School of History, Classics & Archaeology

Academic staff

A list of all Academic staff in the School of History, Classics and Archaeology.

Name (sorted in ascending order) Role Email Phone number
Dr Talat Ahmed Senior Lecturer; South Asian History T.Ahmed@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 650 3775
Professor Thomas Ahnert Professor of Intellectual History; History Thomas.Ahnert@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 650 3777
Dr Bill Aird Senior Lecturer; Medieval History waird@exseed.ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 650 9968
Dr Agnes Arnold-Forster Chancellor's Fellow; History of Medicine, History of Emotions, Modern British History Agnes.Arnold-Forster@ed.ac.uk
Dr Taylor Aucoin British Academy Postdoctoral Research Fellow taylor.aucoin@ed.ac.uk
Dr Elizabeth Banks Leverhulme Early Career Fellow elizabeth.banks@ed.ac.uk
Professor Judith Barringer Professor of Greek Art and Archaeology J.M.Barringer@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 650 3584
Dr Angela Bartie Senior Lecturer; Scottish History angela.bartie@ed.ac.uk
Professor Crispin Bates Professor of Modern and Contemporary South Asian History Crispin.Bates@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 650 3765
Dr. Nick Batho Lecturer in the History of the Americas nick.batho@ed.ac.uk
Professor Cordelia Beattie Professor of Women's and Gender History; Medieval and Early Modern Britain Cordelia.Beattie@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 650 3778
Dr Robin Bendrey Senior Lecturer, Director of Research; Archaeology robin.bendrey@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 650 4562
Dr Sandra Bingham Senior Lecturer, Classics S.Bingham@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 650 6689
Dr Chiara Blanco Teaching Fellow in Latin cblanco@ed.ac.uk
Dr Louise Blanke Senior Lecturer louise.blanke@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 651 7112
Professor Donald Bloxham Richard Pares Professor of European History; Modern History; Historiography Donald.Bloxham@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 650 3757
Professor Steve Boardman Professor of Medieval Scottish History Steve.Boardman@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 650 4035
Dr Felix Boecking Senior Lecturer; Modern Chinese Economic and Political History Felix.Boecking@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 650 3844
Dr Chiara Bonacchi Chancellor's Fellow in Heritage, Text and Data Mining and Senior Lecturer in Heritage; HCA and Edinburgh Futures Institute chiara.bonacchi@ed.ac.uk
Professor Stephen Bowd Professor of Early Modern History; European History, 1500-1800 Stephen.Bowd@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 650 3758
Dr Emily Brownell Senior Lecturer Emily.Brownell@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 650 2378
Dr Adam Budd Senior Lecturer; Cultural History adam.budd@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 650 3834
Professor Douglas Cairns Professor of Classics douglas.cairns@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 651 1647
Dr Deona Cali BA Visiting Fellow v1dcali@ed.ac.uk
Professor Ewen Cameron Sir William Fraser Professor of Scottish History and Palaeography e.cameron@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 650 4031
Dr Lilah Grace Canevaro Senior Lecturer; Classics l.g.canevaro@ed.ac.uk
Professor Mirko Canevaro Professor of Greek History; Greek History mirko.canevaro@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 651 1256
Dr Mike Carr Senior Lecturer in Late Medieval History Mike.Carr@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 650 2554
Dr Rosalind Carr Lecturer in Early Modern Scottish History rosalind.carr@ed.ac.uk
Dr Emile Chabal Reader in History emile.chabal@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 650 4302
Professor Martin Chick Professor of Economic History Martin.Chick@ed.ac.uk
Dr Ashlee Christoffersen Honorary Fellow ashlee.christoffersen@ed.ac.uk
Dr Patrick Clibbens Lecturer in South Asian History patrick.clibbens@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 650 3584
Professor Frank Cogliano Professor of American History F.Cogliano@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 650 3774
Professor Jeremy Crang Professor of Modern British History J.A.Crang@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 651 1255
Professor Jim Crow Emeritus Professor of Roman and Byzantine Archaeology jim.crow@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 650 2455
