Estates

Project Management

What Project Management involves, including details of current projects at the University.

Each project will have a Project Management Team assigned to it. This will include an Estate Development Manager and a Project Manager. The Project Management Team are responsible for delivery of the project from feasibility stage, to building occupation ensuring projects are delivered on time, within cost, time and quality parameters.

Most projects are managed using the Scottish Funding Council's Capital project decision process and the RIBA plan of work, for project management process.

Scottish Funding Council: Guidance for Capital Funding and Projects

Projects are typically in the range of around £0.5m to £60m.

Current projects

The projects aim is to provide and enhance an estate capable of supporting word-class academic activity and meeting our business needs.

These works have been carefully planned to minimise any disruption to the University community, although they may cause some inconvenience in the short term.

Project Managers

Name Phone Email
Julia Laidlaw (Senior Estates Development Manager)  0131 650 7937 Julia.Laidlaw@ed.ac.uk 
Crawford Ferguson (Estate Development Manager, Easter Bush, King's Buildings) 0131 650 9307 Crawford.Ferguson@ed.ac.uk
Katharine Isherwood (Estate Development Manager, BioQuater, Western General Hospital) 0131 651 5095 Katharine.Isherwood@ed.ac.uk
Amy Murray (Estate Development Manager,  CAHSS) 0131 651 4922

Amy.Murray@ed.ac.uk

Anne Johnstone (Easter Bush, King's Buildings) 0131 651 4341 A.Johnstone@ed.ac.uk
Jonathan Pringle (Easter Bush, King's Buildings) 0131 242 6600 Jonathan.Pringle@ed.ac.uk
Fiona Harvey (CAHSS) 0131 650 9598 Fiona.Harvey@ed.ac.uk
Gordon MacDougall (CAHSS) 0777 649 0317

gordon.macdougall@ed.ac.uk

Aislinn Wood  (CAHSS) 0131 650 9599

Aislinn.Wood@ed.ac.uk

Rachel Caswell (BioQuater, Western General Hospital)  0131 650 2473

Rachel.Caswell@ed.ac.uk

Angus Cowie (BioQuater, Western General Hospital)  0131 650 9597 Angus.Cowie@ed.ac.uk
Catherine Gault (BioQuater, Western General Hospital)  0131 650 9104 Catherine.Gault@ed.ac.uk
Malcolm Thomson - Construction Manager  NA Malcolm.Thomson@ed.ac.uk
Steven Goodall  (Iterim Head of Small Projects and Minor Works) 0131 650 9372 Steven.Goodall@ed.ac.uk
Melanie Huey (Small Project and Minor Works)  0131 650 2781 Melanie.Huey@ed.ac.uk
David Roberts (Small Projects and Minor Works) 0131 650 9543 D.J.Roberts@ed.ac.uk
Gillian Scott (Small Projects and Minor Works) 0131 650 3420 Gillian.Scott@ed.ac.uk