Global Development Academy

Staff profiles

Information on our key staff, with links to their profiles.

GDA Staff

The work of the Global Development Academy is led by Directors Dr Julie Cupples and Dr Zoe Marks, with support from Deputy Directors Dr Anuj Kapilashrami, Dr Jeevan Sharma and Dr Sophia Woodman. We will be advertising for a Programme Officer in the near future and have adminstrative support from Louise McKenzie. 

 

Staff A-Z

Name Role Email
Kenneth Amaeshi Chair in Business and Sustainable Development and Director of the Sustainable Business Initiative kenneth.amaeshi@ed.ac.uk
Gerhard Anders Lecturer, African Studies - International Development  Gerhard.Anders@ed.ac.uk
Crispin Bates Professor of Modern and Contemporary South Asian History crispin.bates@ed.ac.uk
Barbara Bompani Reader in Africa and International Development b.bompani@ed.ac.uk
Andrew Bowman Lecturer in African Development andrew.bowman@ed.ac.uk
Jamie Cross Senior Lecturer in Anthropology of Development jamie.cross@ed.ac.uk
Julie Cupples Reader in Human Geography; Co-Director, Global Development Academy Julie.Cupples@ed.ac.uk
Lawrence Dritsas Lecturer, Science, Technology & Innovation l.dritsas@ed.ac.uk
Stefan Ecks Programme Director Medical Anthropology stefan.ecks@ed.ac.uk
Janet Fisher Chancellor's Fellow, Geography and the Lived Environment janet.fisher@ed.ac.uk
Jamie Furniss Lecturer in International Development; Programme Director, MSc in International Development jamie.furniss@ed.ac.uk
Radhika Govinda Lecturer in Sociology; On Course Postgraduate Advisor, Sociology Radhika.Govinda@ed.ac.uk
Liz Grant Director of the Global Health Academy and Assistant Principal Global Health liz.grant@ed.ac.uk
Anne Griffiths Professor, Anthropology of Law anne.griffiths@ed.ac.uk
Claire Haggett Senior Lecturer, Sociology claire.haggett@ed.ac.uk
Ian Harper Professor of Anthropology of Health and Development; Director, EdCMA iharper@staffmail.ed.ac.uk
Casey High Senior Lecturer C.High@ed.ac.uk
Sumeet Jain Lecturer, Social Work sumeet.jain@ed.ac.uk
Patricia Jeffery Professor (Emerita), Sociology p.jeffery@ed.ac.uk
Roger Jeffery Professor of Sociology of South Asia; Associate Director, Edinburgh India Institute r.jeffery@ed.ac.uk
Sarah Jane Cooper-Knock Lecturer in International Development  s.j.cooperknock@ed.ac.uk
Tobias Kelly Professor of Political and Legal Anthropology toby.kelly@ed.ac.uk
Pete Kingsley Research and Teaching Fellow, Investigating Networks of Zoonosis Innovation (INZI) pete.kingsley@ed.ac.uk
Mahesh Marina
Reader, School of Informatics
mahesh@ed.ac.uk
Zoe Marks Chancellor's Fellow; Director, Global Development Academy zoe.marks@ed.ac.uk
Rebecca Marsland Head of Social Anthropology; Senior Lecturer r.marsland@ed.ac.uk
Tom Molony Senior Lecturer, African Studies thomas.molony@ed.ac.uk
Rosemary Morgan Lecturer in Global Health Policy rosemary.morgan@ed.ac.uk
Jose-Maria Munoz Lecturer in African Studies & International Development J.Munoz@ed.ac.uk
Stephen Neff Reader, Public International Law stephen.neff@ed.ac.uk
George Palattiyil Programme Director - Masters in Social Work g.palattiyil@ed.ac.uk
Kim Picozzi Senior Lecturer in Global Health and Principal Investigator kim.picozzi@ed.ac.uk
Colin Pritchard Senior Research Fellow, Engineering colin.pritchard@ed.ac.uk
Peter Rosa George David Chair of Entrepreneurship and Family Business peter.rosa@ed.ac.uk
Mark Rounsevell Chair, Rural Economy & Environmental sustainability mark.rounsevell@ed.ac.uk
Kanchana Ruwanpura Reader in Human Geography kanchana.ruwanpura@ed.ac.uk
Jeevan Sharma Lecturer in South Asia and International Development; Programme Director- MSc International Development jeevan.sharma@ed.ac.uk
James Smith Vice Principal International; Professor of African and Development Studies james.smith@ed.ac.uk
Jonathan Spencer Regius Professor of South Asian Language, Culture and Society jonathan.spencer@ed.ac.uk
Sam Spiegel Senior Lecturer in International Development and Director of Research, Centre of African Studies sam.spiegel@ed.ac.uk
Devi Sridhar Professor of Global Health Policy devi.sridhar@ed.ac.uk
Samantha Staddon ESRC Global Challenges Research Fund (GCRF) Fellow  sam.staddon@ed.ac.uk
Alice Street Senior Lecturer; Chancellors Fellow Alice.Street@ed.ac.uk
Neil Thin Senior Lecturer, Social Anthropology n.thin@ed.ac.uk
Ola Uduku Ola Uduku is Reader in Architecture and International Dean for Africa. o.uduku@ed.ac.uk
Sue Welburn Chair of Medical and Veterinary Molecular Epidemiology sue.welburn@ed.ac.uk
David Wield Visiting Professor, Professor of Innovation and Development at the Open University; Co-Director, Innogen Institute david.wield@ed.ac.uk
Marisa Wilson Chancellor's Fellow marisa.wilson@ed.ac.uk
Meriwether Wilson Senior Lecturer in Marine Science and Policy Meriwether.Wilson@ed.ac.uk
Dorian Wiszniewski Senior Lecturer in Architectural Design and Theory dorian.wiszniewski@ed.ac.uk
Wolfgang Zeller Senior Research Fellow - African Governance and Space project (AFRIGOS) wolfgang.zeller@ed.ac.uk