Graduate School

Research student profiles

Meet our students by viewing their profile pages.

Find out more about our PhD students and what they are studying, and if you would like to make contact with them for open discussion. 

Please note, it is not mandatory for our PhD students to have a profile page so this list only contains those who have created one.

Name (sorted in ascending order) Thesis title Email
Claire E. Aubin From Treblinka to Trenton: Holocaust Perpetrators as Immigrants to the United States claire.aubin@ed.ac.uk
Andy Barlow Cotton Town Blues - investigating inequality through stable isotope analysis, in a 19th century cemetary population of Blackburn, Lancashire s1520707@sms.ed.ac.uk
Beatrice Bersani The Colours of God. Polychromatic Imagery for the Divine in Late Antique Latin Poetry beatrice.bersani@ed.ac.uk
Krysten Blackstone The Hardest Conflict: Morale and Identity in the Continental Army during the American Revolution, 1775-1783 k.blackstone@ed.ac.uk
Katherine Burns “Keep this Unwritten History”: Mapping African American Family Histories in “Information Wanted” Advertisements, 1880-1902 katherine.burns@ed.ac.uk
Carlos Cáceres-Puerto A provincial capital in its territorial contexts: reassessing the development of Augusta Emerita (1st century BC - 3rd century AD) s1581100@ed.ac.uk
Ash Charlton Slavery and Race in the Encyclopaedia Britannica (1768-1860): A Text Mining Approach a.r.charlton@sms.ed.ac.uk
Samuel Cheney "Sounds Exotic": British Perceptions and Representations of Chinese Musicality, 1793 - 1939 s.a.cheney@sms.ed.ac.uk
Arran Claringbold Diversity during Zimbabwe's Independence Struggle: Abel Muzorewa's place in Zimbabwean nationalism arran.claringbold@ed.ac.uk
Alison Clark Expanding the Boundaries of Empire, 1790-1815: Scottish Traders in the Southeast Caribbean and the rise of Sandbach Tinne & Co. Alison.Clark@ed.ac.uk
Sophie Cooper S.E.Cooper@ed.ac.uk
Gulcin Coskun s1566941@ed.ac.uk
Siân Davies Sugar and Slate: A labour history of the Pennants and their estates in Jamaica and North Wales 1780 – c.1900 s1422127@ed.ac.uk
Monique De Pace An investigation of health and disease in Mesambria, Bulgaria through physiological stress markers and dietary reconstruction monique.depace@ed.ac.uk
Emma Forth The Development of Early Cinema in the United Kingdom, 1909-1918: A Four Nations Study emma.forth@ed.ac.uk
Laura-Kate Girdwood A comparative analysis of the evolution of stable isotope dietary data and oral health pathologies through the historic period in two contrasting populations: Scotland and Ibiza, Spain. s0790824@sms.ed.ac.uk
Roxanne Guildford roxanne.guildford@ed.ac.uk
Kevin Hall Purging the Poor and Undesirable: Urban Government and the People in Edinburgh and Canongate, 1560-1640 s1136205@ed.ac.uk
Daniel Heathcote Another World? East Africa and the Global 1960s s1743314@ed.ac.uk
Lauren Ide (Cassidy) Toil and Trade: Functional Bone Adaptation and Social Allocations of Labour in Urban Medieval Scotland s1650423@sms.ed.ac.uk
Lewis Johnson "Courting Segregationists?: White Southern Responses to African American Civil Rights Issues and Republican Party Electoral Strategy, 1945-1952." lewis.johnson@ed.ac.uk
Delila Jordan A Commentary on Servius' In Vergilii Bucolica Commentarii d.jordan@sms.ed.ac.uk
Alastair Learmont Alastair.Learmont@ed.ac.uk
Helen Lowe The development of technical and vocational education in Scottish secondary schooling (c.1976-1990) helen.lowe@ed.ac.uk
Stefano Nicastro s1792516@ed.ac.uk
Ines Silva Ines.Silva@ed.ac.uk
Katharine Steinke Bones of Transition: Iron Age-Roman Zooarchaeological Assemblages from East Wear Cliff, Kent s1631039@ed.ac.uk
Brandon James Tang Anglo-American Discourses on Federalism and Political Centralization, 1880s-1900s. B.J.Tang@sms.ed.ac.uk
Sarah Thomson ‘A Transformational Conservative? Constructing Ronald Reagan’s Political Legacy, 1984-93’ sarah.mg.thomson@ed.ac.uk

Recent graduates:

Name (sorted in ascending order) Thesis title Email
Courtney Astrom Comparative Projectile Trauma: An Examination of the Differences in Skeletal Trauma Inflicted by Multiple Classifications of Projectile Weapons Courtney.Astrom@ed.ac.uk
Angela Boyle Violence and conflict in south-east Scotland from c AD 400 to AD 850: a biocultural study. angela.boyle@ed.ac.uk
Craig J. Brown craig.brown@ed.ac.uk
Amy M. Cools The Life and Work of James McCune Smith (1813-1865) amymcools@gmail.com
Phoebe Cooper s1774295@ed.ac.uk
Guillermo Diaz de Liano del Valle The Study of personhood through the analysis of funerary evidence: the Southeastern Iberian Peninsula during the Chalcolithic and Bronze Ag s1654361@sms.ed.ac.uk
Devin Grier Becoming Argonauts: Scots in the California Gold Rush, 1848-1860 devin.grier@ed.ac.uk
Mike Hally m.d.hally@ed.ac.uk
Iker Itoiz Ciaurriz The Political Commitment of Eric Hobsbawm: the passion for communist politics in a transformed world (1978-2012) s1678708@ed.ac.uk
Alley Marie Jordan 'The most Roman of the Romanists': Thomas Jefferson's Classical Taste, 1768-1826 alley-marie.jordan@sms.ed.ac.uk
Alicia Núñez-García Connecting Worlds: Early Phoenician Presence Across Atlantic Iberia (8th-6th Centuries BC) A.Nunez-Garcia@sms.ed.ac.uk
Andrzej Romaniuk Rethinking established methodology in micromammal taphonomy: Archaeological case studies from Orkney, UK (4rd millennium BC – 15th century AD) andrzej.romaniuk@ed.ac.uk
Rory Scothorne s0938929@sms.ed.ac.uk