Literatures, Languages & Cultures

Academic officers and staff

Our academic officers, heads of research centres and staff lists for our departments and subject areas.

Heads of Department

Below please find the list of Heads of Department in the School of Literatures, Languages and Cultures for 2019/20:

Title Name Phone Email
Head of Asian Studies Prof Aaron Moore +44 (0)131 650 4225 aaron.moore@ed.ac.uk
Head of Celtic and Scottish Studies Dr Neill Martin +44 (0)131 651 1981 neill.martin@ed.ac.uk
Head of the Department of European Languages and Cultures Dr Véronique Desnain +44 (0)131 650 3054 veronique.desnain@ed.ac.uk
Head of English Literature Dr Alex Thomson +44 (0)131 650 3058 alex.thomson@ed.ac.uk
Head of Islamic and Middle Eastern Studies Dr Nacim Pak-Shiraz +44 (0)131 650 8432 nacim.pak-shiraz@ed.ac.uk

Research Centre contacts

Centre Name Phone Email
Alwaleed Centre Outreach Manager Tom Lea +44 (0)131 650 6686 tom.lea@ed.ac.uk
Alwaleed Outreach and Projects Coordinator Nadin Akta +44 (0)131 650 4165 nadin.akta@ed.ac.uk
Confucius Institute General Manager Wendy (Siwei Liu) Green +44 (0)131 662 2184 wendy.green@ed.ac.uk
Confucius Institute Partnership Manager Jie Chen +44 (0)131 662 2182 jie.chen@ed.ac.uk
Confucius Institute Operations and Marketing Officer Xin Zhang +44 (0)131 662 2180

xzhang23@staffmail.ed.ac.uk

Confucius Institute Assistant Administrator Calum Gibb +44 (0)131 662 2180

calum.gibb@ed.ac.uk

Dashkova Centre

 

+44 (0)131 650 9902 dashkova.centre@ed.ac.uk

Academic Officers

Title Name Phone Email
Director of Learning and Teaching (Undergraduate and Postgraduate) Dr Chris Perkins +44 (0)131 650 4174 chris.perkins@ed.ac.uk
Postgraduate Research Director Dr David Sorfa +44 (0)131 650 3637 david.sorfa@ed.ac.uk
Senior Tutor Dr Daniel Hammond +44 (0)131 650 6941 daniel.hammond@ed.ac.uk
Director of Research Professor Greg Walker +44 (0)131 650 3049

greg.walker@ed.ac.uk

Academic Misconduct Officer Dr Séverine Genieys-Kirk +44 (0)131 651 1734 s.g.kirk@ed.ac.uk
Ethics Officer Dr Mark McLeister +44 (0)131 650 4232 mark.mcleister@ed.ac.uk
Director of People & Equalities Professor Celeste-Marie Bernier +44 (0)131 650 3521 celeste-marie.bernier@ed.ac.uk
Director of Quality and Convenor of School QAE Committee  Dr Katherine Inglis +44 (0)131 650 3617 k.inglis@ed.ac.uk
Director of Outreach and Widening Participation Annette Götzkes +44 (0)131 650 3604 a.gotzkes@ed.ac.uk
Senior Disability Coordinator Dr Neill Martin +44 (0)131 651 1981 neill.martin@ed.ac.uk
Convenor of UG Board of Studies Dr Iona Macintyre +44 (0)131 650 3641 iona.macintyre@ed.ac.uk
Library Committee Representative Dr Alan MacNiven +44 (0)131 650 3279 alan.macniven@ed.ac.uk
Knowledge Exchange & Impact Director Dr David Farrier +44 (0)131 651 7112 david.farrier@ed.ac.uk

Academic Subject Officers

Below please find the list of Subject Officers in the School of Literatures, Languages and Cultures for 2019/20:

