Celtic & Scottish Studies

Staff

Get to know the team in Celtic and Scottish Studies.

Many of us work on a hybrid basis - a mixture of on-campus and digitally.

Our working hours are Monday to Friday between 9am and 5pm (UK time).

Please email us in the first instance, and we’ll get back to you as soon as we can.

Undergraduate enquiries

Email us about undergraduate study in Celtic and Scottish Studies

Postgraduate enquiries

Email us about postgraduate research in Celtic and Scottish Studies

Head of Celtic and Scottish Studies

Name (sorted in ascending order) Role Email Phone number
Neill Martin Head of Department, Senior Lecturer in Scottish Ethnology, Director of the European Ethnological Research Centre Neill.Martin@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 651 1981

Administrative and support staff

Name (sorted in ascending order) Role Email Phone number
Annie Kelly Senior Administrator annie.kelly@ed.ac.uk +44 (0) 131 650 4167
Mr Callum Lennie Learning and Teaching Administrator Callum.Lennie@ed.ac.uk
Vivien Macnish Porter Undergraduate Administrator Vivien.Macnish-Porter@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 650 3528

Academic staff

Name (sorted in descending order) Role Email Phone number
Rob Dunbar Chair of Celtic Languages, Literature, History and Antiquities Rob.Dunbar@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 650 3621
Fraser Fifield Traditional Artist in Residence Fraser.Fifield@ed.ac.uk
Anja Gunderloch Lecturer in Celtic A.Gunderloch@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 651 1374
William Lamb Professor in Gaelic Ethnology and Linguistics / EFI Research Affiliate W.Lamb@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 650 3624
Joan MacDonald Teaching Fellow Joan.MacDonald@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 650 3601
Neill Martin Head of Department, Senior Lecturer in Scottish Ethnology, Director of the European Ethnological Research Centre Neill.Martin@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 651 1981
Dr Kate Louise Mathis Lecturer in Celtic Kate.Mathis@ed.ac.uk
Willow Mullins Lecturer in Scottish Ethnology Willow.Mullins@ed.ac.uk
Lori Watson Lecturer in Scottish Ethnology Lori.watson@ed.ac.uk 0131 650 8415

Tutors

Research Fellows

Name (sorted in ascending order) Role Email Phone number
Mark Mulhern Research Fellow Mark.Mulhern@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 650 4160
Kenneth Veitch Research Fellow Kenneth.Veitch@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 650 3626

Honorary Fellows

Name Email
Ronald Black  

Virginia Blankenhorn

Virginia.Blankenhorn@ed.ac.uk
Shari Cohn  

William Gillies

W.Gillies@ed.ac.uk

Greta-Mary Hair

GretaMary.Hair@ed.ac.uk

Emily Lyle

E.Lyle@ed.ac.uk

Margaret Mackay

Margaret.A.Mackay@ed.ac.uk
John Stuart-Murray