Dr Robert Crowcroft Senior Lecturer; Contemporary History r.g.crowcroft@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 650 3764
Dr Kimberley Czajkowski Senior Lecturer in Ancient History; Classics Graduate Officer; Programme Co-Director MSc Ancient Worlds k.czajkowski@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 650 4581
Professor Gayle Davis Professor of the History of Medicine Gayle.Davis@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 650 8348
Dr Kate Davison Lecturer in the History of Sexuality kate.davison@ed.ac.uk
Dr Kirsty Day Lecturer in Medieval History kirsty[.]day[@]ed[.]ac[.]uk
Dr Beatrijs de Groot Teaching Fellow in European Archaeology Beatrijs.de.Groot@ed.ac.uk
Professor Enda Delaney Professor of Modern History, School Director of Faculty (2023-24), Director of Research: Edinburgh Futures Institute Enda.Delaney@ed.ac.uk
Dr Jeremy Dell Lecturer in African History pre 1900; African History jeremy.dell@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 650 4476
Dr Wannes Dupont Lecturer in History of Sexuality wdupont@ed.ac.uk
Dr Benedikt Eckhardt Senior Lecturer; Head of Classics Subject Area; Ancient History b.eckhardt@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 650 3873
Dr Jo Edge Post-Doctoral Research Fellow; Alice Thornton's Books; Alice Thornton's Books jedge2@ed.ac.uk
Professor Andrew Erskine Professor of Ancient History Andrew.Erskine@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 650 3591
Dr George Evans Postdoctoral Research Assistant george.evans@ed.ac.uk
Professor Manuel Fernández-Götz Abercromby Professor of Archaeology M.Fernandez-Gotz@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 651 5223
Dr Linda Fibiger Senior Lecturer; Human Osteoarchaeology Linda.Fibiger@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 650 2379
Professor Adam Fox Professor of Social History Adam.Fox@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 650 3835
Professor Niels Gaul A. G. Leventis Professor of Byzantine Studies N.Gaul@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 650 3776
Dr Jonny Geber Senior Lecturer; funerary archaeology; historical archaeology; social bioarchaeology; palaeopathology jonny.geber@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 650 3534
Dr Julie Gibbings Senior Lecturer; Director of Equality, Diversity and Inclusion julie.gibbings@ed.ac.uk
Dr Lina Girdvainyte Lecturer in Ancient History lgirdvai@ed.ac.uk
Dr Sarah Goldsmith Chancellor’s Fellow; The history of masculinity, gender and the body Sarah.Goldsmith@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 650 3865
Dr Felicity Green Senior Lecturer Felicity.Green@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 651 3856
Dr Trevor Griffiths Reader; Economic and Social History Trevor.Griffiths@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 650 6897
Dr Lucy Grig Senior Lecturer; Roman History lucy.grig@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 650 3579
Dr Huw Halstead Lecturer in Public History ; Public History huw.halstead@ed.ac.uk
Dr Christopher Harding Senior Lecturer; Asian History Christopher.Harding@ed.ac.uk
Dr Ian Hardwick Postdoctoral Research Assistant - 'Beyond Walls: Reassessing Iron Age and Roman Encounters in Northern Britain' project ian.hardwick@ed.ac.uk
Dr Benjamin Harriman Lecturer in Greek Literature and Philosophy Benjamin.Harriman@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 651 5198
Professor Jon Henderson Professor of Coastal and Marine Archaeology; Chancellor's Fellow- Global Challenges; Head of Archaeology Subject Area; Archaeology jon.henderson@ed.ac.uk
Dr Fabian Hilfrich Senior Lecturer; American History Fabian.Hilfrich@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 651 3236
Dr Jesse Hill Post-Doctoral Research Fellow jesse.hill@ed.ac.uk
Dr Theodore Hill British Academy Postdoctoral Fellow theodore.hill@ed.ac.uk
Dr Georgia Holly Post-Doctoral Research Assistant Rising from the Depths; Marine Archaeologist georgia.holly@ed.ac.uk
Dr Sharon Howard Post-Doctoral Research Fellow; Alice Thornton's Books sharon.howard@ed.ac.uk
Dr Megan Hunt Lecturer in Modern and Contemporary History Megan.Hunt@ed.ac.uk
Professor Emma Hunter Professor of Global and African History, Head of School Emma.Hunter@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 650 4034
Dr Alex Imrie Tutor in Classics A.Imrie@ed.ac.uk