Title Name Phone Email
Asian Studies PG Officer     Dr Christopher Rosenmeier     +44 (0)131 650 4357 christopher.rosenmeier@ed.ac.uk
Celtic & Scottish Studies PG Officer     TBD        
Dept of European Languages PG Officer     Dr Frauke Matthes     +44 (0)131 650 4024 Frauke.Matthes@ed.ac.uk    
English Literature PG Officer (PhD)     Dr Tim Milnes     +44 (0)131 650 3616 tim.milnes@ed.ac.uk    
English Literature PG Officer (MScR and MScT)     Dr Aaron Kelly     +44 (0)131 650 3071 aaron.kelly@ed.ac.uk    
Islamic & Middle Eastern Studies PG Officer     Dr Anthony Gorman     +44 (0)131 650 4183 anthony.gorman@ed.ac.uk    

Programme Directors

Below please find the list of Programme Directors for the MSc Taught programmes in the School of Literatures, Languages and Cultures for 2019/20:

Title Name Phone Email

MSc Advanced Arabic

Dr Marie Legendre   marie.legendre@ed.ac.uk
MSc Book History & Material Culture     Professor Tom Mole     +44 (0) 131 650 4283 Tom.Mole@ed.ac.uk
MSc Celtic & Scottish Studies Professor Rob Dunbar +44 (0)131 650 3621 Rob.Dunbar@ed.ac.uk
MSc Chinese Society & Culture     Dr Christopher Rosenmeier +44 (0)131 650 4357 christopher.rosenmeier@ed.ac.uk
MCS Chinese Studies     Dr Christopher Rosenmeier +44 (0)131 650 4357 christopher.rosenmeier@ed.ac.uk
MSc Comparative Literature     Dr Adam Budd     +44 (0)131 650 3834 adam.budd@ed.ac.uk

MSc Creative Writing (Semester 1)

Dr Alan Gillis +44 (0)131 650 3050 Alan.Gillis@ed.ac.uk
MSc Creative Writing  (Semester 2) Jane McKie     +44 (0) 131 650 3899     Jane.McKie@ed.ac.uk
MSc East Asian Relations     Professor Aaron Moore     +44 (0) 131 650 4225     aaron.moore@ed.ac.uk
MSc Film, Exhibition & Curation (co-director)     Susan Kemp     +44 (0) 131 650 2945     S.A.Kemp@ed.ac.uk
MSc Film, Exhibition & Curation (co-director)     Jane Sillars     +44 (0) 131 650 2945     Jane.Sillars@ed.ac.uk
MSc Film Studies     Dr David Sorfa     +44 (0) 131 650 3637     David.Sorfa@ed.ac.uk
MSc Islamic and Middle Eastern Studies     Prof Andrew Newman +44 (0)131 650 4178 A.Newman@ed.ac.uk
MSc Japanese Society & Culture     Dr Ian Astley     +44 (0) 131 651 1358     Ian.Astley@ed.ac.uk
MSc Korean Studies Dr Youngmi Kim +44 (0)131 651 1363 Youngmi.Kim@ed.ac.uk
MSc Literature & Modernity     Dr Ken Millard     +44 (0) 131 650 6875     K.Millard@ed.ac.uk
MSc Literature & Society Dr Bob Irvine     +44 (0) 131 650 3605     R.P.Irvine@ed.ac.uk
MSc Medieval Literatures & Cultures     Dr Fionnùala Sinclair +44 (0)131 650 8423 Finn.Sinclair@ed.ac.uk
MSc Middle Eastern Studies with Arabic     Dr Marie Legendre   marie.legendre@ed.ac.uk
MSc Middle Eastern Studies with Advanced Arabic     Dr Marie Legendre        marie.legendre@ed.ac.uk
MSc Persian Civilisation     Prof Andrew Newman     +44 (0)131 650 4178     A.Newman@ed.ac.uk
MSc Playwriting     Nicola McCartney     +44 (0) 131 650 3629     Nicola.McCartney@ed.ac.uk
MSc Theatre & Performance Studies (Semester 1) Professor James Loxley     +44 (0) 131 650 3610     James.Loxley@ed.ac.uk
MSc Theatre & Performance Studies (Semester 2) Dr Séverine Genieys-Kirk +44 (0)131 651 1734 S.G.Kirk@ed.ac.uk
MSc Translation Studies     Dr Hephzibah Israel +44 (0)131 650 4467 H.Israel@ed.ac.uk
MSc US Literature    Dr Lee Spinks +44 (0)131 650 3616 Lee.Spinks@ed.ac.uk

Staff by subject area