Celtic & Scottish Studies

AHRC Award for Postgraduate Training

PhD Studentships from the AHRC Centre for Doctoral Training in Celtic Languages

Gaelic Version: Tionndadh Gàidhlig

Scottish castle against mountains background

The University of Edinburgh is part of a consortium of twelve institutions which has been awarded funding in the amount of £1.85 million from the Arts and Humanities Research Council (AHRC) to support postgraduate studentships and training in Celtic Languages for 2014-19. Under the Centres for Doctoral Training (CDT) scheme, the consortium, comprised of Bangor University, Queen’s University Belfast, Swansea University, the Universities of Aberdeen, Cambridge, Edinburgh, Glasgow, Oxford, Ulster, the University of the Highlands and Islands, the University of Wales Centre for Advanced Welsh and Celtic Studies, and the University of Wales Trinity Saint David, will consider applications for postgraduate studentships in Celtic Languages.

The website for the CDT in the Celtic Languages, which gives full details on the application procedure can be found here:

CDT in the Celtic Languages

In 2018/19, the CDT in Celtic Languages will fund approximately 5 studentships, which may be held at any one of our consortium HEIs. Supervision across two HEIs is also strongly encouraged, and should be explored prior to completing your application, but you must be primarily admitted to one HEI, which will be your host institution and which will complete the institutional statement of support.

Applicants for CDT studentships must hold a conditional or unconditional offer of a place on a PhD programme at one of the consortium’s Higher Education Institutions (HEIs). Applicants must be nominated for a CDT studentship by the host institution. Institutions will select their nominations by Monday, 6 February 2018 at the latest.


  • Candidates will normally hold a relevant First Class Honours degree (such as BA, MS BMus, BSc, LLB, or, in Scotland, MA) and preferably a similar calibre of Master’s degree.
  • If you have been ordinarily resident in the UK for the three year period preceding the start-date of your proposed postgraduate programme, you may be eligible to apply for a full award, which pays your tuition fees and a maintenance grant. If you are from a European Union country, other than the UK, and you have been resident in an EU country for a period of three years preceding the start of your proposed study, you may be eligible for a fees-only award, which pays your tuition fees, but does not provide a maintenance grant.
  • If you are resident neither in the UK nor in another EU country, you are not eligible to apply for an AHRC studentship.

Applying for Admission

Completed PhD applications should be made via the University of Edinburgh online application system by  4th December 2017 in order to ensure that your PhD application is processed in time for consideration within a very tight selection timescale.

Apply here