School of History, Classics & Archaeology

Scholarships won for Academic Excellence

The School of History, Classics and Archaeology has awarded eight scholarships worth £7,000 each to third-year undergraduates across its subject areas.

Winners of School undergraduate scholarships with staff

Successful students represent a variety of degree programmes, both single and joint honours and include four students spending their third year abroad on International or Erasmus exchanges.

Recipients include Tom Bradshaw (History), Ivana Cernanova (French and History), Tara Human, Shannon Miller and Catrin Nichols (all Classics), Tom Raisen (Archaeology and Social Anthropology) and Vanda Strachan (Ancient History).

Head of School, Professor Ian Ralston says:

“These awards were designed to reward and encourage excellence, so I was proud but not surprised by the high quality of the applications we received. Clearly we have some very talented and promising scholars amongst our third year intake. Well done to all of them”.

Academic merit

Entries were assessed on the basis of academic merit by a Scholarship Awards Panel comprising the Head of School, the three Heads of Subject - Professor Jim Crow, Dr Trevor Griffiths and Dr Ulrike Roth - together with the Undergraduate Director, Dr Gordon Thomas.

Dr Thomas, who co-ordinated the Scholarship programme, says:

“This was the first time the School has offered such awards. The level of interest shown and the standard of entries submitted bodes well for the future”.

“Second year undergraduates, we challenge you to work as hard as you can this year, so you too have a chance to win this generous funding when entries open again in spring 2014”.