Edinburgh Global

About us

Edinburgh Global leads the University’s international strategy and provides leadership, services and support to the University community on a range of global-themed activities.

Our vision

Our work includes celebrating and championing internationalism at the University; creating and supporting transformational partnerships; strengthening the University's international research impact; supporting our diverse communities here and overseas; and increasing international opportunities for all.

Director of Edinburgh Global

Alan Mackay

Deputy Vice-Principal International and Director

  • Edinburgh Global

Contact details


  • Alan is responsible for the leadership and management of the University’s International operation and supporting the implementation of the international strategy.

Senior Management 

Professor James Smith

Vice-Principal International

  • Edinburgh Global

Contact details


  • James Smith is Professor of African and Development Studies. As Vice-Principal International he is responsible for shaping and implementing the University’s Internationalisation Strategy.

Chris Yeomans

Director, Global Engagement

  • Edinburgh Global

Contact details


  • Chris has senior management responsibility for global partnerships and community and regional portfolios, including services, projects, and activities across these areas. Chris works closely with the Vice-Principal International and College International Deans in support of the University’s international ambition and provides senior support to the Director of Edinburgh Global in the overall management and operation of Edinburgh Global.

International Deans

A team of International Deans and leaders whose responsibilities are linked to regional, academic or strategic themes, support the Vice-Principal International and Deputy Vice-Principal.

Tom Bruce International Dean (Students) for Science and Engineering
Frank Cogliano International Dean – North America
Chad Damro International Dean – Europe
Soledad Garcia-Ferrari International Dean – for Arts, Humanities and Social Science
Pankaj Pankaj International Dean – South Asia
Rebecca Reynolds International Dean – Medicine and Veterinary Medicine
Neil Robertson International Dean (Partnerships) for Science & Engineering
Mona Siddiqui International Dean – Middle East
David Weller                         International Dean – Southeast Asia and Australasia

Global Business Unit

Kerry Wilson                                                   Head of Business Unit

Julia Hermiston

Assistant Head of Business Unit

Vicky Duckworth PA to DVP International and Director Edinburgh Global, PA to VP International

Jenny Riley

Global Projects Coordinator
Claire Brynes Global Projects Coordinator

Avril Spray

Senior Administrator

Olga Krets


Kasia Boissiere

Fiona Paterson Finance Administrator

Contact the Global Business Unit

Communications and IT team

Kirsty Gillies

Head of Communications & IT
Lorna Bruce Assistant Head – Communications
Ian MacDougall Assistant Head – IT
Michael Maclennan IT Support Officer
Margherita Tobia IT Support Officer
Fiona Murray Digital Communications Officer
Trisha Wakeford Communications Officer 

Contact Comms and IT

Global Partnerships and Community team

Derek MacLeod                                  Head of Global Partnerships and Community
Sarah Hoey Deputy Head, Global Community
Vivian MacDonald Immigration Legal Advisor
Jen Todd Immigration Legal Advisor
Nadin Akta Education Beyond Borders Manager
Iona Campbell Education Beyond Borders Coordinator
Michelle Beagan Senior Partnerships Advisor
Tessa Bell Senior Partnerships Advisor (on maternity leave until October 2024)
Eilidh MacDonald Senior Partnerships Advisor 
Jake Broadhurst Senior Partnerships Advisor

Alessandra Eleuteri

Global Partnerships and Community Coordinator

Chioma Dibia At-Risk Scholar Liaison

Contact the Global Partnerships team

Contact the Global Community team

Mastercard Foundation Scholars Program team

Charlie Bevan                  Program Director
Sharon Boateng Program Manager
Pete Kingsley Student Development Coordinator
Inga Ackermann Online Learning and Leadership Coordinator
Karen Pinto-Csaszar Administrative Assistant 
Megan Douglas WESAF Doctoral Coordinator

Contact the Mastercard Foundation Scholars Program team 

Regional Directors and support staff

Seth Amanfo Regional Director - Africa
Grace Guan Regional Director - East Asia
Helen McMillan Regional Director - Europe
Adele David Partnerships and Projects Manager  - Europe
Scott McQuarrie Regional Director - North America
Athulya Aravind Regional Director - South Asia
Audrey Kon Regional Director - Southeast Asia

Contact the Regional Directors

Study and Work Away Service

Isabell Majewsky Anderson Head of Service
Signe Olander Deputy Head of Service
Lesley Balharry Staff Programmes Manager
Becca Lloyd European Programmes Manager
Adele David European Programmes Advisor (on secondment)
Veronica Pagnani European Programmes Advisor 
Mona Montella European Programmes Advisor
Sigrid Persson European Programmes Advisor
Mhari McIntyre European Programmes Advisor (on secondment)
Maria Martos-Blanco European Programmes Administrator
Katherine Coble European Programmes Administrator
Ewa Dzieciol International Programmes Manager
Carolyn Marino Carmichael International Programmes Manager
Eilidh MacDonald International Programmes Manager (on secondment until October 2024)
Rachel McAra International Programmes Advisor 
Veronica Coates International Programmes Advisor
Erin Cole International Programmes Advisor
Holly Taylor International Programmes Advisor
Katie Shreves International Programmes Administrator
Matthew Luck International Programmes Administrator
Isabel O'Hagan Placements Manager
Sarah Montgomery Placements Advisor
Callum Davis  Placements Advisor
Veronica Vivi Placements Administrator
John Bennett Projects Manager
Chelsea Ferguson Projects Advisor
Randall Reinhard Projects Advisor
Eve Porter Projects Administrator
Sophie Conway Study Abroad Manager
Debs Coutts Study Abroad Manager
Aiste Zilyte Study Abroad Advisor
Sofia Athanasopoulou Study Abroad Administrator
Paul Gorman Business Support Analyst

Contact the Study and Work Away Service