Literatures, Languages & Cultures

Academic officers and staff

Our academic officers, heads of research centres and staff lists for our departments and subject areas.

Heads of Department

Title Name Phone Email
Head of Asian Studies Prof Joachim Gentz +44 (0)131 650 3681 joachim.gentz@ed.ac.uk
Head of Celtic and Scottish Studies Dr Neill Martin +44 (0)131 651 1981 neill.martin@ed.ac.uk
Head of the Department of European Languages and Cultures Dr Véronique Desnain +44 (0)131 650 3054 veronique.desnain@ed.ac.uk
Head of English Literature Dr Andrew Taylor +44 (0)131 650 4584 andrew.taylor@ed.ac.uk
Head of Islamic and Middle Eastern Studies Dr Nacim Pak-Shiraz +44 (0)131 650 8432 nacim.pak-shiraz@ed.ac.uk

Research Centre contacts

Centre Name Phone Email
Alwaleed Centre Outreach Manager Tom Lea +44 (0)131 650 6686 tom.lea@ed.ac.uk
Alwaleed Centre Administrator Lilly Jenkins +44 (0)131 650 4165 lilly.jenkins@ed.ac.uk
Confucius Institute General Manager Annabel Allen (as of 01/08/2018) +44 (0)131 662 2184 TBA
Confucius Institute Business Development Manager Jie Chen +44 (0)131 662 2182 jie.chen@ed.ac.uk
Confucius Institute Administrative Assistant Xin Zhang +44 (0)131 662 2180 xzhang23@staffmail.ed.ac.uk
Dashkova Centre Manager Gesine Argent +44 (0)131 650 9902 gesine.argent@ed.ac.uk
SUISS Administrator Rhiannon da Cunha +44 (0)131 650 4369 rdacunh@exseed.ed.ac.uk

Academic Officers

Title Name Phone Email
Undergraduate Director Dr Chris Perkins +44 (0)131 650 4174 chris.perkins@ed.ac.uk
Postgraduate Director Dr Michelle Keown +44 (0)131 650 6856 michelle.keown@ed.ac.uk
Deputy Postgraduate Director Dr Claire Boyle +44 (0)131 650 3615

claire.boyle@ed.ac.uk

Senior Tutor Dr Daniel Hammond +44 (0)131 650 6941 daniel.hammond@ed.ac.uk
Director of Research Professor James Loxley +44 (0)131 650 3610 james.loxley@ed.ac.uk
Academic Misconduct Officer Dr Emmanuelle Lacore-Martin +44 (0)131 651 1148 e.martin@ed.ac.uk
Health and Safety Representative Dr José Saval +44 (0)131 650 3675 jose.saval@ed.ac.uk
Director of People & Equalities Professor Celeste-Marie Bernier +44 (0)131 650 3521 celeste-marie.bernier@ed.ac.uk
Director of Quality and Convenor of School QAE Committee Dr Katherine Inglis +44 (0)131 650 3617

k.inglis@ed.ac.uk

Senior Disability Coordinator Dr Neill Martin +44 (0)131 651 1981 neill.martin@ed.ac.uk
Convenor of UG Board of Studies Dr Iona Macintyre +44 (0)131 650 3641 iona.macintyre@ed.ac.uk
Library Committee Representative Dr Alan MacNiven +44 (0)131 650 3279 alan.macniven@ed.ac.uk
Knowledge Exchange & Impact Director Dr David Farrier +44 (0)131 651 7112 david.farrier@ed.ac.uk

Staff by subject area