Estates

Project Management

What Project Management involves, including details of current projects at the University.

Each project will have a Project Management Team assigned to it. This will include an Estate Development Manager and a Project Manager. The Project Management Team are responsible for delivery of the project from feasibility stage, to building occupation ensuring projects are delivered on time, within cost, time and quality parameters.

Most projects are managed using the Scottish Funding Council's Capital project decision process and the RIBA plan of work, for project management process.

Scottish Funding Council: Guidance for Capital Funding and Projects

Projects are typically in the range of around £0.5m to £60m.

Current projects

The projects aim is to provide and enhance an estate capable of supporting word-class academic activity and meeting our business needs.

These works have been carefully planned to minimise any disruption to the University community, although they may cause some inconvenience in the short term.

Project Managers

Name Phone Email
Julia Laidlaw (Senior Estate Development Manager)  0131 650 7937 Julia.Laidlaw@ed.ac.uk 
Steven Poliri (Senior Estate Development Manager)  0131 650 9091 Steven.Poliri@ed.ac.uk
Callum Robertson (Estate Development Manager, King's Buildings) 0131 650 9053 Callum.Robertson@ed.ac.uk
Crawford Ferguson (Estate Development Manager, CAHSS) 0131 650 9307 Crawford.Ferguson@ed.ac.uk
Helen Wood (Estate Development Manager, Easter Bush)  0131 650 8147

Helen.Wood@ed.ac.uk

John Hart (Professional Services) 0131 650 9151 John.Hart@ed.ac.uk
Amy Murray (Professional Services) 0131 651 4922

Amy.Murray@ed.ac.uk

Aislinn Wood (Easter Bush) 0131 650 9599

Aislinn.Wood@ed.ac.uk

Anne Johnstone  0131 651 4341 A.Johnstone@ed.ac.uk
Fiona Harvey (CAHSS) 0131 650 9598 Fiona.Harvey@ed.ac.uk
Jonathan Pringle (CAHSS) 0131 242 6600

Jonathan.Pringle@ed.ac.uk

Malcolm Thomson - Construction Manager  NA

Malcolm.Thomson@ed.ac.uk

Catherine Gault (King's Buildings)  0131 650 9104

Catherine.Gault@ed.ac.uk

Rachel Caswell (BioQuarter) 0131 650 2473

Rachel.Caswell@ed.ac.uk

Angus Cowie (BioQuarter) 0131 650 9597 Angus.Cowie@ed.ac.uk
Katharine Isherwood (BioQuarter) 0131 651 5095 Katharine.Isherwood@ed.ac.uk
Steven Goodall - Senior Project Manager (Small Projects and Minor Works) 0131 650 9372 Steven.Goodall@ed.ac.uk
Melanie Huey (Small Project and Minor Works)  0131 650 2781 Melanie.Huey@ed.ac.uk
David Roberts (Small Projects and Minor Works) 0131 650 9543 D.J.Roberts@ed.ac.uk
Gillian Scott (Small Projects and Minor Works) 0131 650 3420 Gillian.Scott@ed.ac.uk