Information Services

About the Collection Team

The Sir Charles Lyell Collection team - who we are, what we do and contact information

Lyell Rocks

The Sir Charles Lyell Collection team is made up of cohort of professional curatorial, conservation, photography, public access and engagement staff. Our work is enhanced by the support of volunteers and student interns. Together, we work collaboratively to preserve, conserve, interpret, catalogue, digitise, transcribe and provide access to and engagement with the Sir Charles Lyell Collection. In doing this work we aim to make this internationally significant and unique collection accessible to all, further enabling its position as a vital resource for teaching, research and public engagement. 

We are very grateful to be supported and guided by a very knowledgeable and experienced advisory board. Our advisory board is made up of a range of internal and external academics, as well as a number of directors of Earth Science and related collections from across the United Kingdom. You can see a full list of key team members, and details of our advisory board membership below.

Strategic oversight of the Sir Charles Lyell Collection (collections management, access and engagement):

Daryl Green
Head of Special Collections / Deputy Head of Centre for Research Collections Tel: 0131 650 6864


To discuss how support is making the collections accessible, please contact:

David McClay
Philanthropy Manager - Library & University Collections Development and Alumni
Tel: 07815 903 725 / 0131 650 2886 / 0131 650 6309

View David's Profile


The Charles Lyell Advisory Board

The Advisory Board is pleased to volunteer its assistance in helping the University of Edinburgh make available for research and public engagement this globally important historical archive and geological collection.

Board statement by Charles Withers
  • Professor Charles W. J. Withers FBA FRSE

       (Emeritus Professor of Historical Geography, University of Edinburgh, Geographer Royal for Scotland)

Board members
  • Dr Sam Alberti PhD FRSSA                                        

       (Keeper of Science & Technology, National Museums Scotland)

  • Dr Hermione Cockburn FRSE FRSGS                                        

       (Scientific Director, Dynamic Earth)

  • Professor Richard Fortey FRS FRSL                                        

       (Natural History Museum London - Emeritus)

  • Professor Aileen Fyfe FRHistS FHEA                                        

       (Professor of Modern History, University of St Andrews)

  • Professor Richard Herrington                                        

       (Head of Earth Sciences, Natural History Museum London)

  • Ms Eliza Howlett                                        

       (Head of Earth Collections, Oxford University Museum of Natural History)

  • Professor Sandra Kemp                                        

       (Director, The Ruskin-Library, Museum and Research Centre)

  • Professor James A. Secord FBA FRHistS                                        

       (Director, Darwin Correspondence Project; Emeritus Professor, Department of History and Philosophy of Science, University of Cambridge)

  • Ms Maggie Simmons FGS                                        

       (Director of Publishing, The Geological Society of London)

  • Professor John Underhill FGS FRSE                                         

       (Professor of Exploration Geoscience, Heriot-Watt University)

  • Mr Daryl Green FSA                                        

       (Head of Special Collections, Centre for Research Collections)

  • Mr David McClay                                        

       (Philanthropy Manager, Library & University Collections)