Global Health Academy

PallCHASE

PallCHASE is a network of global partners working to support palliative care in humanitarian settings and emergencies. Hosted by the University of Edinburgh.

PallCHASE logo

Supporting palliative care in humanitarian settings and emergencies

Palliative care is  largely missing from humanitarian responses. The goals of humanitarian healthcare are “to save lives, alleviate suffering and maintain human dignity.” As the need for humanitarian interventions increases, humanitarian organisations have identified the need for greater skills and attention in relation to palliative care.

PallCHASE has been set up by partners who are already experts in the field of Palliative Care. The network is hosted by the University of Edinburgh.

Mission

PallCHASE’s mission is to:

  • Advocate for the integration of palliative care integration in humanitarian situations or emergencies

  • Create a platform to develop, showcase and endorse palliative care and humanitarian sector integration, standards and policy and opportunities for training within humanitarian situations or emergencies

  • Support the development of a robust, high quality, ethical evidence base for palliative care within humanitarian situations and emergencies

Impact

As part of PallCHASE’s advocacy work Palliative Care is now included in the 2018 edition of the “Sphere Handbook Humanitarian Charter and Minimum Standards in Humanitarian Response”.  This handbook sets out the principles of humanitarian working and the universal minimum standards required in humanitarian responses:

Sphere Handbook Humanitarian Charter and Minimum Standards in Humanitarian Response: Palliative care standard 2.7:

“People in crisis should have access to palliative and end-of-life care that relieves pain and suffering; that maximises the comfort, dignity and quality of life; and that provides support for family members.”

Read more in the Sphere Handbook Humanitarian Charter and Minimum Standards in Humanitarian Response.

Events

PallCHASE Webinar Series

Palliative Care in Humanitarian Settings

The PallCHASE webinar series launched on 21 April 2021 with a panel discussion on "Perspectives on the Integration of Palliative Care into Humanitarian Settings". Leaders who have integrated palliative care into humanitarian responses in various settings shared their perspectives. We  also provided updates on the PallCHASE network, the strategic vision of PallCHASE and how you can be involved. Futher events to follow.

Launch Event flyer:

 

PallCHASE Webinar Series

Webinar #3 - Climate Change, Natural Disasters and Palliative Care: No One Should be Left Behind

This event, on Wednesday 20th October 2021 is part of World Hospice and Palliative Care Day Celebrations. 

*There will be 2 identical sessions*

Session #1 – 7am GMT (8am UK, 12:30pm India, 6pm Sydney, Australia)

Session #2 - 2pm GMT (3pm UK, 7:30pm India, 7am San Diego, USA)

Webinar #3 flyer: