University structure

We employ over 13,500 staff in a variety of academic and support roles across the University.

We have three academic Colleges housing 22 Schools that provide taught and research programmes to 30,000 students each year.

We also have three support groups, which devise and deliver major strategic projects and ensure the efficient maintenance and administration of the University.

College of Arts, Humanities and Social Sciences

The College of Humanities and Social Science is the largest and most diverse of the three Colleges in the University with 15,000 taught students, 1,800 research students, over 900 academic staff and over 500 professional support staff. It incorporates 11 Schools: Business; Divinity; Economics; Edinburgh College of Art; Education; Health in Social Science; History, Classics & Archaeology; Law; Literatures, Languages & Cultures; Philosophy, Psychology & Language Sciences; and Social & Political Science. It also houses the Institute for Academic Development, the Institute for Advanced Studies in the Humanities and the Office of Lifelong Learning.

College of Medicine and Veterinary Medicine

The College of Medicine and Veterinary Medicine is the only conjoint medical and veterinary medical schools in the UK. It employs over 2,000 academic and support staff in four Schools: Biomedical Sciences; Clinical Sciences and Community Health; Molecular and Clinical Medicine; and Royal (Dick) School of Veterinary Studies.

College of Science and Engineering

The College of Science and Engineering is one of the leading research and teaching centres in the world and has around 7,000 taught students, 1,500 research students, 1,200 academic staff and over 650 professional support staff. It comprises seven Schools: Biological Sciences; Chemistry; Engineering and Electronics; GeoSciences; Informatics; Mathematics; and Physics.

University Secretary's Group

The University Secretary's Group is made up of 19 Departments: Academic Services, Careers Service, Chaplaincy, Communications and Marketing, Development and Alumni, Edinburgh Global, General Council, Governance and Strategic Planning, Human Resources, Internal Audit, Pharmacy, Records Management, Student Administration, Student Counselling Service, Student Disability Service, Student Recruitment and Admissions, Student Systems, University Health Centre, USG Business Unit

Corporate Services Group

Corporate Services Group is made up of 10 business units (four commercial and six core operations). These are Edinburgh Research and Innovation, Accommodation Services, Edinburgh First, Centre for Sport and Exercise, Edinburgh University Press, Estates and Buildings, Finance, Health and Safety, Procurement and Printing Services, Social Responsibility & Sustainability

Information Services Group

The Information Service Group serves the e-learning, library, information, data and computing needs of the University. It incorporates 6 units: User Services; Library and Collections; Applications; IT Infrastructure; EDINA (data centre); and the Digital Curation Centre.