Centre for Inflammation Research

Professor Hamish Simpson

Research interest in stem cells for musculoskeletal repair, musculoskeletal infection, novel cutting methodologies and impaired bone healing.

Professor Hamish Simpson

George Harrison Chair of Trauma and Orthopaedics

  • Centre for Inflammation Research

Contact details

Group Members

  • Christine Beadle – Clinical Trials Co-ordinator

  • Stephanie Collishaw – Laboratory Manager/Biomedical Scientist

  • Dr David Hamilton – Research Fellow

  • Aneta Luczak - Research Assistant

  • Deborah Macdonald – Database and Clinical Research Manager

  • Melanie Wheeldon - Research Assistant

Principal Supervisor:

  • Liam Yapp

  • Samantha Downie

  • Yoke Yue Chow

  • Jamie Nicholson

  • Murtadhah Mohammed Kurdi Jalal

  • Jerry Tsang

  • Alex Sehgal

Assistant Supervisor/Co-supervisor:

  • Joe Burnford

  • Louise Robiati


Professor Hamish Simpson is Professor of Orthopaedics & Trauma Department of Orthopaedic Surgery (George Harrison Law Chair of Orthopaedics at the University of Edinburgh) and Consultant Orthopaedic Surgeon in the Department of Orthopaedic Surgery in Edinburgh Royal Infirmary, specialising in limb reconstruction, musculoskeletal infection and paediatric deformity. He studied at the universities of Cambridge and Oxford. He carried out his surgical training in Oxford, Bath and Gloucester. Prior to his current appointment, he was Professor of Orthopaedics in Oxford and Fellow of St Peter's college, Oxford.

Research Overview

Research interest in stem cells for musculoskeletal repair, musculoskeletal infection, novel cutting methodologies and impaired bone healing.

Biographical Profile

  • Chair of the British Orthopaedic Association research committee

  • Chair of the research and education committee of the International Society of Fracture Repair
  • Editor-in-Chief of the Bone & Joint Research journal
  • Past Chair of the Scottish Committee for Orthopaedics and Trauma
  • Past president of the Combined Services Orthopaedic Society
  • Past president of the British Limb Reconstruction Society
  • Past president of the Association of Professors of Orthopaedic Surgery
  • Past president of the British Orthopaedic Research Society
  • He has supervised >50 doctoral theses

Honours and Awards

  • Hunterian Professor (RCS England)

  • King James IV Professor (RCS Edinburgh)

  • Robert Jones Lecturer (British Orthopaedic Association)

  • Honorary Fellowship of the British Orthopaedic Research Society

  • Honorary Fellowship of the American Orthopaedic Research Society

  • Fellow of International Orthopaedic Research Societies


  • Adeel Akhtar
  • Khalid Al-Hourani
  • Anish Amin
  • Rida Benfayed
  • Adib Bin Rosli
  • Gavin Brown
  • Rhys Clement
  • Nicholas Clement
  • Noel Conlisk
  • Graham Dall
  • Sarah Dawson
  • Finn Donaldson
  • Douglas Dunlop
  • Mark Gaston
  • Karlmeinrad Giesinger
  • Jerome Goffin
  • Ewan Goudie
  • Simon Graham
  • Maurice Griffin
  • David Hamilton
  • Natalia Harasymowicz
  • Brendan Hawes
  • Paul Hindle
  • Matthew Hope
  • Christina Huber
  • Paul Jenkins
  • Ross Jones
  • Michael Kelly
  • Georgia Kogianni
  • Judith Lane
  • Francesc Levrero Florencio
  • Tim Lin
  • Alisdair MacLeod
  • Preeti Mahankali-Rao
  • Leanora Mills
  • Alastair Murray
  • Dianne Murray
  • Sally-Anne Phillips
  • Gregory Robertson
  • Erin Ross
  • Terence Savaridas
  • Duncan Sharp
  • Innes Smith
  • Antonello Spadaccino
  • Tulyapruek Tawonsawatruk
  • Blair Tweedie
  • Philippe Vadillo
  • Rober Wallace
  • Hugh Waterson
  • Shuqiao Xie

Public Engagement Activities

Workshops on treatments for arthritis with patients and the public

Other Responsibilities

  • Continues to do regular NHS work with adults and paediatrics
  • Chair BOA Research Committee
  • Chair for Research & Education of the International Society of Fracture Repair of the ORS
  • Chair World Orthopaedic Research Congress 2022 
  • Editor-in-Chief Bone & Joint Research 

Current Collaborators

  • Pankaj
  • Andrew Hall
  • Bruno Peault
  • Sarah Howie
  • Maurice Gallagher
  • Brian Peterson
  • Mark Bradley
  • Margaret Lucas
  • Sandy Cochrane
  • Damien Walmsley
  • Pietro Valdestroni
  • Fabrice Pierron
  • Gordon Blunn
  • Richard Oreffo


Information on funding at Hamish Simpson's Research Explorer profile.