MRC Institute of Genetics & Molecular Medicine
MRC Institute of Genetics & Molecular Medicine

IGMM seminar series

The IGMM Seminar Series attracts distinguished scientists from around the world working in the fields of genetics, molecular medicine and cancer research, and whose research complements that being done at IGMM.

Unless stated, all seminars take place at 1pm in the IGMM Lecture Theatre.

 

Additional support for the 2018-19 IGMM seminar series has been provided by Proteintech (https://www.ptglab.com/)

 

2019

January

Thursday 10 January : Structure and mechanism of INO80 family chromatin remodellers

 Professor Dale Wigley, Imperial College London

Host: Professor Nick Gilbert

Thursday 17 January : TBA

 Professor Jussi Taipale, University of Cambridge

Host: Professor Colin Semple

Thursday 24th January : Mental health and circadian rhythms in the UK Biobank cohort

Professor Daniel Smith, University of Glasgow

Host: Professor David Porteous

Thursday 31 January : TBA

Professor Didier Trono, Ecole Polytechnique Federale de Lausanne

Host: Professor Martin Taylor

February

Thursday 7 February : In Cancer as in real estate, location matters: The role of Extrachromosomal Oncogene Amplification in cancer

Professor Paul Mischel, Ludwig Cancer Research, UC San Diego

Host: Juliet Luft

Tuesday 12 February : Mechanisms of ciliary signaling: How cellular antennae work and what to do when they don’t

Professor Jeremy Reiter, UC San Francisco

Host: Dr Pleasantine Mill

Thursday 21 February : Cell type specific translation profiling in mouse models of autism

Dr Emily Osterweil, Centre for Discovery Brain Sciences, University of Edinburgh

Host: Dr Tamir Chandra

Thursday 28 February : TBA

Professor Steve Jackson, University of Cambridge

Host: Professor Neil Carragher

March

Thursday 7 March : TBA

Professor Paul Lehner, Cambridge Institute of Medical Research

Host: Professor Yanick Crow

Thursday 14 March : TBA

Dr Gaelle Legube, CBI Toulouse

Host: Dr Martin Reijns

Thursday 21 March : Coping with a stressful start in life

Dr Alex Gould, Francis Crick Institute

Host: Dr Andy Finch

Thursday 28 March : Organising the nucleus during tissue differentiation: silencing repeats and turning on genes

Professor Susan Gasser, Friedrich Miescher Institute

Host: Professor Wendy Bickmore

April

Thursday 4 April : TBA

Dr Kikue Tachibana, Institute of Molecular Biotechnology

Host: Ilia Fliamer

Thursday 25 April : Mechanistic insights into the mRNA poly(A) tail machinery

Dr Lori Passmore, MRC Laboratory of Molecular Biology

Host: Professor Javier Caceres

May

Thursday 2 May : TBA

Professor Lalita Ramakrishnan,  University of Cambridge

Host: Professor Andrew Jackson

Thursday 9 May : TBA

Dr Tilo Kunath, MRC Centre for Regenerative Medicine, University of Edinburgh

Host: Dr Kathy Evans

Thursday 16 May : The Opportunity in "Crisis" - How the focus on reproducibility can lead us to better science

Professor Malcolm Macleod, Centre for Clinical Brain Sciences, University of Edinburgh

Host: Kathryn Jones

Tuesday 28 May : TBA

Professor Ibrahim Cisse, MIT

Host: Professor Wendy Bickmore

June

Thursday 27 June : TBA

Professor Nicolas Manel, Institut Curie, Paris

Host: Professor Yanick Crow

July

Thursday 4 July : TBA

Dr Gaia Pigino, Max Panck Institute of Molecular Cell Biology and Genetics

Host: Dr Pleasantine Mill