Professor Alvin Jackson Richard Lodge Professor of History alvin.jackson@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 651 3848
Professor Louise Jackson Professor of Modern Social History Louise.Jackson@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 650 3837
Dr Michael Jaworzyn Post-Doctoral Research Fellow mjaworzy@ed.ac.uk
Dr David Kaufman Lecturer; International History D.Kaufman@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 651 3857
Professor Gavin Kelly Professor of Latin Literature and Roman History; Classics Gavin.Kelly@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 650 3581
Dr Paul Kosmetatos Lecturer; Economic History Paul.Kosmetatos@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 650 3838
Ms Marta Krzyzanska Researcher in Social Media and Cultural Analytics mkrzyzan@ed.ac.uk
Dr Joseph La Hausse de Lalouvière British Academy Postdoctoral Fellow joseph.lahausse@ed.ac.uk
Dr Iain Lauchlan Senior Lecturer; History Iain.Lauchlan@ed.ac.uk
Dr Sam Leggett Leverhulme Early Career Fellow Sam.Leggett@ed.ac.uk
Dr Robert Leighton Senior Lecturer robert.leighton@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 650 8197
Dr David Lewis Senior Lecturer in Greek History and Culture David.Lewis@ed.ac.uk
Dr Calum Maciver Senior Lecturer; Classics Calum.Maciver@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 650 3852
Dr James Mackay Teaching and Research Fellow in American History jmackay5@ed.ac.uk
Dr Stephan Malinowski Senior Lecturer; Modern European History stephan.malinowski@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 650 3588
Dr Consuelo Martino Leverhulme Early Career Fellow; Roman History & Latin Literature Consuelo.Martino@ed.ac.uk
Professor Robert Mason Professor of Twentieth-Century U.S. History; History robert.mason@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 650 3770
Dr Nicholas Matheou Lecturer in Global Medieval History & Marxism nik.matheou@ed.ac.uk
Dr Stephen McDowall Senior Lecturer in History stephen.mcdowall@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 650 3754
Dr Esther Mijers Senior Lecturer in Scottish History E.Mijers@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 650 3756
Dr Zubin Mistry Senior Lecturer; Early Medieval European History Zubin.Mistry@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 650 3773
Professor Stana Nenadic Professor of Social History and Cultural History S.Nenadic@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 650 3839
Dr Mark Newman Reader m.newman@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 650 3759
Dr Sophie Newman Teaching Fellow in Human Osteoarchaeology Sophie.Newman@ed.ac.uk
Professor Paul Nugent Professor of Comparative African History Paul.Nugent@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 650 3879
Dr Donncha O'Rourke Senior Lecturer; Classics donncha.orourke@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 650 3771
Dr Richard Oosterhoff Senior Lecturer; Early Modern Europe richard.oosterhoff@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 650 3866
Professor Diana Paton William Robertson Professor of History; Head of History Subject Area; Caribbean history Diana.Paton@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 650 4578
Dr Nicolette Pavlides Lecturer in Greek Art and Archaeology npavlid2@ed.ac.uk
Dr Aaron Pelttari Senior Lecturer; Teaching Director for Classics Aaron.Pelttari@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 651 3004
Professor Gordon Pentland Professor of Political History gordon.pentland@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 650 8354
Dr Viola Periti Teaching Fellow in Latin vperiti@ed.ac.uk
Dr Catriona Pickard Senior Lecturer; Director of Students; Archaeological Science Catriona.Pickard@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 650 2372
Dr Jason Porter Leverhulme Early Career Fellow; Ancient Greek Slavery jporter4@ed.ac.uk
Dr Meha Priyadarshini Senior Lecturer; c.1450 - c.1830 (Early Modern) Meha.Priyadarshini@ed.ac.uk
Dr Gianluca Raccagni Senior Lecturer; Medieval History, Coordinator of the History and Games Lab gianluca.raccagni@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 651 3239
Dr Alasdair Raffe Senior Lecturer; Director of Teaching Alasdair.Raffe@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 651 4269
Dr Stephen Rainbird Teaching and Research Fellow in Contemporary European History stephen.rainbird@ed.ac.uk
Dr Richard Rawles Lecturer; Greek richard.rawles@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 650 4033
