Literatures, Languages & Cultures

Admin and support contacts

Professional Services staff in the School of Literatures, Languages and Cultures.

Many of us work on a hybrid basis - a mixture of on-campus and digitally.

Our working hours are Monday to Friday between 9am and 5pm (UK time).

Please email us in the first instance, and we’ll get back to you as soon as we can.

School Office

Title Name Email
Head of School Professor Alex Thomson llc@ed.ac.uk
Director of Professional Services Jacqui Brook jacqui.brook@ed.ac.uk
Head of Operations Anna McGauley anna.mcgauley@ed.ac.uk
Resources Coordinator Nicol Smith nicol.smith@ed.ac.uk
Finance Resources Administrator Sam Brudell

llc.finance@ed.ac.uk

HR Resources Administrator  Karen McErlean llc.hr@ed.ac.uk
Resources Assistant Sagan Turner llc@ed.ac.uk
Resources Assistant (Finance) Claire Haley llc.finance@ed.ac.uk
Resources Assistant (HR)

Kasia Wytrazek

llc.recruitment@ed.ac.uk
Marketing and Communications Manager Máire Cox m.cox@ed.ac.uk 
Marketing and Communications Officer Nathalia Bogdanov nathalia.bogdanov@ed.ac.uk

Timetabling and Workload Allocation Officer

Roddy McDougall roddy.mcdougall@ed.ac.uk
Research Manager Janet Black j.black@ed.ac.uk
Research Administrator Laura Tomlinson

laura.tomlinson@ed.ac.uk

Estates and Facilities Manager Alexander McBroom alexander.mcbroom@ed.ac.uk
Estates and Facilities Assistant Calum Barrie calum.barrie@ed.ac.uk
School Receptionist Justyna Hajduczek llc.reception@ed.ac.uk
School Receptionist Nico Whittaker  llc.reception@ed.ac.uk

Student and Academic Services

Student and Academic Services Manager

Jackie Barnhart

Jackie.Barnhart@ed.ac.uk
Director of Learning and Teaching Dr Ben Bateman Benjamin.Bateman@ed.ac.uk
Postgraduate Research Director Dr Frauke Matthes Frauke.Matthes@ed.ac.uk

Student Support

Book an online appointment with a Student Adviser

Title Name Email
Head of Student Support / Coordinator of Adjustments Christine Lennie Christine.lennie@ed.ac.uk
Student Adviser Clare Chadd llcstudentsupport@ed.ac.uk
Student Adviser Claire Dickson llcstudentsupport@ed.ac.uk
Student Adviser Claire Lightfoot llcstudentsupport@ed.ac.uk
Student Adviser Fiona Scanlon llcstudentsupport@ed.ac.uk
Student Support Administrator Katarina Zabecka llcstudentsupport@ed.ac.uk
Student Support Administrator Fraser King llcstudentsupport@ed.ac.uk

Teaching Office

Book an online appointment with the Teaching Office (for students on undergraduate and postgraduate taught programmes)

Title Name Email
Taught Programmes Operations Manager Iain Sutherland iain.sutherland@ed.ac.uk
Taught Programmes Officer Jess Murray jessica.murray@ed.ac.uk
Year Abroad and Placement Officer Elaine Hermina llc.yearabroad@ed.ac.uk 
Senior Administrator (English Literature) Michael Butler michael.butler@ed.ac.uk
Senior Administrator (Celtic and Scottish Studies & Asian Studies) Annie Kelly annie.kelly@ed.ac.uk
Undergraduate Administrator (Asian Studies) Vivien MacNish Porter

vivien.macnish-porter@ed.ac.uk

Undergraduate and Postgraduate Administrator (Celtic and Scottish Studies & Asian Studies) Callum Lennie callum.lennie@ed.ac.uk
Senior Administrator (Islamic and Middle Eastern Studies) Monique Brough monique.brough@ed.ac.uk
Senior Administrator UG and PG (DELC) Gillian Paterson gillian.paterson@ed.ac.uk
Undergraduate and Postgraduate Administrator (DELC) Claire Hand claire.hand@ed.ac.uk
Undergraduate and Postgraduate Administrator (DELC) Stuart Moyes stuart.moyes@ed.ac.uk
Undergraduate and Postgraduate Administrator (DELC) Bronwen Jones bronwen.jones@ed.ac.uk
Undergraduate and Postgraduate Administrator (DELC) Craig Adams craig.adams@ed.ac.uk
Undergraduate Administrator (English Literature) June Cahongo j.haigh@ed.ac.uk
Undergraduate Administrator (English Literature) Sheila Strathdee

s.strathdee@ed.ac.uk

Undergraduate Administrator (English Literature) Hope Hamilton hope.hamilton@ed.ac.uk
Undergraduate Administrator (Islamic and Middle Eastern Studies) Anne Budo

a.budo@ed.ac.uk

Postgraduate Administrator (Taught) Kara McCormack

kara.mccormack@ed.ac.uk

Postgraduate Research Office

Book an online appointment with the Postgraduate Research Office (for students on MSc by Research and PhD programmes)

Title Name Phone Email
Postgraduate Research Support Officer Karin Bolton +44 (0)131 650 4465 karin.bolton@ed.ac.uk
Postgraduate Research Senior Administrator Alan Binnie +44 (0)131 651 1822 alan.binnie@ed.ac.uk

Learning and Teaching Enhancement

Title Name Email
Quality Assurance, Enhancement and Projects Officer David Horn david.horn@ed.ac.uk
Learning and Teaching Enhancement Administrator Chloe Peck cpeck@ed.ac.uk
Learning and Teaching Enhancement Administrator Lizzy Irvine eirvine3@ed.ac.uk

Learning & Information Technology

Title Name Phone Email
Learning and Information Technology Manager Carne Burke +44 (0)131 650 3970 carne.burke@ed.ac.uk
Technology Support Assistant - AV John Glendinning +44 (0)131 650 3971 j.glendinning@ed.ac.uk
Resource Centre and AV Support Administrator Tom Napper +44 (0)131 650 3974

tom.napper@ed.ac.uk

Learning Technologist Renée Marx +44 (0)131 650 3973 renee.marx@ed.ac.uk
Learning Technology Assistant Amadeo Rasul +44 (0)131 650 3976 amadeo.rasul@ed.ac.uk
Technology Support Officer Neil Young +44 (0)131 650 3972 n.young@ed.ac.uk
Technology Support Assistant - IT Liam Neave +44 (0)131 650 3975 liam.neave@ed.ac.uk

Scottish Universities' International Summer School

Title Name Email
SUISS Summer School Administrative Manager Lauren Pope Lauren.Pope@ed.ac.uk
SUISS Co-Director Gina Gwenffrewi grober12@ed.ac.uk
SUISS Co-Director Laura Muetzelfeldt lmuetzel@ed.ac.uk