Literatures, Languages & Cultures

Admin and support contacts

Professional Services staff in the School of Literatures, Languages and Cultures.

Contacting us during COVID-19

We're currently working remotely as a response to COVID-19, but we're still here to help.

We are working Monday to Friday between 9am and 5pm. We can’t answer any calls at this time, but you can email us and we'll get back to you as soon as we can.

The University will be open and ready to teach at the start of the new academic year in September 2020.

Thank you for your understanding.

School Office

Title Name Phone Email
Head of School Jeremy Robbins +44 (0)131 651 3776 jeremy.robbins@ed.ac.uk
Director of Professional Services Jacqui Brook +44 (0)131 650 8422 jacqui.brook@ed.ac.uk
Deputy Director of Professional Services Julie Robertson +44 (0)131 650 3858 julie.robertson1@ed.ac.uk
School Secretary James Gilmour +44 (0)131 650 3638 james.gilmour@ed.ac.uk
Finance Administrator Nicol Smith +44 (0)131 650 4470 nicol.smith@ed.ac.uk
Resources Assistant Ella Keam +44 (0)131 651 5183

ella.keam@ed.ac.uk

Web and Communications Manager Máire Cox +44 (0)131 651 5493 m.cox@ed.ac.uk 
Web and Communications Assistant Hannah White +44 (0) 131 650 9325

hannah.white@ed.ac.uk

REF Impact Case Studies Editor (currently on maternity leave) Laura Mair +44 (0)131 650 3701 laura.mair@ed.ac.uk
Projects Officer Roddy McDougall +44 (0)131 650 3059 roddy.mcdougall@ed.ac.uk
Research Manager Janet Black +44 (0)131 650 3859 j.black@ed.ac.uk
REF and Research Support Administrator Laura Tomlinson +44 (0)131 651 5182

laura.tomlinson@ed.ac.uk

Research Support Assistant Gemma Thomson +44 (0)131 650 3057

gemma.thomson@ed.ac.uk

Estates and Facilities Manager Alexander McBroom +44 (0)131 650 4471 alexander.mcbroom@ed.ac.uk
Estates and Facilities Assistant Calum Barrie +44 (0)131 650 8925 calum.barrie@ed.ac.uk
School Receptionist Justyna Hajduczek +44 (0)131 651 5984 llc.reception@ed.ac.uk

Student and Academic Services

Title Name Phone Email
Student and Academic Services Manager Jackie Barnhart +44 (0)131 651 1813 jackie.barnhart@ed.ac.uk
Director of Learning and Teaching (Undergraduate and Postgraduate) Dr Christopher Perkins +44 (0)131 650 4174 chris.perkins@ed.ac.uk
Postgraduate Research Director Dr David Sorfa +44 (0)131 650 3637 david.sorfa@ed.ac.uk

Student Support

Title Name Phone Email
Head of Student Support / Coordinator of Adjustments Christine Lennie +44 (0)131 650 3524 christine.lennie@ed.ac.uk
Student Support Officer   Clare Chadd +44 (0)131 650 3673 clare.chadd@ed.ac.uk
Student Support Officer Fiona Scanlon +44 (0)131 650 3647 fiona.scanlon@ed.ac.uk
Student Support Officer Claire Lightfoot +44 (0)131 650 6948 claire.lightfoot@ed.ac.uk

Undergraduate Teaching Office

Title Name Phone Email
UG Academic Services Coordinator  David Horn +44 (0)131 650 4227 david.horn@ed.ac.uk
Undergraduate Administrator (Asian Studies and Common Courses) Vivien MacNish Porter +44 (0)131 650 3528

vivien.macnish-porter@ed.ac.uk

Senior Administrator (DELC) Fiona Jack +44 (0)131 650 3635 f.jack@ed.ac.uk
Undergraduate Administrator (Spanish, Portuguese and Latin American Studies) Katarina Zabecka +44 (0)131 650 4026 k.zabecka@ed.ac.uk
Undergraduate Administrator (French and Francophone Studies) Elsie Gach +44 (0)131 650 8421 elsie.gach@ed.ac.uk
Undergraduate Administrator (German and Scandinavian Studies) Gillian Paterson +44 (0)131 650 3646 gillian.paterson@ed.ac.uk
Undergraduate Administrator (Italian and Russian) Marleen March +44 (0)131 650 6949 marleen.march@ed.ac.uk
Senior Administrator (English Literature) Helene Thomsen +44 (0)131 650 8618 helene.thomsen@ed.ac.uk
Undergraduate Administrator (English Literature) June Cahongo +44 (0)131 650 3620 j.haigh@ed.ac.uk
Undergraduate Administrator (English Literature) Sheila Strathdee +44 (0)131 650 3619

s.strathdee@ed.ac.uk

Senior Administrator (Celtic and Scottish Studies) Annie Kelly +44 (0)131 650 4167 annie.kelly@ed.ac.uk
Learning and Teaching Administrator TBA +44 (0)131 650 3702 llc.undergrad@ed.ac.uk
Learning and Teaching Administrator Alexandra Mezeul +44 (0)131 650 3702

alex.aedomezeul@ed.ac.uk

Senior Administrator (Islamic and Middle Eastern Studies) Monique Brough +44 (0)131 650 4182 monique.brough@ed.ac.uk
Undergraduate Administrator (Islamic and Middle Eastern Studies) Anne Budo

+44 (0)131 650 4161

a.budo@ed.ac.uk

Undergraduate & Postgraduate Administrator Ashley Stein +44 (0)131 650 3702

ashley.stein@ed.ac.uk

Postgraduate Office

Title Name Phone Email
Postgraduate Academic Services Coordinator Iain Sutherland +44 (0)131 651 3988 iain.sutherland@ed.ac.uk
Postgraduate (Research) Senior Administrator Alan Binnie +44 (0)131 651 1822 alan.binnie@ed.ac.uk
Postgraduate Administrator Kara McCormack +44 (0)131 650 3030 kara.mccormack@ed.ac.uk
Postgraduate Administrator Charlotte Mclean +44 (0)131 650 4114 charlotte.mclean@ed.ac.uk

Learning & Information Technology

Title Name Phone Email
Learning and Information Technology Manager Carne Burke +44 (0)131 650 3970 carne.burke@ed.ac.uk
Technology Support Specialist Fiona Carmichael +44 (0)131 650 8396 f.carmichael@ed.ac.uk
Technology Support Assistant John Glendinning +44 (0)131 650 3971 j.glendinning@ed.ac.uk
Resource Centre and AV Support Administrator Tom Napper +44 (0)131 650 3974

tom.napper@ed.ac.uk

Learning Technologist Renée Marx +44 (0)131 650 3973 renee.marx@ed.ac.uk
Technology Support Officer Neil Young +44 (0)131 650 3972 n.young@ed.ac.uk
Technology Support Assistant Trevor Ross TBC TBC
Learning Technology Assistant Daisy Michelson TBC TBC

Scottish Universities' International Summer School

SUISS Summer School Administrative Manager Lauren Pope +44 (0)131 650 4369 Lauren.Pope@ed.ac.uk