Centre for Inflammation Research

Associate members

Researchers whose primary affiliation is outside the CIR


Name Job Title
Dr Anne Astier MRC Academic Fellow
Professor Edwin JR van Beek SINAPSE Chair of Clinical Radiology, Director of Clinical Research Imaging Centre
Dr Chris Boyd

Gene Therapy Group Leader / Senior Research Fellow

Professor Mark Bradley

Professor of High-Throughput Chemical Biology

Dr David Collie

Group Leader, Roslin Institute

Dr Lesley Colvin Consultant / Reader in Pain Medicine
Dr Bryan Conway

Senior Clinical Lecturer       

Professor Charles ffrench-Constant Professor of Multiple Sclerosis Research
Professor Hilary Critchley

Professor of Reproductive Medicine, Head - Deanery of Clinical Sciences, Honorary Consultant in Obstetrics and Gynaecology

Professor Stuart Forbes

Director CRM, Professor of Transplantation and Regenerative Medicine, Consultant Hepatologist Scottish Liver Transplant Unit

Professor Lesley Forrester Professor of Stem Cell Differentiation, Postgraduate Director CRM
Professor James Garden Regius Professor of Clinical Surgery and Honorary Consultant Surgeon
Professor David Harrison

John Reid Chair of Pathology (University of St. Andrews), Honorary Chair (University of Edinburgh)

Mr Ewen Harrison Clinical Senior Lecturer and Honorary Consultant Surgeon
Professor Peter Hayes

Professor of Hepatology

Professor Adam Hill

Consultant Physician and Honorary Professor

Professor Sarah Howie Chair of Immunopathology
Professor David Hume

Professorial Research Fellow (University of Queensland)

Professor John Iredale Pro Vice-Chancellor (University of Bristol)
Professor William MacNee

Emeritus Professor and Respiratory Consultant

Professor Richard Mellanby Professor of Comparative Medicine
Professor John Mullins

Director of the BHF Centre for Research Excellence in Edinburgh

Professor John N Plevris

Professor, Hepatology Laboratory PI and Consultant

Professor David Porteous

Chair of Human Molecular Genetics & Medicine

Dr Scott Semple Reader
Professor Tariq Sethi

Professor in Respiratory Medicine (King's College London)

Professor John Simpson

Professor of Respiratory Medicine (University of Newcastle)

Dr William Wallace Cardiothoracic pathology and Head and neck pathology
Dr Richard Weller

Senior Lecturer, Dermatology

Professor Anna Williams

Professor of Regenerative Neurology, Scottish Senior Research Fellow and Honorary Consultant Neurologist