School of Informatics

Research scholarships - UK students

Scholarship information for UK postgraduate research students.

Edinburgh Doctoral College Scholarships (EDCS)

The scheme is highly competitive and applicants must be of outstanding academic merit and research potential. Candidates are selected and ranked at School level, based on the strength and quality of their PhD application, research proposal, references and scholarship application.

Candidates apply to the Scholarships Office, via the online scholarship application form which is located in EUCLID and can be accessed via the MyEd portal.

Edinburgh Doctoral College Scholarships - UK Students

Engineering and Physical Sciences Research Council (EPSRC) Awards

Each year, the School receives a number of EPSRC Doctoral Training Partnership (DTP) scholarships which can be used to support PhD students enrolling on a full time Informatics PhD programme.

Home/UK fee status students may be eligible for this funding under certain fee status and residency conditions.   Full funding, consisting of fees plus the national minimum stipend to cover living expenses.

Allocation of these scholarships are under the control of the Graduate School and decisions are usually made between January and March each year, for entry in September. A separate application is not required but a complete application for admission must have been received by the second round application deadline (usually end of January).  


Medical Research Council (MRC)

As with the EPSRC above.


Economic and Social Research Council (ESRC)

ESRC offers funding through its DTC network, which includes Edinburgh. As above, a separate application is not required but you should note on your admission application if you believe your background or research topic makes you eligible for funding from this source.

Scottish Graduate School of Social Science


Alan Turing Institute Scholarships

This scheme provides opportunities for the most promising postgraduate students to undertake collaborative 3.5-year PhD training based in both the Alan Turing Institute, and in one of the UK academic partners in Turing, of which Edinburgh is one. Candidates need to note their interest in this scholarship in their application, and highlight this in conversations with their potential supervisor. More information is available below.

ATI Scholarships

CASE studentships/ Knowledge Transfer Partnerships

EPSRC's Industrial CASE scheme provides funding for PhD students doing industrially-relevant research.

These awards are made to companies who then choose an academic partner to host the student. The company provides a co-supervisor and makes a financial contribution, and the student needs to spend at least 3 months over the PhD period working in the company.

IBM PhD Fellowships (for 2nd year students)

IBM runs an international competition for these fellowships. Students must already be enrolled for PhD study to be eligible.

Successful candidates receive a stipend plus fees for one year, renewable for up to two further years. They are also encouraged to spend time at an IBM research or development lab as a paid intern.

Candidates are selected on the basis of their potential for research excellence, the degree to which their technical interests align with those of IBM, and their academic progress to-date.

Microsoft Research European PhD scholarships

Microsoft Research runs an international competition for these scholarships. Awards are made to a supervisor for a specific research topic, whereupon the supervisor has up to a year to find a suitable student. Topics are restricted to a specific set of research areas and students cannot apply directly to Microsoft.

Google European Doctoral Fellowships (for 2nd year students)

Applicants for these fellowships are nominated from among students already undertaking a PhD in Informatics in mid-January; students cannot apply directly to Google.

Google Europe Anita Borg Memorial scholarships (female students only)

This scholarship scheme, run by Google, offers a 5000 euro scholarship for a single academic year. Only females are eligible.