Literatures, Languages & Cultures

Admin and support contacts

Professional Services staff in the School of Literatures, Languages and Cultures.

Many of us work on a hybrid basis - a mixture of on-campus and digitally.

Our working hours are Monday to Friday between 9am and 5pm BST.

Please email us in the first instance, and we’ll get back to you as soon as we can.

School Office

Title Name Phone Email
Head of School Professor Alex Thomson +44 (0)131 651 3776 alex.thomson@ed.ac.uk
Director of Professional Services Jacqui Brook +44 (0)131 650 8422 jacqui.brook@ed.ac.uk
Head of Operations Anna McGauley +44 (0)131 650 3858 anna.mcgauley@ed.ac.uk
Resources Coordinator Nicol Smith +44 (0)131 650 4470 nicol.smith@ed.ac.uk
Finance Resources Administrator Sam Brudell +44 (0)131 650 3057

llc.finance@ed.ac.uk

HR Resources Administrator  Karen McErlean +44 (0)131 651 1245 llc.hr@ed.ac.uk
Resources Assistant Sagan Turner +44 (0)131 651 5183 llc@ed.ac.uk
Resources Assistant (HR)

Kasia Wytrazek

+44 (0)131 651 1295 llc.recruitment@ed.ac.uk
Web and Communications Manager Máire Cox +44 (0)131 651 5493 m.cox@ed.ac.uk 
Web and Communications Assistant Nathalia Bogdanov +44 (0)131 650 9325 nathalia.bogdanov@ed.ac.uk

Timetabling and Workload Allocation Officer

Roddy McDougall +44 (0)131 650 3059 roddy.mcdougall@ed.ac.uk
Research Manager Janet Black +44 (0)131 650 3859 j.black@ed.ac.uk
Research Administrator Laura Tomlinson +44 (0)131 651 5182

laura.tomlinson@ed.ac.uk

Estates and Facilities Manager Alexander McBroom +44 (0)131 650 4471 alexander.mcbroom@ed.ac.uk
Estates and Facilities Assistant Calum Barrie +44 (0)131 650 8925 calum.barrie@ed.ac.uk
School Receptionist Justyna Hajduczek +44 (0)131 651 5984 llc.reception@ed.ac.uk

Student and Academic Services

Title Name Phone Email
Student and Academic Services Manager Jackie Barnhart +44 (0)131 651 1813 jackie.barnhart@ed.ac.uk
Director of Learning and Teaching (Undergraduate and Postgraduate) Dr Christopher Perkins +44 (0)131 650 4174 chris.perkins@ed.ac.uk
Postgraduate Research Director Dr David Sorfa +44 (0)131 650 3637 david.sorfa@ed.ac.uk

Student Support

Book an online appointment with a Student Adviser

Title Name Email
Head of Student Support / Coordinator of Adjustments Christine Lennie Christine.lennie@ed.ac.uk
Student Adviser Clare Chadd llcstudentsupport@ed.ac.uk
Student Adviser Claire Dickson llcstudentsupport@ed.ac.uk
Student Adviser Claire Lightfoot llcstudentsupport@ed.ac.uk
Student Adviser Fiona Scanlon llcstudentsupport@ed.ac.uk

Teaching Office

Book an online appointment with the Teaching Office (for students on undergraduate and postgraduate taught programmes)

Title Name Email
Taught Programmes Operations Manager Iain Sutherland iain.sutherland@ed.ac.uk
Year Abroad and Placement Officer Elaine Hermina llc.yearabroad@ed.ac.uk 
Senior Administrator (English Literature) Michael Butler michael.butler@ed.ac.uk
Senior Administrator (Celtic and Scottish Studies & Asian Studies) Annie Kelly annie.kelly@ed.ac.uk
Undergraduate Administrator (Asian Studies) Vivien MacNish Porter

vivien.macnish-porter@ed.ac.uk

Undergraduate and Postgraduate Administrator (Celtic and Scottish Studies & Asian Studies) Callum Lennie callum.lennie@ed.ac.uk
Senior Administrator (Islamic and Middle Eastern Studies) Monique Brough monique.brough@ed.ac.uk

Undergraduate and Postgraduate Administrator (DELC)

Katarina Zabecka k.zabecka@ed.ac.uk
Undergraduate and Postgraduate Administrator (DELC) Claire Hand claire.hand@ed.ac.uk
Undergraduate and Postgraduate Administrator (DELC) Stuart Moyes stuart.moyes@ed.ac.uk
Undergraduate and Postgraduate Administrator (DELC) Elsie Gach elsie.gach@ed.ac.uk
Undergraduate and Postgraduate Administrator (DELC) Craig Adams craig.adams@ed.ac.uk
Senior Administrator UG and PG (DELC) Gillian Paterson gillian.paterson@ed.ac.uk
Undergraduate Administrator (English Literature) June Cahongo j.haigh@ed.ac.uk
Undergraduate Administrator (English Literature) Sheila Strathdee

s.strathdee@ed.ac.uk

Undergraduate Administrator (Islamic and Middle Eastern Studies) Anne Budo

a.budo@ed.ac.uk

Postgraduate Administrator (Taught) Kara McCormack

kara.mccormack@ed.ac.uk

Postgraduate Research Office

Book an online appointment with the Postgraduate Research Office (for students on MSc by Research and PhD programmes)

Title Name Phone Email
Postgraduate Research Support Officer Karin Bolton +44 (0)131 650 4465 karin.bolton@ed.ac.uk
Postgraduate Research Senior Administrator Alan Binnie +44 (0)131 651 1822 alan.binnie@ed.ac.uk

Learning and Teaching Enhancement

Title Name Phone Email
Quality Assurance, Enhancement and Projects Officer David Horn +44 (0)131 650 4227 david.horn@ed.ac.uk
Quality Assurance and Enhancement Senior Administrator Alexandra Mezeul +44 (0)131 650 3702 alex.aedomezeul@ed.ac.uk
Learning and Teaching Enhancement Administrator Ashley Stein +44 (0)131 650 3702 ashley.stein@ed.ac.uk

Learning & Information Technology

Title Name Phone Email
Learning and Information Technology Manager Carne Burke +44 (0)131 650 3970 carne.burke@ed.ac.uk
Technology Support Assistant - AV John Glendinning +44 (0)131 650 3971 j.glendinning@ed.ac.uk
Resource Centre and AV Support Administrator Tom Napper +44 (0)131 650 3974

tom.napper@ed.ac.uk

Learning Technologist Renée Marx +44 (0)131 650 3973 renee.marx@ed.ac.uk
Learning Technology Assistant Amadeo Rasul +44 (0)131 650 3976 amadeo.rasul@ed.ac.uk
Technology Support Officer Neil Young +44 (0)131 650 3972 n.young@ed.ac.uk
Technology Support Assistant - IT Liam Neave +44 (0)131 650 3975 liam.neave@ed.ac.uk

Scottish Universities' International Summer School

SUISS Summer School Administrative Manager Lauren Pope +44 (0)131 650 4369 Lauren.Pope@ed.ac.uk