Estates

Project Management

What Project Management involves, including details of current projects at the University.

Each project will have a Project Management Team assigned to it. This will include an Estate Development Manager and a Project Manager. The Project Management Team are responsible for delivery of the project from feasibility stage, to building occupation ensuring projects are delivered on time, within cost, time and quality parameters.

Most projects are managed using the Scottish Funding Council's Capital project decision process and the RIBA plan of work, for project management process.

Scottish Funding Council: Guidance for Capital Funding and Projects

Projects are typically in the range of around £0.5m to £60m.

Current projects

The projects aim is to provide and enhance an estate capable of supporting word-class academic activity and meeting our business needs.

These works have been carefully planned to minimise any disruption to the University community, although they may cause some inconvenience in the short term.

Project Managers

Name Phone Email
Julia Laidlaw (Senior Estates Development Manager)  0131 650 7937 Julia.Laidlaw@ed.ac.uk 
Rachel Caswell (Estate Development Manager - Easter Bush, Western General Hospital) 07979 652391  Rachel.Caswell@ed.ac.uk
Katharine Isherwood (Estate Development Manager - BioQuarter) 07795 800734 Katharine.Isherwood@ed.ac.uk
Karen Pickering (Estate Development Manager - Central Area)  07385 950147 Karen.Pickering@ed.ac.uk
Jo White (Estate Development Manager - King's Buildings) 07586 496231 jwhite12@ed.ac.uk
Anne Johnstone (BioQuarter, Easter Bush) 0131 651 4341 A.Johnstone@ed.ac.uk
Jonathan Pringle (King's Buildings) 0131 242 6600 Jonathan.Pringle@ed.ac.uk
Gordon MacDougall (CAHSS) 0777 649 0317

gordon.macdougall@ed.ac.uk

Angus Cowie (BioQuater, Western General Hospital)  0131 650 9597 Angus.Cowie@ed.ac.uk
Catherine Gault (Easter Bush, King's Buildings)  0131 650 9104 Catherine.Gault@ed.ac.uk
Steven Goodall  (Interim Head of Small Projects and Minor Works) 0131 650 9372 Steven.Goodall@ed.ac.uk
Melanie Huey (Small Project and Minor Works)  0131 650 2781 Melanie.Huey@ed.ac.uk
David Roberts (Small Projects and Minor Works) 0131 650 9543 D.J.Roberts@ed.ac.uk
Gillian Scott (Small Projects and Minor Works) 0131 650 3420 Gillian.Scott@ed.ac.uk