Institute for Academic Development
Institute for Academic Development

IAD staff and contact email addresses

Contact details for our core staff, plus generic contact email addresses for a range of enquiries.

Our address

If you are looking for directions, please visit the 'how to find us' webpage

Institute for Academic Development

Contact details

Address

Street

1 Morgan Lane

City
Edinburgh
Post Code
EH8 8FP

Institute for Academic Development staff

If you are not sure who to contact, please use our generic contact email list further down the page, and select the email contact that best fits your enquiry.

IAD Director

Name Role Email Phone
Dr Jon Turner Director, Institute for Academic Development J.D.Turner@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 651 3585
  PA IAD.Director@ed.ac.uk  

Learning and Teaching team

Name Role Email Phone
Professor Velda McCune

Personal Chair of University Education

Deputy Director, IAD | Head of Learning and Teaching team

velda.McCune@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 651 4083
Dr Catherine Bovill Senior Lecturer in Student Engagement catherine.bovill@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 651 4516
Dr Hazel Christie

Lecturer (University Learning & Teaching)

hazel.christie@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 651 6669
Rayya Ghul Lecturer (University Learning & Teaching) rayya.ghul@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 651 7186
Lesley Kelly Academic Developer lesley.kelly@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 651 6129
Dr Neil Lent Lecturer (University Learning & Teaching) n.lent@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 651 7199
Dr Daphne Loads Academic Developer daphne.loads@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 651 4519
Dr Jenna Mann Academic Developer jenna.mann@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 651 4517
Hazel Marzetti Academic Developer, L&T Enhancement hazel.marzetti@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 651 7199
Celeste McLaughlin

Head of Academic Development for Digital Education

celeste.mclaughlin@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 651 4513
Diana Murdoch Research Assistant – Teachers as Agents of Change diana.murdoch@ed.ac.uk  
Dr Donna Murray Head of Taught Student Development donna.murray@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 650 5674
Emily Salvesen

CPD Programme Manager

emily.salvesen@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 651 6661
Dr Jenny Scoles Academic Developer, L&T Enhancement jenny.scoles@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 650 4606
Dr Kay Williams Study Development Advisor kay.williams@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 651 4522

Researcher Development team

Name Role Email Phone
Dr Sara Shinton Assistant Director, IAD | Head of Researcher Development team sara.shinton@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 650 7002
Dr Aaron Allen Academic Developer [maternity cover] aaron.allen@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 651 6657
Nicola Cuthbert Researcher Development Manager n.cuthbert@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 650 5395
Dr Sharon Maguire Careers Consultant - on secondment into IAD sharon.maguire@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 650 9084
Dr Fiona Murray Public Engagement Manager f.murray@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 650 4874
Dr Fiona Philippi Deputy Head of Researcher Development | Head of Doctoral Education fiona.philippi@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 650 9084
Dr Evgeniya Plotnikova Academic Developer [maternity cover] evgeniya.plotnikova@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 651 6657
Dr Fiona Quinlan-Pluck Academic Developer fiona.quinlan-pluck@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 651 6657
Dr Heather Rea Public Engagement Coordinator   h.j.rea@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 650 4875
Dr Emily Woollen Academic Developer e.woollen@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 651 6657

Operations and Projects team

Name Role Email Phone
  Assistant Director,  IAD | Head of Operations and Projects - post vacant    
Cindy Begg Finance Officer

cindy.begg@ed.ac.uk

Finance: iad.finance@ed.ac.uk

+44 (0)131 650 9590
Rosie Bree Head of Event Management rosie.bree@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 651 4514
Julie Daubenspeck Administrative Officer julie.daubenspeck@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 651 6662
Jamie Donoghue Administrative Officer Jamie.donoghue@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 650 6510
Hope Hamilton Administration Assistant – Modern Apprenticeship hope.hamilton@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 651 7520
Emma Lucas Senior Administrative Officer emma.lucas@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 651 7188
Louise McKay Programme Manager – Doctoral Provision louise.mckay@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 651 7189
Christy Macleod Events Administrator christy.macleod@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 651 4518
Karsten Moerman IT Manager karsten.moerman@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 650 7267
Natalie Poyser

Senior Admin Officer – Business Operations

natalie.poyser@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 651 4515
Theodora Sakellaridou Projects & Engagement Administrator theodora.sakellaridou@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 651 3598
Andy Street Senior Administrative Officer andrew.street@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 650 4605
Sarah Thomas Communications Officer sarah.thomas@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 651 7198
Jennifer Williams Projects & Engagement Coordinator j.l.williams@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 651 7147

Contact email addresses for specific enquiries

These in-boxes are checked by various IAD staff.

Nature of enquiry Email inbox (manned by IAD staff)

IAD workshops and resources for undergraduate students and taught postgraduates. (Not 1-1 study skills advice).

iad.students@ed.ac.uk

IAD 1-1 study skills advice appointments only. (For undergraduate and taught postgraduate students.)

iad.study@ed.ac.uk

IAD workshops, events and resources for postgraduate research students, including GRADSchool and 3 Minute Thesis competition.

iad.phd@ed.ac.uk

IAD workshops and resources for academic research staff and Principal Investigators, including the Get Connected Welcome Event for new academics.

iad.researchers@ed.ac.uk

IAD workshops, resources and network for postgraduate research supervisors, including our Supervisor Briefing sessions.

iad.phdsupervisors@ed.ac.uk

IAD workshops and resources for tutors and demonstrators, including the Introduction to Academic Practice (IntroAP).

iad.tutdem@ed.ac.uk

IAD workshops, events, staff networks, resources and online guidance for staff in learning and teaching roles. Includes enquiries about the Principal's Teaching Award Scheme (PTAS).

iad.teach@ed.ac.uk

Continuing Professional Development Framework for Learning and Teaching, routes to gaining HEA Fellowship, and the Edinburgh Teaching Award (EdTA).

iad.cpdframework@ed.ac.uk

The Postgradute Certificate in Academic Practice (PgCAP), including from prospective and on-programme students.

iad.pgcert@ed.ac.uk

How the IAD supports staff teaching in online learning contexts.

IAD.ODLstaff@ed.ac.uk

About the IAD Action Fund, and also about IAD funding in general (i.e. what schemes are available / what they can fund.)

iad.funding@ed.ac.uk
Enquiries about the Festival of Creative Learning

creative.learning@ed.ac.uk

Enquiries about the University’s Learning and Teaching Conference

lt.conference@ed.ac.uk