Human Resources

Levels of performance

The competencies describe the attitudes and behaviours which result in successful performance in the leadership and managerial aspects of people's roles.

It is recognised that behaviours identified for grade 6 staff may also apply to grade 7 staff, and behaviours identified for grade 7 staff may also apply to grade 8 staff, and so on, even if these specific behaviours are not repeated in the higher grade descriptions.

To keep the evaluation of performance simple, only three levels are being used:

Level A
Demonstrates an advanced level of expertise well above that expected for the job grade. Continuously seeks to improve working practices, role models successful behaviours and attitudes, and encourages others to do the same.
Level B
Consistently achieves and sustains a good standard of skills, knowledge, behaviours, attitudes and working practices, appropriate to the job grade.
Level C
Is developing this competency, with further learning required to demonstrate success at the level appropriate to the job grade.
Level D
Not yet demonstrated

It is unlikely that anyone is excellent in every competency and behaviour. Most people will be at different levels for different competencies, with strengths in some areas and a few areas for development. Performance issues may arise in a small number of cases.

Evaluation of the level at which people are working may be through self-assessment but normally would be through discussion with line managers, and by gathering relevant evidence.