Student exchanges

Find your exchange coordinator

All Schools and Subject Areas offering exchange opportunities have an Exchange Coordinator to support and advise students before and during their exchange.

The Exchange Coordinator is a member of academic staff who will be a key contact throughout your exchange. Many Coordinators hold information sessions at the start of the academic year to inform students of the opportunities available in their subject area.

Arts, Humanities and Social Science

Subject Area Name Email
African Studies Dr Gerhard Anders Gerhard.Anders@ed.ac.uk
Archaeology Dr Manuel Fernandez-Gotz M.Fernandez-gotz@ed.ac.uk
Architecture Dr Miguel Paredes Miguel.Paredes@ed.ac.uk
Art  Colin Cavers c.cavers@ed.ac.uk
Asian Studies Prof. Paul Dundas p.dundas@ed.ac.uk
Business Studies Alan Brown / Lorraine Edgar / Janet Ellis Alan.C.Brown@ed.ac.uk; lorraine.edgar@ed.ac.uk; ug.exchange@business-school.ed.ac.uk
Celtic Studies Dr Neill Martin neill.martin@ed.ac.uk
Classics Prof. Judy Barringer J.M.Barringer@ed.ac.uk
Design Collette Paterson Collette.paterson@ed.ac.uk 
Divinity Dr David Grumett / Roisin O'Fee david.grumett@ed.ac.uk; roisin.ofee@ed.ac.uk
Economics Dr Colin Roberts colin.roberts@ed.ac.uk; economics.sso@ed.ac.uk
Education Dr Kenneth Fordyce Kenneth.Fordyce@ed.ac.uk
English Language Dr Patrick Honeybone patrick.honeybone@ed.ac.uk
English Literature Dr Kate Ash-Irisarri
French Julie Gifford delc.yearabroad@ed.ac.uk
German Julie Gifford delc.yearabroad@ed.ac.uk
History - International Exchange only Dr Fabian Hilfrich Fabian.Hilfrich@ed.ac.uk
History - Erasmus only Dr Julius Ruiz J.Ruiz@ed.ac.uk
History of Art Dr Frances Fowle Frances.Fowle@ed.ac.uk
Islamic & Middle Eastern Studies Dr Ebtihal Mahadeen ebtihal.mahadeen@ed.ac.uk 
Italian Julie Gifford delc.yearabroad@ed.ac.uk
Japanese Dr Fumiko Narumi-Munro F.Narumi-Munro@ed.ac.uk
Landscape Architecture Ross Maclean r.maclean@ed.ac.uk
Law Dr Ruiqiao Zhang Ruiqiao.Zhang@ed.ac.uk; Law.Exchanges@ed.ac.uk
Linguistics Dr Patrick Honeybone patrick.honeybone@ed.ac.uk
MBA programme Sarah Yaxley / Dr Malcolm Kirkup sarah.yaxley@ed.ac.uk; malcolm.kirkup@ed.ac.uk
Music Dee Isaacs d.isaacs@ed.ac.uk
Nursing Dr Rosie Stenhouse rosie.stenhouse@ed.ac.uk
Philosophy Dr Bryan Pickel bryan.pickel@ed.ac.uk
Politics & International Relations Dr Elizabeth Cripps Elizabeth.Cripps@ed.ac.uk
Portuguese Julie Gifford delc.yearabroad@ed.ac.uk
Psychology Dr Nicolas Chevalier / Prof. Caroline Watt Nicolas.Chevalier@ed.ac.uk; caroline.watt@ed.ac.uk
Russian Julie Gifford delc.yearabroad@ed.ac.uk
Scandinavian Studies - Danish, Norwegian, Swedish Julie Gifford delc.yearabroad@ed.ac.uk
Sociology Dr Stephen Kemp S.kemp@ed.ac.uk
Social Anthropology Dr Neil Thin neil.thin@ed.ac.uk
Social Policy Dr Jan Eichhorn Jan.Eichhorn@ed.ac.uk
Spanish Julie Gifford delc.yearabroad@ed.ac.uk
Sustainable Development Dr Sarah Parry Sarah.Parry@ed.ac.uk

Science and Engineering

Subject area Name Email
Biological Sciences Holly Robertson-Dick Holly.Robertson-Dick@ed.ac.uk
Chemistry Dr  Peter Kirsop p.kirsop@ed.ac.uk
Chemical Engineering Dr Maria-Chiara Ferrari M.Ferrari@ed.ac.uk
Civil Engineering - Timisoara only Dr Tim Stratford tim.stratford@ed.ac.uk
Civil Engineering - all others Dr Antonis Giannopoulos A.Giannopoulos@ed.ac.uk
Earth Sciences Dr Chris McDermott christopher.mcdermott@ed.ac.uk

Ecological and Environmental Sciences

Dr Ondřej Mašek

ondrej.masek@ed.ac.uk
Engineering / Electrical Engineering Stephen Warrington s.warrington@ed.ac.uk
Geography Dr Jan Penrose Dr.J.Penrose@ed.ac.uk
Informatics Dr Hiroshi Shimodaira h.shimodaira@ed.ac.uk
Mathematics Dr Richard Gratwick R.Gratwick@ed.ac.uk
Mechanical Engineering Stephen Warrington s.warrington@ed.ac.uk
Physics Prof. Arjun Berera ab@ph.ed.ac.uk

Medicine and Veterinary Medicine

Subject area Name Email
Biomedical Sciences Dr Emma Wood Emma.Wood@ed.ac.uk
Veterinary Medicine Dr Geoff Pearson geoff.pearson@ed.ac.uk