School of History, Classics & Archaeology

Jeremiah Dalziel (Doctoral) Prize for 2019

The Graduate School is delighted to announce the winners of the Jeremiah Dalziel (Doctoral) Prize for 2019.

HCA Dalziel PhD Winners 2019
L to R: Henry Mitchell and Calum Aikman

The joint winners of the Jeremiah Dalziel (Doctoral) Prize for 2019 are Calum Aikman and Henry Mitchell, and our joint runners-up are Ciaran Jones and Simon Learoyd. 

The committee thought that all of the submissions were of a high order and bear witness to the fine work being undertaken by postgraduate students in the field of British History, broadly defined.

Professor Adam Fox said, “The submissions of the two runners-up are well researched, carefully crafted, and original studies which make valuable contributions to knowledge. The specimen chapters offered by the joint winners are of a very professional standard, evidencing detailed research, scholarly maturity, and real originality. Both pieces are worthy of publication in their own right and will contribute to theses of exceptional quality.”

The School sends its warmest congratulations to the winners and runners-up on their success!


The Jeremiah Dalziel (Masters) Prize is still open to applications:

Apply by Friday September 27, 2019