Energy and Society
E&S Logo

People

The Energy and Society Network seeks to collaborate with private, public, and third sector organisations and members of the public in the UK and internationally. The profiles of some our members can be found on this page.

Name School Research Interests  Contact Info
Dr Antti Silvast Science, Technology and Innovation Studies
Energy & Infrastructure, Climate change and energy policy, European Union, Risk and vulnerability, Social Studies of Finance, Everyday Life, Sociological Theory
antti.silvast@ed.ac.uk
Dr Claire  Haggett

 

 

Social and Political Sciences
Sustainability, Environmental Sociology, Community energy, Environment, Participation, renewable energy, energy politics, energy security, discourse analysis
claire.haggett@ed.ac.uk

Dr Dan van der Horst

Geosciences Energy & Society, Energy Landscapes, Valuing Nature, Ecosystem Services & Land Governance, Socio-Technical Innovations in Resource Enclosure and Allocation.
Dan.vanderHorst@ed.ac.uk
Dr David Hawkey Social and Political Sciences
Technology and society, Climate change and energy policy, renewable energy, local energy governance and organisation (LEGO), Local Government, Heat, District Energy
dave.hawkey@ed.ac.uk
Dr Faye Wade Science, Technology and Innovation Studies
Climate change and energy policy, Heat, Domestic energy, Building professionals, Technology and society
Faye.Wade@ed.ac.uk
Dr Jamie Cross Social and Political Sciences
Ethnography, International development, South Asia, renewable energy, Solar photovoltaics, Technology and society, Economic anthropology
jamie.cross@ed.ac.uk
Dr Jan Webb Social and Political Sciences
Sustainability, economic sociology, energy and society, cities, European heat and energy efficiency policy and practice, energy governance
jan.webb@ed.ac.uk
Dr Rachel Howell Social and Political Sciences
Sustainability, Promoting lower-carbon practices and lifestyles, Social movements for sustainability, Framing and communication of sustainability issues, Responses to energy technologies and policies, Education for Sustainability
rachel.howell@ed.ac.uk
Mags  Tingey

 

Social and Political Sciences
Local energy governance and organisation (LEGO), District Energy, energy policy and politics, local government, energy and society, cities
Margaret.tingey@ed.ac.uk
Dr Mark Winskel Social and Political Sciences
Sociology of energy innovation, expertise and interdisciplinarity, sociotechnical system change, energy policy and politics, research-policy exchange, energy organisations and institutions, innovation systems
Mark.Winskel@ed.ac.uk
Dr Peter 

Zeniewski

Science, Technology and Innovation Studies
Energy security, energy politics, Energy policy, EU Energy Policy, natural gas
Peter.Zeniewski@ed.ac.uk
Dr Ronan Bolton Social and Political Sciences
Climate change and energy policy, energy policy and politics, Technology and society, sociology of markets, Sustainability
Ronan.Bolton@ed.ac.uk

Dr Ruth Bush

Social and Political Sciences Climate change and energy policy, Technology and society, Heat, Energy efficiency, Socio-technical transitions, Multi-level governance  ruth.bush@ed.ac.uk
Dr Simon Shackley Geosciences Innovation and decarbonisaton, energy and climate policy, stakeholder and public perceptions of climate change, regulation and risk assessment Simon.Shackley@ed.ac.uk