Research

Our members

The Hub is led hub by Professor Gert Biesta and Dr Laura Colucci-Gray, in collaboration with Dr Ramsey Affifi and Dr Hui-Chuan Li, with support from Jonathan Hancock, Research Assistant.

Staff members

Name (sorted in descending order) Role Email
Dr Ramsey Affifi Lecturer, Science (Biology) & Environmental Philosophy Education ramsey.affifi@ed.ac.uk
Ramone Al Bishawi Research Assistant ramone.bishawi@ed.ac.uk
Dr Simon Beames Honorary Fellow simon.beames@ed.ac.uk
Professor Gert Biesta Deputy Head of Institute for Education, Teaching & Leadership (IETL) / Professor of Educational Theory and Pedagogy gert.biesta@ed.ac.uk
Dr Mary Bovill Programme Director: PGDE (Secondary Education) / Lecturer and Researcher mary.bovill@ed.ac.uk
Dr Audrey Cameron Chancellor's Fellow (Science Education and BSL) audrey.m.cameron@ed.ac.uk
Dr Nicola Carse Deputy Head of Institute for Sport, Physical Education and Health Sciences (ISPEHS) / Lecturer in Physical Education nicola.carse@ed.ac.uk
Dr Kuang-Hsu Chiang Lecturer kuang-hsu.chiang@ed.ac.uk
Dr Beth Christie Senior Lecturer / Programme Director: Learning for Sustainability programme beth.christie@ed.ac.uk
Dr David A. G. Clarke Lecturer in Outdoor and Environmental Education david.clarke@ed.ac.uk
Dr Laura Colucci-Gray Head of Institute of Education, Teaching and Leadership (ETL) / Senior Lecturer in Science and Sustainability Education laura.colucci-gray@ed.ac.uk
Dr Murray Craig Bicentennial Teaching Fellow - Strand Leader PGDE (Secondary) Physical Education murray.craig@ed.ac.uk
Dr Andrea R. English Senior Lecturer in Philosophy of Education (Associate Professor) andrea.english@ed.ac.uk
Rosemary Grady Lecturer in Educational Leadership & Learning rosemary.grady@ed.ac.uk
Dr Shirley Gray Senior Lecturer in Physical Education shirley.gray@ed.ac.uk
Dr Lorna Hamilton Senior Lecturer lorna.hamilton@ed.ac.uk
Professor Peter Higgins Chair in Outdoor Environmental & Sustainability Education, Director of the United Nations University Regional Centre for ESD (Scotland), Director of the Global Environment & Society Academy pete.higgins@ed.ac.uk
Dr Jule Hildmann Senior Research Fellow (Outdoor Learning) jule.hildmann@ed.ac.uk
Dr Andrew Horrell Director of Undergraduate Studies / Senior Lecturer in Physical Education andrew.horrell@ed.ac.uk
Dr Mike Jess Senior Lecturer in Physical Education mike.jess@ed.ac.uk
Dr Omar Kaissi Teaching Fellow in Education omar.kaissi@ed.ac.uk
Dr Hui-Chuan (Jane) Li Lecturer in Mathematics Education huichuan.li@ed.ac.uk
Dr Michael Lynch Senior Lecturer in Language Studies michael.lynch@ed.ac.uk
Dr James MacAllister Senior Lecturer in Philosophy of Education james.macallister@ed.ac.uk
Dr Justine MacLean Lecturer in Physical Education and Programme Director: Year 3 MA (Hons) Physical Education justine.maclean@ed.ac.uk
Dr Gale Macleod Senior Lecturer gale.macleod@ed.ac.uk
Dr Paul McMillan Programme Director: MA Physical Education/ Lecturer in Physical Education paul.mcmillan@ed.ac.uk
Dr Aline Nardo Lecturer in Philosophy of Education aline.nardo@ed.ac.uk
Professor Robbie Nicol Professor of Place-Based Education robbie.nicol@ed.ac.uk
Dr Zoè Robertson Director of Teacher Education/Senior Lecturer Educational Leadership and Learning zoe.robertson@ed.ac.uk
Dr Shari Sabeti Reader in Arts and Humanities Education shari.sabeti@ed.ac.uk
Dr Heidi Smith Programme Director and Lecturer Outdoor Learning heidi.smith@ed.ac.uk
Dr ML White Programme Director: MSc Transformative Learning and Teaching / Senior Lecturer in Teacher Education ml.white@ed.ac.uk