Global Health Academy

10 New distance learning scholarships awarded

New scholarships awarded for overseas students to study the University’s distance learning Global Health Master’s programmes.

In total, 10 new distance learning scholarships - called the Online Masters Commonwealth Commission Scholarships - will allow students from selected Commonwealth countries to study at the University’s Global Health Academy.


We are delighted to have been awarded Commonwealth Commission scholarships for 2018/19. These will continue to build on the Global Health Academy health systems strengthening and One Health work with our partners in Low and Medium Income Countries . These scholarships will enable 10 excellent students to choose from our innovative range of on-line postgraduate programmes that allows them to continue working whilst undertaking their studies

Dr Liz GrantDirector, Global Health Academy and Assistant Principal, Global Health

The scholarships - supported by the Commonwealth Scholarship Commission - will enable students to learn about global health challenges, such as the relationship between human, animal and ecosystem health, paediatric emergency medicine and Global eHealth.

More information on the scholarships, including how to apply, is available at:


The scholarships are for the University’s distance learning masters courses - known as One World: One Health and Global Health: Innovation and Education programmes. These are three-year, part-time online programmes that enable working professionals to study while working. They are designed for low-bandwidth.

They include:

  • MSc International Animal Health
  • MSc Global Health and Infectious Disease
  • MSc Biodiversity, Wildlife and Ecosystem Health
  • MSc Conservation Medicine
  • MSc One Health
  • MSc Clinical Education
  • MSc Global Challenges
  • MSc Paediatric Emergency Medicine
  • MPH Public Health
  • MFM Family Medicine

Taught by world-leading scientists these courses collectively aim to build a community of practice of Global Health scholars.

Deadline: 31st May 2018 at 23:59 hours BST