Research

About us

The Social Justice and Inclusion Thematic Hub continues the long tradition and commitment of the School to research and knowledge exchange aimed at understanding and addressing inequality and injustice.

Our research encompasses the work of many colleagues engaged in a diverse range of research topics underpinned by the core values of equity, equal opportunity, respect for human dignity and diversity. It is multidisciplinary, uses a range of theoretical and methodological approaches, and informs policy and practice across different contexts.  

The Social Justice and Inclusion Thematic Hub aims to create a strong research community where we share knowledge, identify new opportunities for collaboration, help members develop research capacity and provide peer support for both research staff and PGR students to maximise synergy in research. 

The hub actively engages with other thematic hubs, schools and centres across the University. Members of our Thematic Hub engage in wider cross-university and international networks, and teaching programmes that cover policy, curricular and pedagogical approaches that promote social justice and inclusion. 

Our hub leadership team

Role with Hub Name Position Email
Hub Lead Professor Lani Florian Bell Chair of Education lani.florian@ed.ac.uk
Hub Lead Dr Nataša Pantić Director of CREID / Senior Lecturer natasa.pantic@ed.a.cuk
Lead on Knowledge Exchange Dr Pauline Duncan Research Associate pauline.duncan@ed.a.cuk
Lead on PGR Event Support Barbara Dzieciatko-Szendrei PhD student B.Dzieciatko@sms.ed.ac.uk
Leadership Team member Dr Yvonne Foley Senior Lecturer yvonne.foley@ed.ac.uk
Lead on Knowledge Exchange Dr Maureen Finn Director of STEP maureen.finn@ed.ac.uk
Lead on Ethics Dr Jule Hildmann Senior Research Fellow jule.hildmann@ed.ac.uk
Leadership Team member Dr Callum McGregor Lecturer in Education callum.mcgregor@ed.ac.uk
Lead on PGR applications and training/ professional development Dr William C Smith Senior Lecturer in Education and International Development w.smith@ed.ac.uk
RA with Hub and Admin Support Dr Grace Kong Research Assistant grace.kong@ed.ac.uk

 

Research students

See what research students in our Hub are working on, and find information about applying for a PGR programme at Moray House School of Education and Sport.