Graduate School

Research student profiles

Meet our students by viewing their profile pages.

Find out more about our PhD students and what they are studying, and if you would like to make contact with them for open discussion. 

Please note, it is not mandatory for our PhD students to have a profile page so this list only contains those who have created one.

Name (sorted in ascending order) Thesis title Email
Courtney Astrom Comparative Projectile Trauma: An Examination of the Differences in Skeletal Trauma Inflicted by Multiple Classifications of Projectile Weapons Courtney.Astrom@ed.ac.uk
Claire E. Aubin From Treblinka to Trenton: Holocaust Perpetrators as Immigrants to the United States claire.aubin@ed.ac.uk
Andy Barlow Cotton Town Blues - investigating inequality through stable isotope analysis, in a 19th century cemetary population of Blackburn, Lancashire s1520707@sms.ed.ac.uk
Catherine Bateson c.v.bateson@sms.ed.ac.uk
Nick Batho nbatho@ed.ac.uk
Beatrice Bersani The Colours of God. Polychromatic Imagery for the Divine in Late Antique Latin Poetry beatrice.bersani@ed.ac.uk
Sebastiano Bertolini sebastiano.bertolini@ed.ac.uk
Krysten Blackstone The Hardest Conflict: Morale and Identity in the Continental Army during the American Revolution, 1775-1783 k.blackstone@ed.ac.uk
Angela Boyle Violence and conflict in south-east Scotland from c AD 400 to AD 850: a biocultural study. angela.boyle@ed.ac.uk
Craig J. Brown craig.brown@ed.ac.uk
Katherine Burns “Keep this Unwritten History”: Mapping African American Family Histories in “Information Wanted” Advertisements, 1880-1902 katherine.burns@ed.ac.uk
Carlos Cáceres-Puerto Becoming Roman: the case of Colonia Augusta Emerita in comparative perspective. s1581100@ed.ac.uk
Arran Claringbold Diversity during Zimbabwe's Independence Struggle: Abel Muzorewa's place in Zimbabwean nationalism arran.claringbold@ed.ac.uk
Alison Clark Expanding the Boundaries of Empire, 1790-1815: Scottish Traders in the Southeast Caribbean and the rise of Sandbach Tinne & Co. Alison.Clark@ed.ac.uk
Elke Close E.Close@ed.ac.uk
Amy M. Cools The Life and Work of James McCune Smith (1813-1865) amymcools@gmail.com
Phoebe Cooper s1774295@ed.ac.uk
Sophie Cooper S.E.Cooper@ed.ac.uk
Gulcin Coskun s1566941@ed.ac.uk
Monique De Pace An investigation of health and disease in Mesambria, Bulgaria through physiological stress markers and dietary reconstruction monique.depace@ed.ac.uk
Guillermo Diaz de Liano del Valle The Study of personhood through the analysis of funerary evidence: the Southeastern Iberian Peninsula during the Chalcolithic and Bronze Ag s1654361@sms.ed.ac.uk
Graeme Erskine The Roman roads of northern Britain g.j.r.erskine@sms.ed.ac.uk
Rachel Faulkner-Jones r.faulkne@ed.ac.uk
Emma Forth The Development of Early Cinema in the United Kingdom, 1909-1918: A Four Nations Study emma.forth@ed.ac.uk
Tom Gardner s1038772@ed.ac.uk
Laura-Kate Girdwood A comparative analysis of the evolution of stable isotope dietary data and oral health pathologies through the historic period in two contrasting populations: Scotland and Ibiza, Spain. s0790824@sms.ed.ac.uk
Alasdair Grant alasdair.grant@ed.ac.uk
Devin Grier Becoming Argonauts: Scots in the California Gold Rush, 1848-1860 devin.grier@ed.ac.uk
Roxanne Guildford roxanne.guildford@ed.ac.uk
Kevin Hall Vagrancy, Crime, and Poverty in Canongate & Edinburgh, 1560 – 1640 s1136205@ed.ac.uk
Mike Hally m.d.hally@ed.ac.uk
Laura Harrison L.S.H.Harrison@sms.ed.ac.uk
Daniel Heathcote Another World? East Africa and the Global 1960s s1743314@ed.ac.uk
Chao-Chi Hsu s1401101@sms.ed.ac.uk
Mark Huggins The Reception of John Chrysostom in the Middle Byzantine Period (9th-13th c.): A Study of the Catechetical Homily on Pascha s1641071@sms.ed.ac.uk
Gary Hutchison G.D.Hutchison@sms.ed.ac.uk
Lauren Ide Never Done: A bioarchaeological study of women’s work, task, and occupation in medieval Scotland. s1650423@sms.ed.ac.uk
Iker Itoiz Ciaurriz The Political Commitment of Eric Hobsbawm: the passion for politics in a transformed world (1977-2012) s1678708@ed.ac.uk - iciaurri@ed.ac.uk
Jared Jodoin
Alexandre Johnston
Alley Marie Jordan 'The most Roman of the Romanists': Thomas Jefferson's Classical Taste, 1768-1826 alley-marie.jordan@sms.ed.ac.uk
Mara Karell Identifying the Disappeared: Testing a Novel Method for the Sorting of Commingled Human Remains s1265174@sms.ed.ac.uk
Anita Klingler “Negotiating Violence: Public Discourses about Political Violence in Interwar Britain and Germany.” (passed) Anita.Klingler@ed.ac.uk
Alastair Learmont Alastair.Learmont@ed.ac.uk
Dorothy Longley-Cook s1110304@sms.ed.ac.uk
Marta Lorenzon M.Lorenzon@sms.ed.ac.uk
Helen Lowe The development of technical and vocational education in Scottish secondary schooling (c.1976-1990) helen.lowe@ed.ac.uk
Stefano Nicastro s1792516@ed.ac.uk
Alastair Noble ‘That Barbarous and Mountainous Country’: The Highlands and Government 1745-1760 s1476017@sms.ed.ac.uk
Alicia Núñez-García Connecting Worlds: Early Phoenician Presence Across Atlantic Iberia (8th-6th Centuries BC) A.Nunez-Garcia@sms.ed.ac.uk
Miss Kathleen O'Donnell s1035612@sms.ed.ac.uk
Bethany Parsons, PhD Candidate b.k.parsons@sms.ed.ac.uk
Jeremy Piercy J.Piercy@sms.ed.ac.uk
Ben Rogers Religious Comprehension and Toleration in Scotland, 1689-1712. s1474972@sms.ed.ac.uk
Andrzej Romaniuk Rethinking established methodology in micromammal taphonomy: Archaeological case studies from Orkney, UK (3rd millennium BC – 15th century AD) andrzej.romaniuk@ed.ac.uk
David Rose
Giulia Sagliardi s1160710@ed.ac.uk
Audrey Scardina audrey.scardina@ed.ac.uk
Rory Scothorne s0938929@sms.ed.ac.uk
Ines Silva Ines.Silva@ed.ac.uk
Jonathan Singerton
Katharine Steinke Bones of Transition: Iron Age-Roman Zooarchaeological Assemblages from East Wear Cliff, Kent s1631039@ed.ac.uk
Thomas A W Stewart s1503577@ed.ac.uk
Sarah Thomson ‘A Transformational Conservative? Constructing Ronald Reagan’s Political Legacy, 1984-93’ sarah.mg.thomson@ed.ac.uk
Dr Gary Vos gvos@exseed.ed.ac.uk
Iain Watson i.g.watson@ed.ac.uk
Patrick Watt E.P.J.Watt@sms.ed.ac.uk

Read more about what our current PhD students are studying.