School of GeoSciences

Contact Us

Detailed information on how to find us and who to contact.

On this page:

Prospective Students

General Enquiries 

Find Us 

School management and administration key contacts 

 

Prospective Students

Undergraduate enquiries and applications

Undergraduate applications or admission enquiries should be submitted via the online form or for urgent matters please telephone the College of Science and Engineering Admissions Team: +44 (0) 131 650 5737.

For general enquiries or enquiries regarding programme content, please contact:

Ecological Science programmes: ecological.sciences@ed.ac.uk / +44 (0) 131 650 5430

Environmental Geoscience, Geology, Geophysics programmes: earth.sciences@ed.ac.uk / +44 (0) 131 650 8510

Geography programmes: geography@ed.ac.uk / +44 (0) 131 650 9847

 

Postgraduate Taught Masters enquiries and applications 

Postgraduate Taught Masters applications or admission enquiries should be submitted via the online form or for urgent matters please telephone the College of Science and Engineering Admissions Team: +44 (0) 131 650 5737.

For enquiries regarding the programme content, please contact:

MSc Environment & Development, MSc Environment, Culture & Society or MSc Environmental Sustainability: geos.postgrad@ed.ac.uk / +44 (0) 131 650 2543

MSc GeoEnergy, MSc Marine Systems and Policies, MSc Energy Society and Sustainability: geos.postgrad@ed.ac.uk / +44 (0) 131 650 2624

MSc Carbon Management (on campus and online), MSc Geographical Information Science, MSc Earth Observation and Geoinformation Management: geos.postgrad@ed.ac.uk / +44 (0) 131 650 8105

 

Postgraduate Research Enquiries

For enquiries regarding postgraduate research studies, please contact: pgrsupport.geos@ed.ac.uk / +44 (0) 131 650 6038

 

General Enquiries

 

Find Us

The School is distributed in several buildings across the King’s Buildings and Central Area campuses of the University. 

The Grant Institute, the Crew Building and the John Murray Laboratories are located at King's Buildings, the campus around two miles south of the city centre.  The Head of School and the main administrative offices are in the Grant Institute.

The Institute of Geography and the Drummond Library are in High School Yards, near Old College in the historic Old Town of Edinburgh.

Grant Institute

  • Postal and Physical Address:  The King's Buildings, James Hutton Road, Edinburgh EH9 3FE

Crew Building

Postal and Physical Address:  The King's Buildings, Alexander Crum Brown Road, Edinburgh EH9 3FF

Institute of Geography

Postal and Physical Address:  Drummond Street, Edinburgh EH8 9XP

 

Cockburn Museum

The Cockburn Museum at King's Buildings holds an extensive collection of geological specimens and historical objects which is open to the public. 

 

The University provides Campus maps and  accessibility guides for the campuses and buildings.  
 
 
 

School Management and Administration

Role Person Phone number Email
Head of School Professor Simon Kelley +44 (0) 131 650 2537 hos.geos@ed.ac.uk
Director of Professional Services  Claire Vallance +44 (0) 131 651 7159

claire.vallance@ed.ac.uk

 

PA to Head of School and HoRIs  Carol Gourlay +44 (0) 131 651 7068 carol.gourlay@ed.ac.uk
Administrative Services Manager Katie Jeffrey +44 (0) 131 650 7737 Katie.Jeffrey@ed.ac.uk
Senior Personal Tutor and School Curriculum Approval Officer Dr Caroline Nichol +44 (0) 131 650 7729 Caroline.Nichol@ed.ac.uk
Director of Research  Professor Ian Main  +44 (0) 131 650 4911 Ian.Main@ed.ac.uk
Research Support Services Manager Matthew Ross +44 (0) 131 650 7541 Matthew.Ross@ed.ac.uk
Head of Facilities Professor Kate Heal +44 (0) 131 650 5420 K.heal@ed.ac.uk
Director of Undergraduate Teaching  Professor Andy Dugmore +44 (0) 131 650 2524 Andrew.Dugmore@ed.ac.uk 
Director of Postgraduate Teaching Dr Simon Shackley +44 (0) 131 650 7862 Simon.Shackley@ed.ac.uk
Head of Student Services  Susan Orr +44 (0) 131 650 4917 Susan.Orr@ed.ac.uk
Director of PGR Dr Marc Metzger  +44 (0) 131 651 4446 Marc.Metzger@ed.ac.uk 
Head of Earth and Planetary Science Research Institute  Professor Bryne Ngwenya +44 (0) 131 650 8507 Bryne.Ngwenya@ed.ac.uk
Head of Global Change Research Institute  Professor Rob Bingham +44 (0) 131 651 4635 r.bingham@ed.ac.uk
Head of Geography and the Lived Environment Research Institute  Professor Julie Cupples +44 (0) 131 651 4315 Julie.Cupples@ed.ac.uk
Health and Safety Manager  John Watt

+44 (0) 131 650 4906

safety@geos.ed.ac.uk
Physical Resources Manager 

Dr. Matthew Ball

+44 (0) 131 650 7010

Matt.Ball@ed.ac.uk
Finance Manager  Richard Carr  +44 (0) 131 650 2286 Richard.Carr@ed.ac.uk
Research Finance Manager  Brendan Martin +44 (0) 131 650 4843 Brendan.Martin@ed.ac.uk
IT Service Manager  Duncan Colhoun +44 (0) 131 650 2542 duncan.colhoun@ed.ac.uk
Business Development Executive Stuart Simmons +44 (0) 131 650 8516 Stuart.Simmons@ed.ac.uk