc.taughtenquiries@ed.ac.uk
Senior Administrator  Monique Brough llc.taughtenquiries@ed.ac.uk
Senior Administrator  Claire Hand llc.taughtenquiries@ed.ac.uk
Undergraduate Administrator  Anne Budo llc.taughtenquiries@ed.ac.uk
Undergraduate Administrator  June Cahongo llc.taughtenquiries@ed.ac.uk
Learning and Teaching Administrator Lina Gordyshevskaya

llc.taughtenquiries@ed.ac.uk

Undergraduate Administrator  Hope Hamilton llc.taughtenquiries@ed.ac.uk
Learning and Teaching Administrator  Iain Harrison

llc.taughtenquiries@ed.ac.uk

Learning and Teaching Enhancement Administrator Lizzy Irvine llc.taughtenquiries@ed.ac.uk
Undergraduate Administrator  Sheila Strathdee llc.taughtenquiries@ed.ac.uk

Postgraduate Research Office

Book an online appointment with the Postgraduate Research Office (for students on MSc by Research and PhD programmes)

Title Name Email
Postgraduate Research Support Officer Karin Bolton karin.bolton@ed.ac.uk
Postgraduate Research Senior Administrator Alan Binnie alan.binnie@ed.ac.uk

Learning and Teaching Enhancement

Title Name Email
Quality Assurance, Enhancement and Projects Officer David Horn david.horn@ed.ac.uk

Quality Assurance, Enhancement and Planning Officer

Fiona King Fiona.king@ed.ac.uk

Year Abroad Office

Book an online appointment with the Year Abroad Office

Title Name Email
Year Abroad and Placement Officer Elaine Hermina llc.yearabroad@ed.ac.uk 
Year Abroad Administrator Louise Carson llc.yearabroad@ed.ac.uk 

Learning & Information Technology

Title Name Email
Technical Officer John Glendinning j.glendinning@ed.ac.uk
Resource Centre and AV Support Administrator Tom Napper

tom.napper@ed.ac.uk

Learning Technology Manager Renée Marx renee.marx@ed.ac.uk
Learning Technology Assistant Amadeo Rasul amadeo.rasul@ed.ac.uk
Technology Support Manager Neil Young n.young@ed.ac.uk
Technology Support Officer Richard Lomax richard.lomax@ed.ac.uk
Technology Support Officer Yemi Safiu ksafiu@ed.ac.uk

Scottish Universities' International Summer School

Title Name Email
SUISS Summer School Administrative Manager Lauren Pope Lauren.Pope@ed.ac.uk
SUISS Co-Director Gina Gwenffrewi grober12@ed.ac.uk
SUISS Co-Director Laura Muetzelfeldt lmuetzel@ed.ac.uk