School of History, Classics & Archaeology

Key People

Contacts for key roles in the School.

Academic Administrative Roles

Job title Name Email
Head of School

Professor Emma Hunter

Emma.Hunter@ed.ac.uk
Head of Subject Area (History) Professor Diana Paton Diana.Paton@ed.ac.uk
Head of Subject Area (Classics) Dr Benedikt Eckhardt b.eckhardt@ed.ac.uk

Head of Subject Area (Archaeology)

Dr Jon Henderson

jon.henderson@ed.ac.uk

Director of Teaching Dr Alasdair Raffe Alasdair.Raffe@ed.ac.uk

Director of Research

Dr Robin Bendrey

robin.bendrey@ed.ac.uk
Director of Postgraduate Research Dr Ben Russell ben.russell@ed.ac.uk
Senior Tutor

Dr Catriona Pickard

Catriona.Pickard@ed.ac.uk
Director of Equality, Diversity & Inclusion Dr Julie Gibbings julie.gibbings@ed.ac.uk
International Director Dr Julius Ruiz J.Ruiz@ed.ac.uk
Director of Quality Dr Mike Carr Mike.Carr@ed.ac.uk
Director of Undergraduate Programmes

Dr Joanne Rowland

Joanne.Rowland@ed.ac.uk

School Academic Conduct Officer Dr David Lewis  David.Lewis@ed.ac.uk
Postgraduate Taught Deputy Director Dr Adam Budd adam.budd@ed.ac.uk
Deputy Director of Equality, Diversity & Inclusion TBC  
Representative College Promotions Committee Professor Gavin Kelly Gavin.Kelly@ed.ac.uk

Further information can be accessed by staff at this link.

Professional Services

Job Title Name Email
Reception

 

shca@ed.ac.uk
Director of Professional Services

Dr Caroline Proctor

Caroline.Proctor@ed.ac.uk
Head of Research, Knowledge Exchange and Impact Ms Sue Coleman sue.coleman@ed.ac.uk
Head of Resources

Ms Magda Kowalczuk

Magda.Kowalczuk@ed.ac.uk

Marketing & Communications Manager

Ms Jannika Pott

Jannika.Pott@ed.ac.uk
Head of Teaching Administration Ms Amanda Campbell Amanda.Campbell@ed.ac.uk
Postgraduate Research Manager

Ms Katey Lee

Katey.Lee@ed.ac.uk

Teaching Services Manager (Postgraduate)

Ms Hermione MacMillan hmacmil3@ed.ac.uk
IT Manager Mr Ian Chard hca-it@ed.ac.uk
Resources Administrator Ms Julie Lockley Julie.Lockley@ed.ac.uk
Head of Student Support Mr Craig Phillips craig.phillips@ed.ac.uk
Finance Adminstrator  Ms Naomi Walker naomi.walker@ed.ac.uk
Human Resources   HCA-HR@ed.ac.uk
Research, Impact and Knowledge Exchange Data Coordinator Mr Asad Nazir Asad.Nazir@ed.ac.uk

Teaching Services Manager (Undergraduate)

Ms Lorna Berridge Lorna.Berridge@ed.ac.uk
Undergraduate Lead Administrator (History) Ms Annabel Stobie Annabel.Stobie@ed.ac.uk
Undergraduate Lead Administrator (Classics) Ms Sara Dennison Sara.Dennison@ed.ac.uk 
Undergraduate Lead Administrator (Archaeology) Miss Claire Brown Claire.Brown-2@ed.ac.uk
Academic Support Librarian Mrs Caroline Stirling Caroline.Stirling@ed.ac.uk