School of GeoSciences Research

Advisory boards and professional bodies

Our academics serve on a range of research, government and industry advisory boards and hold senior leadership roles with professional bodies.



Professor Eliza Calder

  • Member, UK Foreign Office Scientific Advisory Committee for Montserrat
  • Expert Witness, Government of New Zealand Inquiry into White Island Eruption Disaster

Professor Chris Dibben

  • Member, Scottish Advisory Group on Evidence for Policy Making 

Professor Stuart Haszeldine

  • Zero Emissions Platform: European industry and research advisory body to EU Commission

Professor Murray Roberts

  • Member, Expert Panel United Nations Regular Process for Global Reporting and Assessment of the State of the Marine Environment

Dr Krithika Srinivasan

  • South Asia Advisor and Member, Board of Directors for US-based NGO, Farm Forward
  • Advisor to the Federation of Indian Animal Protection Organisations


Professor Jaboury Ghazoul

  • Member Expert Committee on Forest Science for Forest Research, the UK's national forest research provider 

Professor Simon Harley

  • Member, UK Committee on Radioactive Waste Management; the Advisory group to the Scottish Environmental Protection Agency

Professor Stuart Haszeldine

  • Member, Science Advisory Council - EPSRC Energy Programme
  • Carbon Capture and Storage: Ministerial Council
  • Government Carbon Capture and Storage advisory group, Scotland 

Professor Gabi Hegerl

  • Chair (2014-2016) of the Science Review Group of the UK Met Office Hadley Centre
  • Member (2009-2014) of the Science Review Group of the UK Met Office Hadley Centre

Professor Ian Main

  • Member, UK Office for Nuclear Regulation Expert Panel on External Hazards

Professor Jamie Pearce

  • Member, Advisory Group, Tobacco Pricing and Availability, NHS Scotland.
  • Member, Grant Assessment Panel, Economic and Social Research Council (ESRC)
  • ESRC appointed representative, Research Advisory Group, NHS Digital
  • College of Expert Reviewers, European Science Foundation
  • 2018 Review Group, Air Pollution Strategy, Public Health England

Professor David Reay

  • Member, Sustainable Renewal Advisory Group, Scottish Government 
  • Academic Advisory Panel for Rural Policy and Climate Change, Scottish Government 
  • University of Edinburgh lead, COP26 Universities Network Steering Group 
  • Advisor, Green Jobs Taskforce, UK Government 
  • Advisor, Climate Emergency Response Group (CERG), Scottish Government 
  • Advisor, Climate Emergency Skills Action Plan (CESAP) Expert Group, Skills Development Scotland 
  • Evidence lead, Scotland’s Climate Assembly
  • Advisor, ‘Farming 1.5’ Inquiry, Scottish Government  
  • Scottish Water Net Zero Advisory Panel 
  • Zero Waste Scotland Decoupling Advisory Group
  • Climate Change Advisory Panel, National Farmers' Union Scotland

Professor Niamh Shortt

  • Member, Scottish Government/NHS Scotland Advisory Board on Minimum Unit Price Evaluation
  • NHS Project Advisory Board on Price and Availability of Tobacco

Professor Simon Tett

  • Member, NERC Strategic Programme Advisory Group

Professor Kathy Whaler

  • Member, NERC Training Advisory Board
  • Advisory Committee for Earth Observation of the European Space Agency (ESA)



Professor Robert Bingham

  • President, International Glaciological Society, British Branch
  • Member, UK National Committee of Antarctic Research 

Professor Kate Heal

  • President, International Commission on Water Quality 

Professor Simon Mudd

  • President, British Geomorphology Society

Professor Kathy Whaler

  • President, International Association of Geomagnetism and Aeronomy
  • Vice-President, International Union of Geodesy and Geophysics (nominated by UK National Committee)

Professor Anton Ziolkowski

  • Vice president (Geophysics), Royal Astronomical Society