Equality, Diversity & Inclusion

Race Equality and Anti-Racist Subcommittee (REAR)

The Race Equality and Anti-Racist Subcommittee (REAR) is a thematic committee of the University Equality, Diversity & Inclusion Committee (EDIC).

The University of Edinburgh will take action against racism in its various forms (personal, cultural and institutional). We do not wish to be complicit through silence and inaction. We wish to establish an ethos and culture that promotes inclusion, respect and dignity and has a zero-tolerance approach to any form of discrimination.

Terms of Reference

The aim of this group is to ensure and promote activity across the University to end systemic racism and the inclusion of BME staff and students.  The group will recommend actions (evidence based) which the EDI Committee can take up to the University Executive. It will also oversee the Race Equality and Anti-Racist Action Plan. 

The work of the group has also been informed by the Thematic Review of Student Support for Black and Minority Ethnic Students, the EDMARC Report  2018/19 sections on Ethnicity, points raised from student and staff petitions as a result of the events related to Black Lives Matter and the Equality and Human Rights Commission Report (2019) on  Tackling racial harassment. 

UoE Race Equality and Anti-Racist (REAR) Action Plan for 2020/21:

Membership of the Subcommittee: 

Bevan, CharlieMastercard Foundation Scholars Program

Cattell, Laura – Head of Widening Participation

Curry, Tommy – School of Philosophy, Psychology and Language Sciences

de Silva-Williams, Deepthi - CAM

DeLappe, Ellie – HR Partner, Equality, Diversity and Inclusion

Doughty Shenton, Dahlia – CMVM

Ghul, Rayya - IAD

Gieban-Gamal, Emma – CAHSS EDI Committee

Grewal-Kang, Gurpreet – Student Admissions, R(D)SVS & The Roslin Institute

Gray, Mohini – Edinburgh Diversity and Inclusion Network

Hale, Olivia – Research Cultures Working Group

Halliday, Karen – College of Science & Engineering EDI Convenor

Holtan, Johanna – co-Convenor

Jansen, Itandehui – Women of Colour Collective

tbc – BAME Liberation Officer, EUSA

limke, rashne - EREN

McKelvey, Roisin – eBASE Project, College of Science and Engineering

Norman, Steve - Careers

Perez-Espona, Silvia – R(D)SVS, EDI Easter Bush EDI Committee

Reilly, Liz – Development and Alumni

Santayana, Vivek – Joint Unions Liaison Committee

Sena, Emily – co-Convenor

Tao, Can – Racism unmasked

Vadasaria, Sharia – RACE.ED

Wallace, Caroline - Snr Partner Equality, Diversity and Inclusion, HR

to be announced EUSA VP Welfare

Meeting Notes: