HERG's steering group and members based within and outwith Moray House.

HERG steering group

Daisy Bao Events
Neil Lent Reading Group
Gale Macleod Co-ordination

Members based at Moray House School of Education and Sport

Name Role

Dr Kuang-Hsu Chiang

Lecturer in Higher Education

Dr Labake Fakunle

Chancellor's Fellow

Dr Cathy Howieson

Honorary Fellow

Dr Ricky Jeffrey


Dr Omar Kaissi

Teaching Fellow in Education

Chang Liu PhD student

Professor Gale Macleod

Professor / HERG co-ordinator

Professor Robbie Nicol

Professor of Place-Based Education

Dr Fiona O’Hanlon

Senior Lecturer in Language Education

Rachel O’Neill

Deaf education pathway co-ordinator

Professor Sheila Riddell

Chair in Inclusion and Diversity
Xiaomeng Tian PhD student

Members from outside Moray House (based in other areas of the University of Edinburgh)

Name Role and affiliation

Professor Catherine Bovill 

Senior Lecturer in Student Engagement, Institute for Academic Development

Dr Philip Cook

Senior Lecturer, School of Social and Political Science

Dr Nini Fang

Lecturer, Medical School

Dr Neil Lent

Lecturer in University Learning and Teaching, Institute for Academic Development

Tiffany Pang

PhD student, School of Philosophy, Psychology and Language Sciences

Dr Neil M Speirs

Widening Participation Manager

Dr Sophia Woodman

Senior Lecturer, School of Social and Political Science

Members from outside our University

Name Role and affiliation
Dr Andrew Drybrough Academic English Instructor, Nazarbayev University

Dr John Loewenthal 

Lecturer in Education, Keele University

Dr Sylvie Lomer

Lecturer in Education, University of Manchester

Dr Anne Pirrie

Reader in Education, University of the West of Scotland

Dr Rosa Marvell

Senior Lecturer, University of Portsmouth

Hamzah Nor bin Aedy Rahman

Assistant Lecturer, School of Graduate Studies, Lingnan University, Hong Kong

Dr Francesco Magni

Assistant Professor in General and Social Pedagogy at the Department of Human and Social Sciences, University of Bergamo, Italy

Virginia Capriotti

PhD student in Human Sciences and Welfare Innovation (cycle XXXVII) at the Department of Human and Social Sciences, University of Bergamo, Italy

Dr Tanya Lubicz-Nawrocka

Academic Development Partner, University of Stirling