Centre for Inflammation Research

Professors elected as Fellows of the Royal Society of Edinburgh

March 2018: Professors Moira Whyte and Elaine Dzierzak have been elected as Fellows of the prestigious Royal Society of Edinburgh.

Professor  Whyte, Director of the MRC Centre for Inflammation Research and Sir John Crofton Professor of Respiratory Medicine, and Professor Dzierzak, Chair of Haematological Regeneration, will join  64 other new Fellows for 2018.

They willl help the Royal Society of Edinburgh (RSE) to continue its work in providing independent and expert advice to policymakers, support aspiring entrepreneurs, develop research capacity and leadership and engage with the public through engaging events.

The RSE, Scotland’s National Academy, contributes to the social, cultural and economic wellbeing of Scotland through the advancement of learning and useful knowledge.

Among the new Fellows are former Prime Minister and Chancellor of the Exchequer Gordon Brown, who since leaving politics has become a hugely respected advocate for a variety of humanitarian issues and global education; and the US-based philanthropist and former pianist, Carol Colburn Grigor, who has donated more than £30 million to the arts in Scotland and lent her support for a variety of arts campaigns in the UK. Both have been elected as Honorary Fellows.

The RSE, unusual amongst National Academies for its multi-disciplinary approach, continues to strengthen its Fellowship by appointing leading professionals from within the arts, business and public sector as well as within academia.



Professor Moira Whyte – Research Profile

Professor Elaine Dzierzak – Research Profile

Royal Society of Edinburgh (Main website)

Press release from RSE, and full list of 2018 Fellows (opens as PDF)