Institute for Academic Development
Institute for Academic Development

IAD staff and contact email addresses

Contact details for our core staff, plus generic contact email addresses for a range of enquiries.

Update on getting in touch with us

The Institute for Academic Development continues to offer a mix of online and on-campus activities to staff and students. During AY22/23, we will be running an increased number of on-campus options compared to the last couple of years. Do therefore check workshop and event information carefully when booking, to be sure of the mode of delivery.

Institute for Academic Development staff are working in a hybrid manner with most staff working part-time on-campus. For enquiries it is generally best to contact staff by email in the first instance. It is generally best to visit the IAD building in person only if you have been invited in for a specific meeting or appointment.

Our address

Institute for Academic Development

Contact details

Address

Street

1 Morgan Lane

City
Edinburgh
Post Code
EH8 8FP

Institute for Academic Development staff

If you are not sure who to contact, please use our generic contact email list further down the page, and select the email contact that best fits your enquiry.

IAD Director

Name Role Email Phone
Dr Jon Turner Director, Institute for Academic Development J.D.Turner@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 651 3585
  PA IAD.Director@ed.ac.uk  

Learning and Teaching team

Name Role Email Phone
Professor Velda McCune

Personal Chair of University Education

Deputy Director, IAD | Head of Learning and Teaching team

velda.mccune@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 651 4083
Dr Aaron Allen Academic Developer, Taught Students aaron.allen@ed.ac.uk  
Professor Catherine Bovill

Personal Chair of Student Engagement in Higher Education

catherine.bovill@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 651 4516
Dr Hazel Christie

Head of the CPD Framework for Learning and Teaching / Senior Lecturer

hazel.christie@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 651 6669
Dr Jackie Dohaney Academic Developer j.dohaney@ed.ac.uk  
Callum Ferguson Study Development Advisor callum.ferguson@ed.ac.uk  

Joséphine Foucher

Teaching Matters and Student Engagement PhD Intern josephine.foucher@ed.ac.uk  
Rayya Ghul Lecturer (University Learning & Teaching) rayya.ghul@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 651 7186
Lesley Kelly Academic Developer lesley.kelly@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 651 6129
Dr Neil Lent Lecturer (University Learning & Teaching) n.lent@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 651 7199
Dr Jenna Mann Academic Developer jenna.mann@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 651 4517
Celeste McLaughlin

Head of Academic Development for Digital Education

celeste.mclaughlin@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 651 4513
Dr Donna Murray Head of Taught Student Development donna.murray@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 650 5674
Emily Salvesen

CPD Programme Manager

emily.salvesen@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 651 6661
Dr Jenny Scoles Academic Developer, L&T Enhancement jenny.scoles@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 650 4606

Researcher Development team

Name Role Email Phone
Dr Sara Shinton Assistant Director, IAD | Head of Researcher Development team sara.shinton@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 650 7002
Nicola Cuthbert Researcher Development Manager n.cuthbert@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 650 5395
Eleanor Hennige Research Staff Careers Consultant eleanor.hennige@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 650 9084
Bridget Mellifont Community Manager – Future Leaders Fellows Development Network b.mellifont@ed.ac.uk  
Dr Katie Nicoll Baines EDI Manager – Future Leaders Fellows Development Network k.nicollbaines@ed.ac.uk  
Dr Fiona Philippi Deputy Head of Researcher Development | Head of Doctoral Education fiona.philippi@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 650 9084
Dr Anna Pilz Academic Developer and Trainer: Researcher Development anna.pilz@ed.ac.uk  
Dr Fiona Quinlan-Pluck Academic Developer f.quinlan-pluck@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 651 6657
Dr Emily Woollen Academic Developer e.woollen@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 651 6657

Operations and Projects team

Name Role Email Phone
Olivia Eadie Assistant Director,  IAD | Head of Operations and Projects olivia.eadie@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 651 7143
Amy Aukland Learning & Teaching Conference PhD Intern amy.aukland@ed.ac.uk  
Clare Barrie Communications Officer - Future Leaders Fellows Development Network clare.barrie@ed.ac.uk  
Julie Daubenspeck Senior Administrative Officer julie.daubenspeck@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 651 6662
Jamie Donoghue Senior Administrative Officer

Jamie.donoghue@ed.ac.uk

Finance: iad.finance@ed.ac.uk

+44 (0)131 650 6510
Lisa Guenther Project Co-ordinator - Future Leaders Fellows Development Network lisa.guenther@ed.ac.uk  
Bel Ingham Events Administrator bel.ingham@ed.ac.uk  
Corrie Jackson-Levrier Events Administrator corrie.jackson@ed.ac.uk  
Louise McKay Events Operations and Doctoral Programme Manager louise.mckay@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 651 7189
Christy Macleod Events Administrator christy.macleod@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 651 4518
Karsten Moerman IT Manager karsten.moerman@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 650 7267
Carla Perera Administrative Officer carla.perera@ed.ac.uk  
Natalie Poyser

Senior Admin Officer – Business Operations

natalie.poyser@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 651 4515
Theodora Sakellaridou Senior Admin Officer - Projects & Engagement theodora.sakellaridou@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 651 3598
Andy Street Senior Administrative Officer andrew.street@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 650 4605
Cheryl Thomas Project Manager - Future Leaders Fellows Development Network cheryl.thomas@ed.ac.uk  

Contact email addresses for specific enquiries

These in-boxes are checked by various IAD staff.

Nature of enquiry Email inbox (monitored by IAD staff)

IAD workshops and resources for undergraduate students and taught postgraduates. (Not 1-1 study skills advice).

iad.students@ed.ac.uk

IAD 1-1 study skills advice appointments only. (For undergraduate and taught postgraduate students.)

iad.study@ed.ac.uk

IAD workshops, events and resources for postgraduate research students, including GRADSchool and 3 Minute Thesis competition.

iad.phd@ed.ac.uk

IAD workshops and resources for academic research staff and Principal Investigators, including the Get Connected Welcome Event for new academics.

iad.researchers@ed.ac.uk

IAD workshops, resources and network for postgraduate research supervisors, including our Supervisor Briefing sessions.

iad.phdsupervisors@ed.ac.uk

IAD workshops and resources for tutors and demonstrators, including the Introduction to Academic Practice (IntroAP).

iad.tutdem@ed.ac.uk

IAD workshops, events, staff networks, resources and online guidance for staff in learning and teaching roles. Includes enquiries about the Principal's Teaching Award Scheme (PTAS).

iad.teach@ed.ac.uk

Continuing Professional Development Framework for Learning and Teaching, routes to gaining HEA Fellowship, and the Edinburgh Teaching Award (EdTA).

iad.cpdframework@ed.ac.uk

The Postgradute Certificate in Academic Practice (PgCAP), including from prospective and on-programme students.

iad.pgcert@ed.ac.uk

How the IAD supports staff teaching in online learning contexts.

iad.digitaleducation@ed.ac.uk

About the IAD Action Fund, and also about IAD funding in general (i.e. what schemes are available / what they can fund.)

iad.funding@ed.ac.uk

Enquiries about the University’s Learning and Teaching Conference

lt.conference@ed.ac.uk