Institute for Academic Development
Institute for Academic Development

Secondees

A short summary of each secondee's work area plus their contact details.

We are pleased to host secondees from across the University, working on a variety of projects and themes.

If you would like further information, or would like to enquire about a secondment with us, please read the information on secondments in our 'working with us' section. You may also contact our Director, Jon Turner.

Dr Jon Turner

Director, Institute for Academic Development

Contact details

Secondees and their contacts

Dr Thomas Bak

Thomas's project is: Challenges & opportunities of a global university: optimising support for staff & students

Email: thomas.bak@ed.ac.uk

Dr Pete Evans

Pete's project is 'Teaching & Learning Future Resilience'

Email: peter.evans@ed.ac.uk

Professor Suzanne Ewing - Edinburgh College of Art

Suzanne's project is 'The good project: an exploration of the politics, cultures, habits and constituents of ‘the project’ and project-based learning in higher education + potential for modelling future working practice and interdisciplinary learning-doing.'

Email: kasia.banas@ed.ac.uk

Professor Dave Laurenson

Dave's project is School of Engineering Curriculum Review

Email: dave.laurenson@ed.ac.uk

Professor Robbie Nicol

Robbie's project is: 'Residential Education Centre development proposal, and research & dissemination activities around emotional literacy'

Email: robbie.nicol@ed.ac.uk

Dr Katie Nicoll Baines - School of Chemistry

Katies's project is 'Evidence Base: Growing the Big Grant Club'

Email: k.nicollbaines@ed.ac.uk

Dr Emily Porth

Emily's project is 'Evidence Base: Growing the Big Grant Club'

Email: emily.porth@ed.ac.uk

Dr Simon Riley – Edinburgh Medical School

Simon’s secondment project is “Every student a researcher, every researcher a teacher” – the ‘Teaching Vision’ strapline. He is also leading on the University’s Student-Led Independently Created Courses (SLICCS) work.

Email: simon.c.riley@ed.ac.uk

Amanda Singleton - Business School

Amanda's project is 'MBA Professional Development Review.

Email: amanda.singleton@ed.ac.uk

Dr Elizabeth Stevenson

Elizabeth's project is: 'Elements and Evidence of Value of Teaching'

Email: e.stevenson@ed.ac.uk

Former secondees

Our former secondees become Associates of the IAD; you can find out details of our Associates at: