School of History, Classics & Archaeology

Academic staff in Archaeology

Academic staff in Archaeology.

Archaeology staff cover a dazzling range of fields, techniques and geographical areas.

Name (sorted in ascending order) Role Email Phone number
Dr Robin Bendrey Senior Lecturer, Director of Research; Archaeology robin.bendrey@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 650 4562
Dr Chiara Bonacchi Chancellor's Fellow in Heritage, Text and Data Mining and Senior Lecturer in Heritage; HCA and Edinburgh Futures Institute chiara.bonacchi@ed.ac.uk
Dr Beatrijs de Groot Teaching Fellow in European Archaeology Beatrijs.de.Groot@ed.ac.uk
Professor Manuel Fernández-Götz Abercromby Professor of Archaeology M.Fernandez-Gotz@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 651 5223
Dr Linda Fibiger Senior Lecturer; Human Osteoarchaeology Linda.Fibiger@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 650 2379
Dr Jonny Geber Senior Lecturer; funerary archaeology; historical archaeology; social bioarchaeology; palaeopathology jonny.geber@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 650 3534
Dr Ian Hardwick Postdoctoral Research Assistant - 'Beyond Walls: Reassessing Iron Age and Roman Encounters in Northern Britain' project ian.hardwick@ed.ac.uk
Professor Jon Henderson Professor of Coastal and Marine Archaeology; Chancellor's Fellow- Global Challenges; Head of Archaeology Subject Area; Archaeology jon.henderson@ed.ac.uk
Dr Georgia Holly Post-Doctoral Research Assistant Rising from the Depths; Marine Archaeologist georgia.holly@ed.ac.uk
Ms Marta Krzyzanska Researcher in Social Media and Cultural Analytics mkrzyzan@ed.ac.uk
Dr Sam Leggett Leverhulme Early Career Fellow Sam.Leggett@ed.ac.uk
Dr Robert Leighton Senior Lecturer robert.leighton@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 650 8197
Miguel Ángel Moreno-Ibáñez Teaching Fellow in Human Osteoarchaeology miguel.moreno@ed.ac.uk
Dr Sophie Newman Teaching Fellow in Human Osteoarchaeology; Programme Co-Director MSc in Human Osteoarchaeology (2024-25) Sophie.Newman@ed.ac.uk
Dr Catriona Pickard Senior Lecturer; Director of Students; Archaeological Science Catriona.Pickard@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 650 2372
Dr Arturo Rey da Silva Lecturer in Heritage; Marine Archaeologist; Cultural Heritage; Archaeology arturo.rey@ed.ac.uk
Dr Guillaume Robin Senior Lecturer guillaume.robin@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 650 9963
Dr Tanja Romankiewicz Chancellor's Fellow and Lecturer in Archaeology, EFI Research Affiliate; Prehistoric and Roman Archaeology T.Romankiewicz@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 650 4040
Dr Joanne Rowland Senior Lecturer in Archaeology ; Archaeology and history of Egypt, Egyptian prehistory Joanne.Rowland@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 650 3761
Dr Ulf-Dietrich Schoop Senior Lecturer; Eastern Mediterranean Archaeology Ulf.Schoop@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 650 2503
Dr Zsuzsanna Vegh Teaching Assistant in Ancient Egyptian Language zsuzsanna.vegh@ed.ac.uk