School of Health in Social Science

Staff profiles

The following list provides information about and contact details for our teaching and non-teaching staff.

Head of School

Name (sorted in ascending order) Role Email
Matthias Schwannauer Head of School and Professor of Clinical Psychology

Director of Professional Services

Name (sorted in ascending order) Role Email
Emily Gribbin Director of Professional Services

Professional Services

Name (sorted in ascending order) Role Email
Tim Abbot Teaching Support Secretary MSc Psychology of Mental Health (conversion)
Ahsan Ali Finance Assistant
Louise Carracher Postgraduate student support assistant
Morag Munro, Clinical Tutor Admin Temporary Clinical Practice Administrator, Doctorate in Clinical Psychology
Anna Conroy Student Experience and Quality Officer
Kate Coxon School Secretary (
Victoria Darge Research Support Administrator
Nicole Develing-Bogdan Exams and Assessment Officer
Bethany Easton Marketing and Communications Administrator
Kirsty Gardner Technology Support Assistant
Alison Grahamslaw Postgraduate Research Administrator
Emily Gribbin Director of Professional Services
Joanne Hendry Centre Administrator, Centre for Psychological Therapies
Ms Lynette Hothi HR Officer
Sue Larsen Postgraduate Administrative Secretary
Sergio Mori Sierra Student Support Officer / Postgraduate Administrator
Bryan Muldoon Finance Officer for School of Health in Social Science & Divinity
Clara Shaw Teaching Support Secretary
Lorna Sheal Postgraduate Administrative Secretary / Student Support Officer
Mariana Soto Pacheco Administration Support Assistant
Morven Sutherland Undergraduate Administrative Secretary
Rebecca Todd Research & Knowledge Exchange Administrator

Clinical Psychology

Name (sorted in descending order) Role Email
Dr. Timothy Bird Postdoctoral Fellow in Clinical Psychology
Clara Calia School Deputy Director of Research Ethics & Integrity. Lecturer in Clinical Psychology
Laura Cariola Lecturer in Applied Psychology (ODLP)
Stella Chan Reader in Clinical Psychology
Dr Hope Christie Global Challenges Research Fellow
Simona Di Folco Postdoctoral Fellow in Clinical Psychology
Fiona Duffy Lecturer
Dr Jim Geekie Clinical Tutor
David Gillanders Head of Clinical Psychology
Dr Karri Gillespie-Smith Lecturer in Applied Psychology
Lisa-Christine Girard Lecturer
Dr. Karen Goodall Senior Lecturer; Programme Director; Senior Tutor Health in Social Science
Dr Elaine Gray Research Fellow
Dr. Helen Griffiths Lecturer in Clinical Psychology
Azucena Guzman Lecturer in Health & Ageing
Dr. Jessica Hafetz Mirman Lecturer in Applied Psychology and Public Health
Dr Rachel Happer Senior Clinical Fellow & Director of the University of Edinburgh Centre for Psychological Therapies
Dr Mark Hoelterhoff Lecturer in Clinical Psychology and Programme Director for Staff Learning and Teaching Development
Dr Susannah C. Johnston Teaching Fellow and Laboratory Demonstrator
Dr Monja Knoll Senior Teaching Fellow
Dr Melina Nicole Kyranides Career Development Fellow
Angus Macbeth Lecturer in Clinical Psychology
Laura Maclean Research Assistant
Dr Charles Marley Programme Director - MSc Mental Health in Children and Young People; Academic Programme Coordinator - MSc Clinical Education
Neil Millar Clinical Practice Director
Paul Morris (Paul Graham Morris) Lecturer in Health Psychology
Emily Newman Lecturer, Psychology of Mental Health (Conversion) Director
Dr. Suzanne O'Rourke Senior Lecturer in Forensic Clinical Psychology Suzanne.O'
Ingrid Obsuth Lecturer in Clinical Psychology
Richard Payne Clinical Tutor
Ethel Quayle Personal Chair of Forensic Clinical Psychology
Dr Vilas Sawrikar Lecturer in Clinical Psychology
Matthias Schwannauer Head of School and Professor of Clinical Psychology
Helen Sharpe Senior Lecturer, Research Lead for Clinical and Health Psychology
Emily Taylor Senior Lecturer in Clinical Psychology
Liesbeth Tip Research Assistant
Professor Joanne Williams Professor of Applied Developmental Psychology

Nursing Studies

Name (sorted in ascending order) Role Email
GearĂ³id Brennan Clinical Fellow
Maggie Carson Lecturer
Dr. Colin Chandler Lecturer
Dr. Fiona Cuthill SENIOR LECTURER (FTE) IN NURSING STUDIES (Public Health/Community Nursing
Dr Larry Doi Lecturer (Applied Public Health); Postgraduate Research Director (Nursing Studies)
Professor Tonks Fawcett Professor of Student Learning (Nurse Education)
Dr Elaine Haycock-Stuart Senior Lecturer & Director Postgraduate Research, Principal Fellow Higher Education Academy PFHEA, Honorary Health Visiting Consultant
Professor Aisha Holloway Head of Nursing Studies, Professor of Nursing Studies
Ruth Jepson Professor of Public Health in Social Science; Director of Scottish Collaboration for Public Health Research and Policy (SCPHRP); Director of Research, School of Health in Social Science
Steven Maxwell Clinical Fellow
Dr Sarah J. Rhynas Lecturer, UG Programme Director
Sheila Rodgers Senior Lecturer, Nursing Studies, School of Health, University of Edinburgh, Hon. Nurse Consultant in Critical Care, NHS Lothian
Pam Smith Professorial Fellow
Rosie Stenhouse Lecturer; School Equality and Diversity Coordinator; Associate Director Centre for Creative Relational Inquiry
Jennifer Tocher Senior Lecturer, Nursing Studies
Dr Julie Watson Senior Research Fellow, Edinburgh Centre for Research on the Experienceof Dementia/Lecturer Nursing Studies

Counselling, Psychotherapy and Applied Social Sciences

Name (sorted in ascending order) Role Email
Dr E Joanna Alexjuk Lecturer - Counselling, Psychotherapy and Applied Social Science
Lindy Barbour Teaching Fellow
Liz Bondi Professor
Mary Catherine Burgess Honorary Fellow
Dr Amy Chandler Senior Lecturer/Chancellor's Fellow
Marisa De Andrade Lecturer and Programme Director
Dr Nini Fang Lecturer
Dr Lorena Georgiadou Lecturer, Programme Director for MSc Counselling Studies
Bob Goupillot Senior Teaching Fellow
Sarah Keyes Postdoctoral Research Fellow
Dr Fiona Murray Lecturer
Seamus Prior Senior Lecturer, Counselling and Psychotherapy
Marion Smith Lectureship in Health and Society
Professor Heather Wilkinson Director of E-CRED
Alette Willis Chancellor's Fellow -- Senior Lecturer
Jonathan Wyatt Professor of Qualitative Inquiry and Director of the Centre for Creative-Relational Inquiry