Information Services

Blackboard Collaborate via Learn and Moodle

Blackboard Collaborate can be used by staff and students for an interactive online seminar or virtual classroom and is integrated with University VLEs (Learn and Moodle).

It can be used for a one-to-one meeting, tutorial space, student discussions or an informal chat.

Can I use Collaborate?

All staff who have access to a University VLE (Learn and Moodle) will be able to create a Virtual Classroom within their course(s). Students on these courses can participate in the Virtual Classroom.

 

How do I invite an external user to a Virtual Classroom?

When a Virtual Classroom has been created in a VLE a guest URL can be copied and emailed to users or used as a web page link. The guest URL is available to be copied and shared when you are within the Virtual Classroom session.

Please see the following webpages for  instructions on how to find the guest URL:

Virtual Classroom - Learn

Virtual Classroom - Moodle

What do I need to use Collaborate and attend a Virtual Classroom?

Required: All that is required to access Collaborate is a workstation (or a supported mobile device) with sound card and internet access, preferably broadband.

 

Highly Desirable: To allow for a more interactive session a microphone and webcam are highly desirable.

We recommend that a week prior to accessing a session that users visit the Session Preparation & Checklist page.

Session Preparation & Checklist

Supported mobile devices

What Roles are available in the Virtual Classroom?

When creating a Virtual Classroom it is important to understand the available roles that can be assigned to users. There are 4 available roles in a Collaborate Virtual Classroom:

Roles within Collaborate

How to Manage Participants

Moderator: Have full control over what is being shared. They can remove participants from a session but not moderators.

Participant: The moderator of the session determines participants’ privileges to use chat, video, audio, and draw on the whiteboard.

Within the Blackboard Collaborate session there are two further roles which you can promote users to.

Presenters: Role is designed to allow students to present without giving them moderator privileges.  Can upload, share, edit and stop sharing content. Can see hand raise notification and can lower hands.

Closed Captioner: Provides accessible learning experience for students who are deaf or hard of hearing, also for students whose native language is different from that being spoken in the session. The captioner types what is being said in real time.

How do I create and access a Virtual Classroom?

A Collaborate Virtual Classroom can be created and accessed via your University VLE.

Virtual Classroom - Learn

Virtual Classroom - Moodle

Can the Virtual Classroom be recorded?

The Virtual Classroom can be recorded. The recordings will be visible in the VLE it was created in after the session has ended.  The recordings will download as an MP4 file and can be saved locally and shared or archived. Please see the Recording and Storage Management page for more details:

Recording and Storage Management

 

If you require further assistance:

Blackboard Help : Collaborate Homepage