School of History, Classics & Archaeology

HCA staff success at Teaching Awards

The school was delighted to hear that two members of staff won Teaching Awards – Dr Zubin Mistry and Professor Robert Mason. (Published 1 May, 2018)

HCA Zubin Mistry
Dr Zubin Mistry
HCA Robert Mason
Professor Robert Mason

The Edinburgh University students’ Association (EUSA) Teaching Awards recognise the teachers, personal tutors, students who tutor, research supervisors, and support staff who have made an impact on students' learning experiences at Edinburgh University.

This year EUSA received over 1,600 nominations for over 780 staff members and the winners were announced at a ceremony on 26 April at Teviot Row House. School of History, Classics and Archaeology staff were nominated in two categories, and we’re delighted to say they both won.

Dr Zubin Mistry won Best Course Award for ‘Early Medieval Sexualities, c.500-1000’ and Professor Robert Mason won Best Supervisor.

Zubin said, ‘This feels a bit like the band manager picking up a gong for the band. If this course worked well that reflects the two wonderful groups of students who took it. They felt passionately and thought deeply about its sometimes tricky and challenging themes. And I have learned - and continue to learn - so much from a number of brilliant and dedicated teachers in HCA. It's a privilege to work alongside so many inspiring colleagues.’

Robert said, ‘It's exciting to receive the award because the chance to work with students is something that's very important to me. I think it’s a privilege in particular to support students in developing their own independent projects – from the first idea through to completion. The way in which they bring energy, enthusiasm and creativity to their work always impresses me, and it is a pleasure to be part of their learning journey.’

Also nominated were Dr Bill Aird, Dr Jacob Blanc, Professor Frank Cogliano, Dr Anna Feintuck, Dr David Kaufman, Dr Robert Leighton, Dr Stephan Malinowski, Dr David Silkenat and Dr Benjamin Weinstein. The School sends warmest congratulations to Zubin and Robert, and to all winners and nominees.


Dr Zubin Mistry's staff profile

Professor Robert Mason's staff profile

EUSA Teaching Awards

2017 Teaching Awards School winners