Literatures, Languages & Cultures

Admin and support contacts

Professional Services staff in the School of Literatures, Languages and Cultures.

As a response to COVID-19, some of us are on campus while others are working remotely.

You can contact us Monday to Friday between 9am and 5pm BST.

We hope you’ll understand why we aren’t able to routinely answer phone calls or offer in-person appointments at the moment. 

However, if you email us, we’ll get back to you as soon as we can.

School Office

Title Name Phone Email
Head of School Jeremy Robbins +44 (0)131 651 3776 jeremy.robbins@ed.ac.uk
Director of Professional Services Jacqui Brook +44 (0)131 650 8422 jacqui.brook@ed.ac.uk
Deputy Director of Professional Services Julie Robertson +44 (0)131 650 3858 julie.robertson1@ed.ac.uk
Resources Coordinator Nicol Smith +44 (0)131 650 4470 nicol.smith@ed.ac.uk
Resources Assistant Ella Keam +44 (0)131 651 5183

ella.keam@ed.ac.uk

Web and Communications Manager Máire Cox +44 (0)131 651 5493 m.cox@ed.ac.uk 
Web and Communications Assistant Hannah White +44 (0) 131 650 9325

hannah.white@ed.ac.uk

Timetabling and Workload Allocation Officer

Roddy McDougall +44 (0)131 650 3059 roddy.mcdougall@ed.ac.uk
Research Manager Janet Black +44 (0)131 650 3859 j.black@ed.ac.uk
REF and Research Support Administrator Laura Tomlinson +44 (0)131 651 5182

laura.tomlinson@ed.ac.uk

Estates and Facilities Manager Alexander McBroom +44 (0)131 650 4471 alexander.mcbroom@ed.ac.uk
Estates and Facilities Assistant Calum Barrie +44 (0)131 650 8925 calum.barrie@ed.ac.uk
School Receptionist Justyna Hajduczek +44 (0)131 651 5984 llc.reception@ed.ac.uk

Student and Academic Services

Title Name Phone Email
Student and Academic Services Manager Jackie Barnhart +44 (0)131 651 1813 jackie.barnhart@ed.ac.uk
Director of Learning and Teaching (Undergraduate and Postgraduate) Dr Christopher Perkins +44 (0)131 650 4174 chris.perkins@ed.ac.uk
Postgraduate Research Director Dr David Sorfa +44 (0)131 650 3637 david.sorfa@ed.ac.uk

Student Support

Book an online appointment with a Student Support Officer

Title Name Email
Head of Student Support / Coordinator of Adjustments Christine Lennie Christine.lennie@ed.ac.uk
Student Support Officer   Clare Chadd llcstudentsupport@ed.ac.uk
Student Support Officer Claire Dickson llcstudentsupport@ed.ac.uk
Student Support Officer Claire Lightfoot llcstudentsupport@ed.ac.uk
Student Support Officer Fiona Scanlon llcstudentsupport@ed.ac.uk

Teaching Office

Book an online appointment with the Teaching Office (for students on undergraduate and postgraduate taught programmes)

Title Name Phone Email
Taught Programmes Operations Manager Iain Sutherland +44 (0)131 651 3988 iain.sutherland@ed.ac.uk
Senior Administrator (English Literature) Michael Butler +44 (0)131 650 8618 michael.butler@ed.ac.uk
Senior Administrator (Celtic and Scottish Studies & Asian Studies) Annie Kelly +44 (0)131 650 4167 annie.kelly@ed.ac.uk
Undergraduate Administrator (Asian Studies) Vivien MacNish Porter +44 (0)131 650 3528

vivien.macnish-porter@ed.ac.uk

Senior Administrator (Islamic and Middle Eastern Studies) Monique Brough +44 (0)131 650 4182 monique.brough@ed.ac.uk

Undergraduate Administrator (DELC)

Katarina Zabecka +44 (0)131 650 4026 k.zabecka@ed.ac.uk
Undergraduate Administrator (DELC) Elsie Gach +44 (0)131 650 8421 elsie.gach@ed.ac.uk
Undergraduate Administrator (DELC) Craig Adams +44(0)131 650 6949 craig.adams@ed.ac.uk
Senior Administrator (DELC) Gillian Paterson +44 (0)131 650 3646 gillian.paterson@ed.ac.uk
Undergraduate Administrator (English Literature) June Cahongo +44 (0)131 650 3620 j.haigh@ed.ac.uk
Undergraduate Administrator (English Literature) Sheila Strathdee +44 (0)131 650 3619

s.strathdee@ed.ac.uk

Undergraduate Administrator (Islamic and Middle Eastern Studies) Anne Budo

+44 (0)131 650 4161

a.budo@ed.ac.uk

Postgraduate Administrator (Taught) Kara McCormack +44 (0)131 650 3030

kara.mccormack@ed.ac.uk

Postgraduate Administrator (Taught) Charlotte Mclean +44 (0)131 650 4114 charlotte.mclean@ed.ac.uk

Postgraduate Research Office

Book an online appointment with the Postgraduate Research Office (for students on MSc by Research and PhD programmes)

Title Name Phone Email
Postgraduate Research Support Officer Karin Bolton +44 (0)131 650 4465 karin.bolton@ed.ac.uk
Postgraduate Research Senior Administrator Alan Binnie +44 (0)131 651 1822 alan.binnie@ed.ac.uk

Learning and Teaching Enhancement

Title Name Phone Email
Quality Assurance, Enhancement and Projects Officer David Horn +44 (0)131 650 4227 david.horn@ed.ac.uk
Quality Assurance and Enhancement Senior Administrator Alexandra Mezeul +44 (0)131 650 3702 alex.aedomezeul@ed.ac.uk
Learning and Teaching Enhancement Administrator Ashley Stein +44 (0)131 650 3702 ashley.stein@ed.ac.uk

Learning & Information Technology

Title Name Phone Email
Learning and Information Technology Manager Carne Burke +44 (0)131 650 3970 carne.burke@ed.ac.uk
Technology Support Assistant - AV John Glendinning +44 (0)131 650 3971 j.glendinning@ed.ac.uk
Resource Centre and AV Support Administrator Tom Napper +44 (0)131 650 3974

tom.napper@ed.ac.uk

Learning Technologist Renée Marx +44 (0)131 650 3973 renee.marx@ed.ac.uk
Learning Technology Assistant TBC +44 (0)131 650 3976 TBC
Technology Support Officer Neil Young +44 (0)131 650 3972 n.young@ed.ac.uk
Technology Support Assistant - IT Liam Neave +44 (0)131 650 3975 liam.neave@ed.ac.uk

Scottish Universities' International Summer School

SUISS Summer School Administrative Manager Lauren Pope +44 (0)131 650 4369 Lauren.Pope@ed.ac.uk