Dr Arturo Rey da Silva Lecturer in Heritage; Marine Archaeologist; Cultural Heritage; Archaeology arturo.rey@ed.ac.uk
Dr Guillaume Robin Senior Lecturer guillaume.robin@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 650 9963
Professor Richard Rodger Professor Emeritus of Economic and Social History; Urban History, Economic and Social History richard.rodger@ed.ac.uk
Dr Diana Rodríguez Pérez Teaching and Research Fellow in Greek Art and Archaeology Diana.Rodriguez-Perez@ed.ac.uk
Dr Pablo Rojas Postdoctoral Research Fellow pablo.rojas@ed.ac.uk
Dr Tanja Romankiewicz Chancellor's Fellow and Lecturer in Archaeology, EFI Research Affiliate; Prehistoric and Roman Archaeology T.Romankiewicz@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 650 4040
Dr Ulrike Roth Reader; Ancient History u.roth@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 650 3586
Dr Rochelle Rowe Lecturer in Black British History Rochelle.Rowe@ed.ac.uk
Dr Joanne Rowland Senior Lecturer in Archaeology ; Archaeology and history of Egypt, Egyptian prehistory Joanne.Rowland@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 650 3761
Dr Julius Ruiz Senior Lecturer; International Director J.Ruiz@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 650 3760
Professor Ben Russell Professor of the Archaeology of the Roman Empire; Postgraduate Research Director ben.russell@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 650 3472
Dr Stuart Salmon Tutor; History ssalmon2@ed.ac.uk
Professor Eberhard Wolfram Sauer Professor of Roman Archaeology Eberhard.Sauer@ed.ac.uk Tel: +44 (0)131 650 3587
Dr Timo Schaefer Lecturer in Latin American History timo.schaefer@ed.ac.uk
Dr Ulf-Dietrich Schoop Senior Lecturer; Eastern Mediterranean Archaeology Ulf.Schoop@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 650 2503
Professor David Silkenat Professor of History David.Silkenat@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 650 4614
Dr Anja Slawisch Senior Lecturer Anja.Slawisch@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 650 2455
Dr Hana Sleiman Lecturer in Modern Middle Eastern History hana.sleiman@ed.ac.uk
Dr Janja Soldo Lecturer in Classical Languages and Literature jsoldo@ed.ac.uk
Dr Richard Sowerby Senior Lecturer in Early Medieval History Richard.Sowerby@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 650 3854
Dr Yannis Stouraitis Senior Lecturer; Byzantine History yannis.stouraitis@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 651 5042
Dr Justin Stover Senior Lecturer; Medieval Latin justin.stover@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 650 4568
Dr Robert Suits Fennell Early Career Fellow in US History; U.S. Environmental History rsuits@ed.ac.uk
Dr Tinashe Takuva Lecturer in Environmental History ttakuva@ed.ac.uk
Dr Simon Trépanier Senior Lecturer; Classics Simon.Trepanier@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 650 3589
Dr Manos Tsakiris Teaching Fellow in Greek mtsakir2@ed.ac.uk
Dr Sonia Tycko Lecturer in the History of Labour sonia.tycko@ed.ac.uk
Dr Wendy Ugolini Senior Lecturer; History wendy.ugolini@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 650 3766
Dr Tereza Eva Valny Lecturer Tereza.Valny@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 650 2504
Dr Jessica Varsallona British Academy Postdoctoral Fellow Jessica.Varsallona@ed.ac.uk
Dr Zsuzsanna Vegh Teaching Assistant in Ancient Egyptian Language zsuzsanna.vegh@ed.ac.uk
Dr Curie Virág Senior Research Fellow and Co-Project Director; Chinese Philosophy and Intellectual History Curie.Virag@ed.ac.uk
Dr Emily Joan Ward Lecturer in Medieval Scottish History Emily.Ward@ed.ac.uk
Dr Tom Webster Senior Lecturer; History Tom.Webster@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 650 3763
Dr Ben Weinstein Lecturer Ben.Weinstein@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 650 3762
Professor Charles West Professor of Medieval History Charles.West@ed.ac.uk
Dr Valerie Wright Lecturer in Modern Scottish History Valerie.Wright@ed.ac.uk
Dr Hatice Yıldız Lecturer in Modern Gender History since 1750 h.yildiz@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 650 2378
Dr Matteo Zaccarini Research Fellow ERC Project Honour in Classical Greece; Greek history matteo.zaccarini@ed.ac.uk +44 (0)131 650 3846
Dr Luca Zenobi British Academy Post-Doctoral Fellow lzenobi@ed.ac.uk
Dr Tatyana Zhukova Teaching and Research Fellow in Early Modern History tatyana.zhukova@ed.ac.uk