Institute for Academic Development
Institute for Academic Development

Three Minute Thesis Final - winners announcement & finalists' videos

Announcing the winners of the Three Minute Thesis final 2020.

The Three Minute Thesis (3MT) competition requires doctoral researchers to compete to deliver the best research presentation in just three minutes - and with just one slide!

This year's finalists

Nine finalists were selected from across all three Colleges. They are:

Name School
Caroline Allen Edinburgh Medical School
Yael Ben-Tal School of Chemistry
Carol Chermaz School of Informatics
Luke Darlow School of Informatics
Jessie Fubara-Manuel School of Divinity
Zahra Jaffer Haji School of Law
Bertalan Józsa School of Divinity
Sarah Neely Edinburgh Medical School

Katherine Ross Stewart

Centre for Cardiovascular Science

And the winners are...

First Place: Jessie Fubara-Manuel with her presentation 'Enabled by Faith: Facing the Challenges of Gender, Disability and HIV in Nigeria'

Runner Up: Luke Darlow with his presentation 'The Tale of the Lazy Learning Machine'

People's Choice: Katherine Ross Stewart with her presentation 'Heart Attack: Fishing for a Cure'

Well done Jessie, Luke and Katherine!

Watch the videos now

You can watch all nine videos at:

Three Minute Thesis Final 2020 - watch the finalists' presentations